We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Charming Hotel Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiguaclara Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aiguaclara Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aiguaclara Hotel
c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Begur
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most Charming Hotel Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Me and my husband stayed for two days at this lovely property . The hotel has the most amazing decor with antiques and pretty little accessories adorning every little nook and corner. You feel as if you have been transported to another world / time altogether. The rooms were so cozy, pretty and inviting, as were the hosts - Clara and Juan. They were very warm and helpful and guided us to the most amazing beaches/ restaurants/ flea markets and other visitworthy places in Begur. The location of the hotel is great,most of the beaches/ tourist spots within 15-20 mins of Aiguaclara, yet, it feels like you are so far away from your noisy hectic city life that it is just the perfect getaway. To top it all the food is excellent. The breakfast was very good, my husband especially loved the coffee :). We had dinner at the restaurant on the second night, the food was excellent and the dessert (esp. the cheesecake ) was to die for. Hope to stay again at this hotel again in a few years :).

Room Tip: We stayed in Aiguagledia , the room was very cozy, romantic, tastefully decorated and it had a gr8 v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    757
    97
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
172
561
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel is a wonderful colonial building in a great location with decor I would best descibe "with a bohemian influence" Two great hosts, good breakfast and a very good restaurant. The menu choice is not extensive but everything is prepared to a very high standard. Begur is a really nice village but as with several other catalan towns and villages why do the church bells have to chime every quarter hour 24/7? If you are a light sleeper,take ear plugs!

Room Tip: Its a small hotel on 3 floors with no lift. I would presume all the rooms and 2 suites are huge. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed in Aiguaclara in Begur for week to wind off this year's Summer before the start of a new term. This was the most recent of many visits and we just keep on going back. The building is an old Indiana mansion and is full of original features that have been maintained in a tasteful refurbishment. Rooms are individually decorated and have views of the sea, the castle in Begur and in season the swallows chatter at the windows. The house if full of colour, comfort and a very special charisma that reflects the care and enthusiasm of the very hands-on owners. Joan and Clara welcome all guests with the attentiveness afforded to treasured friends. They cater to special interests and offer helpful advice about the area. They are charming and knowledgeable and constantly surprise with the extent and level of their consideration and care.

Aiguaclara has a host of nooks and crannies for reading, listening to music, enjoying a drink, relaxing in the sun in peace and quiet or with friends. There are books, DVDs, beach material and toys and a wealth of interesting artwork and objets to look at. For those who prefer character to the boring formula bijou hotel then Aiguaclara is the one! This is not just a personal preference. Over the years we have recommended the hotel to many friends who have not been disappointed.

I am counting the days until I can return.

Room Tip: Vinyls night in the restaurant adds great music to the excellent food experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We spent two nights at the Aiguaclara, and we absolutely loved it!

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home. Clara greeted us warmly, gave us a tour of the property (the honesty bars, the restaurant, the lounge, and backyard), and then showed us to our beautiful room! Unfortunately, I do not remember the name of the room, but it was a suite on the second floor with a view of the castle. Amazing! Clara is clearly an artist; the hotel is full of vintage pieces of great character, pieced together with great care. (She even has a little store with vintage pieces in the hotel!)

The hotel as a whole is a mix of beautiful old touches, such as the tile, with every comfort you could desire. Our room - the most comfortable bed and best night's sleep we have had in a long time. The sheets were of great quality and pressed to perfection; the mattress superb. The bathroom was great, with modern amenities--a rainforest showerhead and huge washing basin. The balcony was also great--we drank cava while looking up at the stars and the castle, after a long day of swimming in the ocean!

The honesty bars - as others have said, they are awesome. It is really a nice touch and was very useful. We would fill up on water and other beverages in the morning before leaving for the beach. Speaking of the beach, the hotel also has beach equipment - bags, towels, umbrellas, snorkeling equipment, and games at your disposal. EXCELLENT!

The breakfasts--perfect! Fresh melon, amazing cheese, Spanish tortilla, homemade pastries and croissants, slices of jamon, cafe con leche, etc., etc., etc.! And each morning, Joan warmly gave us insight and directions to secluded beaches and other places of interest.

We also ate at the restaurant one night, and the food was superb. It happened to be a Tuesday, which is their DJ night, and it was fabulous--it seemed like all of Begur wanted to be there to dance and be merry. We were a initially a little worried that the party would interfere with our sleep, but it ended promptly at 12:30! (Also note, we were worried about the bells, since other tripadvisor reviews had mentioned them, but Joan said that they replaced all the windows, and indeed, we did not hear them once during the night.)

Clara mentioned that her and Joan used to work in the hotel industry in Barcelona, and that this is their labor of love. It is obvious that they know a great deal about customer service and that they have poured their heart and soul into Aiguaclara. They love it and their love translates to their guests. We could not have asked for a better place to spend our time in Begur. Our only regret was that we could not stay much longer!

Thank you, Joan and Clara! We will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great place, very cosy and welcoming. We'd love to go back one day out of season. Rooms are basic but with airco and good beds. Communal areas such as patio garden, chill-out space, breakfast area are all great. Village is beautiful and the beaches nearby as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

From the moment you arrive at Aiguaclara you know you're in for a treat. Juan and Clara, the MOST charming owners, greet you with a kiss, and instantly you feel at home. The hotel has a quircky charm- the rooms comfortable, the common areas relaxing, and the evening meals spectacular. It's a great base for visiting the costa brava. Lots of nearby beaches, villages, and begur itself is a great town. Being able to come home to Aiguaclara is everything all these reviewers say. Juan and Clara are the nicest, most accomodating people we've ever met in our travels. Two examples- their restaurant is very busy- because of the ambiance and fantastic food. We had such a great time the first night, we wanted to eat again the second. It was totally booked up, but Clara and Juan rearranged the tables so our family of 4 could return! Juan also spent HOURS trying to help us navigate purchasing tickets to the Barcelona soccer match. Totally unecessary- but he wanted to make our trip perfect. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very interesting village hotel. Service impecable. rooms large and very comfy. Restaurant food excellent and breakfast very good. Extremely good value for money. Very clean and the owners Juan and Clara extremely charming and helpful. Its like a home away from home, quite unique. We loved it and have rebooked.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aiguaclara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiguaclara Hotel

Address: c/Sant Miquel, 2, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Begur
#1 Family Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel like at home in this family hotel, wich is run by Clara and Joan, its owners. A 1866 Colonial mansion with 10 rooms, restaurant, bar, garden... Located in Begur centre, the best village to explore the Costa Brava. Close to the best beaches, 20 minutes from 5 golf courses, 45 minutes from Girona Airport and 1 hour and a half from Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Aiguaclara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aiguaclara Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiguaclara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.