We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aiguaclara Hotel to your Saves list
Aiguaclara Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Alella, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint but lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful quaint boutique hotel in Begur.
The owners Clara and Joan are wonderful and friendly hosts and have decorated this lovely hotel in there own style, which gives the hotel a great feel.
The rooms are spacious and airy and have kept most of the original features of a building from the 1860's.
2 minute walk and you are in the main square of the beautiful town of Begur, with it array of little bars and restaurants.
We had a lovely stay and will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    119
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
202
638
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel was a great find and lived up to our expectations. After a long day travelling the warm welcome from Joan and Clara resulted in immediate relaxation. The beautiful character building has been sympathetically restored and furnished. The beds are very comfortable and although the bathroom was a little small a great deal of attention has been paid to ensure all your needs are met. Of our 4 day stay we ate in their restaurant 3 nights and this is testament to the high quality and great 'value for money' food offered. The central location offered us lovely 'post dinner' browsing in the numerous shops and bars. If you're looking for a convenient and central location for exploring the immediate area we would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecetto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been coming to the Costa Brava for more than 20 years and decided to have dinner about two weeks ago at the Aiguaclara Hotel with two Italian friends.We were all disappointed by the food but did enjoy the Flamenco show. Hopefully before the summer is over, I'll manage to write a more positive review about this cute hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have written reviews for this hotel before and it is hard to believe that it just gets better and better - but it does! Clara and Joan have created the perfect place to relax, to unwind and to enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. The hotel is stylish, comfortable and quirky. This is added to by the incredible warmth and care shown to all guests by the hard working owners whose motto 'Fet amb love' is evident in all that they do.
Breakfast is served in the wonderful bright and airy dining room, there is a great selection of food and the chocolate cake is heavenly and not to be missed - a great way to start the day! Our room was beautiful, spacious and full of light. The building is a delight to be in and for those interested in architecture many beautiful and original features have been preserved and these have been enhanced by an eclectic collection by Clara who clearly has a very sophisticated and unique style.
It is clear that the owners want guests to enjoy their stay in Aiguaclara and I can honestly say that for us they succeeded! I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Like the reviews that precede this one, my family and our two "kids" aged 22 and 18 found the Aiguaclara Hotel to be very special. Joan and Clara are remarkably kind people. They work unbelievably hard and have fashioned a romantic, warm, eclectic, fun and comfortable environment. We stayed in room 6 and the kids had room 5 which is one floor up from the reception area and office (and off of it is the restaurant and bar). The rooms were lovely and had a comfortable bed and each also had a day bed so each kid had a bed of their own. The bathrooms were nice and the shower had good water pressure.
The breakfast area (we also had a great dinner there one evening) is lovely and generally filled w/fun music. Breakfast is included in the room rate. This place is a bargain. We had cocktails each night on the ground level bar (there is a self service bar in the basement) and then Clara would tell us where to go for dinner after we explained our wants---she made the reservation and I have the sense that Clara and Joan know everybody in the charming and quaint village of Begur because we never had to deal w/a "confirmation", we just showed up at the time and place we'd requested and were treated like The Royal Family. With that said, the best meals we had in Begur (we spent 3 nights there) were at the Aiguaclara.
The hotel could not be better situated for exploring the village. Begur is gorgeous. It's a small town but it has boundless charm. We walked to the top of the castle -- I did it once on my own at sunrise because jetlag is a horrible thing-- and the views are simply unbelievable looking up and down the Costa Brava coast line. We spent a day visiting many of the surrounding beaches. All were lovely. The Costa Brava is astonishingly beautiful.
You simply cannot go wrong visiting Joan and Clara for a few days to break up an urban Spain visit. We came from having spent 4 nights in Madrid via an amazing train trip that took a little less than 3 hours to Barcelona and then rented a car and drove to Aiguaclara in a little under 2 hours. After a few days of relaxation w/Joan and Clara, we descended on Barcelona for some more urban time and then returned home to the States. I'm so glad that we found the Costa Brava and even happier that we found the Aiguaclara. Thank you very much Joan and Clara.

one final thought: to those who have complained about the chimes from the Church...ignore those comments. Bring ear plugs if you are a VERY light sleeper. Otherwise, no worries!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I would have to say this is the best, most interesting hotel I have stayed in. It would not be for everyone. It is slightly quirky and not 5-star, but it has a great atmosphere and the nicest owners you could meet. It is more like a friendly bed & breakfast although you have plenty of privacy (we called it our Catalan home). From the moment we arrived (which was much later than anticipated due to car hire troubles), we were greeted warmly with kisses on the cheeks and told where to go for a late dinner (suggestion fantastic!). Then we were able to explore the hotel later on - quirky antiques everywhere and the 2 'honesty' bars for guests' use. We had a room with a balcony which had a nice view and it was pleasant to sit out in the sunshine occasionally. No complaints with the shower/ bathroom (although it is a little close to the bedroom!). Bed comfy. The rooms are not 5-star but homely. Certainly we had no problem with them. It is in a nice area of town, within walking distance to the main squares and a short drive to some nice beaches. The breakfasts were great- selection of cereals, bread, smallgoods, spanish omelette and cheeses. It also has a restaurant open Tuesday to Saturday (I think) which we tried and the food was very nice. My partner's tuna tartare was magnificent and my steak tartare was not far off. On tuesday nights there is flamenco guitar and on fridays there is a DJ. Clara and Joan are so lovely- we were so fortunate to stumble across this place and would love to go back. One of the most memorable places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Try for a balcony Have a look in Clara's boutique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautiful building, very convenient location - a minutes walk from the centre of the old town, but what makes this such an outstanding hotel is the care and thoughtfulness shown by the hosts Clara and Joan. It is like staying in the very cool historic house of friends who are very hospitable. They have very useful local knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was easily the best we have had in Spain. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#7 of 13 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.6 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#2 of 13 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#9 of 13 in Begur
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aiguaclara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguaclara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.