We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not just another hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aiguaclara Hotel to your Saves list
Aiguaclara Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Begur
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“not just another hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Best hotel ever. It is not just a stay, it is a wonderful experience.
The hotel, a colonial villa, is beautiful and you are made to feel at home instantly by a lovely couple Clara and Joan and their friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel's motto: 'fet am love'(made with love) proves itself right in every aspect. The welcoming and original ambiance, the restaurant with delicious local and international dishes and fantastic music to maximise the atmosphere. They even have a DJ coming at certain evenings who treats you to a wide range of genres.
The location of the hotel is perfect, only a minutes walk from the town square where you will find numerous restaurants and boutiques in small alley ways. There are beautiful beaches within a short distance, easy to reach by car or public transport.
We loved staying at Aiguaclara and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    121
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
209
642
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at the Aiguaclara Hotel for 5 nights, however we checked out after 4 as the weather was miserable - this was a real shame. I am sure we would have enjoyed our holiday hugely if we had been able to go to he beach, however, due to the weather, we spent most of our holiday driving around in thunder, lightning and torrential rain trying (and failing) to find something to do.

The rooms were beautifully decorated each with an individual style, and all with large opening French doors with views looking onto the town of Begur or the mountains.

The staff were delightful, very cheerful and always willing to help. However they weren't always around. But came quickly to help if you called their mobiles.

The restaurant was also very tastefully decorated with retro furniture and fairy lights. It had great dinner menu that had something for everyone. And the breakfast buffet had everything - from chocolate brownies and melon, to cheeses and salamis.

The only issue was the noise from other rooms. As it is a hotel that welcomes all ages, both of our rooms ( that were on different floors) were hugely disturbed by noisy crying from babies and toddlers.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a fabulous rain shower and is beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Aiguaclara Hotel. It is without doubt the most welcoming and friendly hotel we have stayed in. Joan and Clara go out of their way to help in every way possible. The atmosphere is unique with its mish mash of trinkets and baubles. Breakfast superb and evening meals excellent and good value. Make sure you book early or you will be disappointed. A gem on the Costa Brave

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 have superb terraces not sure about others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is not so much staying in a hotel, more like sharing somebodys home. Its absolutely beautiful! The decor of rooms, restaurant and hallways is spectacular. Breakfast is great with a small but fantastic selection of meats, bread, fruit, cake and cereal. If you get chance try the hotel restaurant, this was the nicest meal and the best price of our entire trip. This all topped off with fantastic friendly and personal service making this a must if staying in the area. We would love to come back and pay another visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 10 days - loved it.
If you want a very friendly relaxed holiday in a real Spanish Hotel that is a little bit different and original in the very best of ways, then book now or face disappointment . The owners have a very personal touch that immediately makes you feel at ease and welcome - nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant serves excellent food has a great atmosphere with excellent background music.
The Hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the picturesque town center of Begur - again real Spain with Bars and plenty of quality small shops to satisfy all of the family. Beaches are clean and set in small beautiful coves - great for swimming and within a short distance. Yep it really was a good holiday - we will be back - John & Sally K

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in August 2013, having selected the hotel after positive TripAdvisor reviews. The location is perect - less than one minute from the main Begur square. We booked just a few weeks before and were in room 1, which I suspect is the least good room - the room is next to reception and quite small! (also, the room has a very unusual wooden covering to its shower-floor, which seems to smell a little of, erm, damp wood).
Overall the hotel is very on-trend (e.g. intriguingly there was a DJ during Friday night dinner!) and there's much 'Love is all around/Love is all you need'-type memorabilia hanging on the walls (some of which could come across to the cynic as a little 'TX Maxx').
Breakfast was excellent, with apparently fresh orange juice (for example), although one tiny oddity was that if you wanted milk with your breakfast cereal (surely a necessity?) you have to ask for it to be hand-delivered.
There are two honesty bars (one next to reception and one downstairs), with loads of good booze and pop on offer. Excellent!
Overall, the Aiguaclara is super and lovely, and a credit to the super-friendly owners (expect a double-kiss upon arrival).
I'd suggest it's probably not a place for pensioners or anyone who's just had a romantic break-up (given that 'loved-up' memorabelia everywhere), but for youngish couples, book now, it's brilliant! Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with character, very nice decoration and excellent location in the centre of Begur, worths a visit!Clara and Joan are very kind and helpful, the village is wonderful and the nearby beaches very nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#7 of 13 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#9 of 13 in Begur
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
0.0 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#2 of 13 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguaclara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.