We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aiguaclara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aiguaclara Hotel
c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Begur
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is simply the best. Unbelievable hosts, make you feel so welcome the minute you walk in the door. Everything about this hotel is excellent. The honest system, where you can have food and beverages and write down your name. Books to read, different areas to laze around in.

The room we stayed in (room 7) was beautiful. Very spacious, sunny, huge shower, comfy bed. The only problem we experience (by no fault of the hotel) was the church bells ringing continuously. Quite unbelievable how often they ring, every 15 minutes to be exact!

We had dinner in the hotel as they had live music (flamenco). We never eat dinner in the hotels we stay in but let me say this was one of the best meals we have had during our travels to-date. Not to be overlooked by any means, you must try it! The breakfasts are also great.

We spent a beautiful day at Sa Tuna beach, so secluded and so beautiful.

Thank you for making our stay so beautiful and for looking after us!

We would definitely stay again if we are back this way.

Room Tip: Rom 7 overlooks car park and church bells so can be noisy if you sleep lightly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    757
    97
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
172
561
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was just as good as all the other reviews say. We stayed in the apartment which was perfect for our family of two adults and three kids. Clara and Joan were outstanding hosts and we are very grateful for all their kindness. Also their restaurant was the best we tried in Begur.

My only reservation in giving my first ever review on Tripadvisor is that I would really rather not too many people knew about the hotel because we do plan to come back and I'd quite like it not to be full when I next try and book (!)

Our daughter says thank you for all the chocolate cake and for buying us a game of Ludo on the morning it rained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved it, everything about it was wonderful. We loved the friendly welcome, our fantastic room (perfect for housing our 10 month old behind glass panelled doors where she slept like a dream), the beautiful surroundings, the live music, the excellent gin tonics, the food.... It was superlative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Aiguaclara is one if these wonderful establishments. that sadly are getting increasingly harder to find.The standard of personal service and the warmth of the opners, Juan and Clara is exceptional, we live in Hong Kong and have travelled extensively world wide but the warmth of Juan and Clara where you are immediately made to feel as an old friend and for whom nothing is to much trouble makes this one of those places you want to come back to again and again.Our whole family had a fantastic stay and when our daughter left her Barbour jacket behind, we were e mailed immediately and the jacket was forwarded to Barcelona . I simply cannot recommend the hotel more highly, the meals, the ambience and character of the hotel are better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in. It is a deservedly very ,very popular hotel with a lot of repeat custom and we are so looking forward to going back again. Kim and Trudi Longley , Hong Kong

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I could not have enjoyed a more pleasant stay. Staff are fantastic and so friendly. Our room was divine and the hotel oozes personality! Food was amazing and we even had our own private party in the lounge afterwards listening to music! I loved it and woould have loved more time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with our 20 month old little girl and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The junior suite was spacious and perfect for us as we were able to put our daughter in a separate room. We wished we could have enjoyed the balcony with it's comfy deckchairs and views up to the castle and over the town - but the weather didn't allow it. Next time! The hotel is a beautiful old building with historic features, made even more charming by Clara's eclectic vintage style. Overall it has a stylish yet incredibly relaxing feel - Joan and Clara really make you feel at home, like old friends. We dined in the restaurant which was very atmospheric and served delicious local specialities with a backdrop of a dj playing 'vintage vinyl' which was really fun. We were able to put our toddler to bed and enjoy our meal with the baby monitor (suggested and provided by the hotel) on our table, which was an unexpected treat. Breakfast was delicious and very enjoyable thanks to the box of toys brought out for our daughter. All in all a wonderful stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed downstairs off the hall, great shower, views and everything spot on. Refreshing to enjoy a proper breakfast, not the usual half hearted dry croissant effort. Great coffee. Sadly I now have to write 200 characters so I am filling space......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguaclara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.