We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home abroad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aiguaclara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aiguaclara Hotel
c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Begur
Brussels
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Feeling at home abroad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed very much our one week stay in May at hotel Aiguaclara.The hotel is located in a charming colonial house which was built in the 19-th century by returning villagers who had made a fortune in central America or Cuba. (Some villagers however returned with empty suitcases, some of which can be found in the collection at the hotel). Our room was in fact a romantic suite of two rooms with high ceilings and visible beams on the top floor. It didn´t matter that there was no elevator since it was easy to climb the beautiful staircase (which figures in a book we found in the hotel library on the colonial houses in Begur). Breakfasts were relaxing and tasteful. What makes Aiguaclara so special is its friendly personal attitude and its good atmosphere which makes you feel at home far away from home. Clara, Kirsten and Joan are always ready to assist you and advise on which places to visit in Catalonia. Begur itself is a very beautiful village close to beaches. A place to which you would like to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    90
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
164
537
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This charming and eclectic hotel in Begur was a delight. Housed in a converted 1869 residence, it is one of a kind. After the scenic drive up the coast from Barcelona, we were warmly welcomed by owners Clara and Joan (Juan) and made to feel like family. They and Kirsten were most helpful with all kinds of advice. Our room was spacious and comfortable; breakfast each morning was wonderful with even a copy of the International Herald Tribune to look forward to. We understand that the Hotel dining room is very highly regarded; unfortunately it was not open during our stay, but will provide incentive to return. Begur itself is full of interest and has some nice restaurants. The town is a good base for exploring by car the many delights of the Costa Brava, with its beautiful coves and sinuous mountain roads. We enjoyed visiting Girona and Cadaques and many other spots in beautiful Catalonia. We visited in May which seemed perfect before the hotter summer weather. Can't wait to return to the unique Aiquaclara and its delightful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The owners of this wonderful hotel welcome you as old friends. Their warmth is clearly evident in their care of guests and the attention to detail; from the warm and interesting interiors, to the meals. The location is fabulous, the ambiance wonderful. You couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: The apartment, jut around the corner from the main building is perfect for families. They also stock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Begur for a couple days in April and found Aiguaclara at the Marco Polo guidebook and also was recommended by a lady we met at the airport. Since the beginning the communication was easy, hotel responded immediatelly and the prices were good. Hotel is really lovely place and you feel there like at home. We very appreciated Clara and Joan to come and greet us personally on our arrival, also all the staff was very friendly. You can see everywhere that they love what they do and do it with passion. Rooms are nice and clean, restaurant is really lovely and food was very good. We would only appreciate a bit bigger seelcton at breakfast. Hotel arranged flamenco night on Thu and DJ on Fri, which was great - and full of local people too! Should we ever come back to Begur, would love to go there again and meet these amazing people! Begur is a lovely small vilage and all the are around is amazing. Not sure about peak toursit seasons, it must be crazy there, for off season superb.

Room Tip: We had room Aiguablava, which had 2 small balconies. You can not sit on the balcony, as it is troo s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We leave the hotel Aiguaclara and Begur tomorrow. We so don't want to go! This hotel and this town are amazing. The hotel: it is like home, wherever you are from.Not glitzy, not pretentious, not phony. It is the kind of place you want to come back to at the end of the day and the kind of place you want to be to begin your day. Clara and Joan, the owners, are two wonderful and hospitable people. But, the true gem is Kristen. She will plan your day, tell youwhat restaurants to eat in, explain the way this quirky place works, and make your trip to this town and this hotel an experience you will remember for the rest of your life. The town, the area, Catalana, are all exceptional. But, to truly enjoy all three stay at Hotel Aiguaclara. It will make all the difference in your trip and, maybe, in your life. Magic happens at a hotel " fete amb luv."

Room Tip: Room 3 or room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Aiguaclara is a lovely little hotel in the heart of Begur. The owners, Clara and Joan, are wonderful and warm and make you feel more like a houseguest than a hotel patron. The room we had, #3, is very spacious. There is an incredible view of the Pyrenees from the bathroom window!
Breakfast is good, but the restaurant was not open for dinner on the days were there. Clara and Joan were very helpful with restaurant and site recommendations.
Go and enjoy this lovely hotel and village as a great home base on the Costa Brava!

Room Tip: We loved #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a second stay at Hotel Aiguaclara for my wife, daughter and I. Our first stay was for 3 nights. Second time we when back for 5 nights. It is the most magical of places. The hotel is grand C19th villa in the centre of Begur - a small sleepy, medieval town about 90 mins northeast from Barcelona. Everything about the hotel is relaxed. The style is shabby-chic and very, very cool - in a thoroughly authentic way. Equally authentic is the warm welcome from the owners, Clara and Joan, and Kirsten who also manages the hotel. All three are incredibly helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area, and where to eat. The hotel has its own restaurant, which serves a yummy buffet breakfast from 9 till late morning, and is transformed at night into a delightful romantic spot. Expect long lazy breakfasts, reading the newspapers and chatting with other guests. Throughout the day, guests can help themselves to hot drinks and beer, wine, bubbly from a loyalty bar. This is the place for romantic getaways. Begur is a great base to explore the many medieval wonders of the region. There are also a number of great hikes (around 5 km) to nearby coves. Don't expect mod-cons (there's no 'fitness centre', and ceiling fans instead of AC). If you like the Hilton experience, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Address: c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguaclara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.