We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eetu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eetu to your Saves list
Hotel Eetu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de Fornells | Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had originally booked into the Hotel Eetu for 1 night and ended staying 6 nights!! If that is an endorsement for a great Hotel then nothing is. The location, décor, service and atmosphere cannot be put into words. We were on level 3 for 5 nights and level 4 for our last night and both rooms were superb. Live music on Friday and Saturday nights in the courtyard below enticed to dancing on the balcony in the balmy June evenings with touches of champagne just made our 8 wee ktrip to Spain all the more special. We could not fault the service proved by the owners.We felt very special without being gushy. A quick 2 minute walk to a secluded pebble beach for an early morning skinny dip swim for my wife and I made just the perfect location to finish our trip to Spain.

Room Tip: Try for the 3rd or top floor rooms near the internal stair. A very easy walk up from the foyer will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and found it absolutely charming. The owners were friendly and couldn't help more, the wait staff had great attitude, the room had a magnificent view and overall the stay was just what we wanted - relaxing. An easy walk to the nearby beach which is picture postcard beautiful - we hired stand up paddle boards and explored the nearby coves - a good way to work off some of our holiday excess.
Having a car is handy - we explored some of the nearby medieval villages and did some shopping, dining and drinking in nearby Begur.
Would be back in a flash. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We have travelled for 7 weeks in Majorca, Côte d'Azur, Provence, Costa Brava and Paris staying in 3 or 4 star hotels and this hotel has the best facilities and breakfast yet. Why? King size bed, english papers to read and someone making personalised eggs for breakfast, good coffee, multiple hangers and space for clothes, a hair dryer, clothes rack to dry things, good internet connection & 2 tables to work on, and a map of how to get around. All this plus great view of the ocean,(sea room), a 10 minute drive to some excellent restaurants and some great walking trails. We can't recommend this enough!

Room Tip: Sea view is large and privacy excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We have just returned home from a return visit to Hotel Eetu,having previously enjoyed a week last September. Once more we were most impressed by the welcome, attentiveness and quality of our stay. There have been several 'upgrades' to the hotel in the intervening year- all tasteful and sympathetic to the concept of this 1960s hotel. We loved it all. The breakfast was freshly prepared and abundant, the Nespresso self-service coffee machine met my highest standards. Dinner, with good variety and choice, was freshly prepared and we felt constituted excellent value for money. The proprietors, Ber and Rune worked incredibly hard to ensure the comfort of the guests, and were impressively omnipresent. We couldn't find fault.
We are genuinely puzzled that some tripadvisor clients have been so unhappy about their experience. Some guests managed without a car while we were there, happily using the local bus or taxis- an inexpensive 5 minute ride to Begur. We found house-keeping efficient and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean.The restaurant meal, given the variety of the freshly prepared food, cooked to order, was excellent value- 22 euro for 3 courses plus an interesting appetiser. There are no shops at Fornells, but two supermarkets, one walking distance, the other a very short drive. Having spent two annual weeks at Hotel Eetu, I find it hard to relate to some of the negative comments made.
Finally, please do not feed the two gentle, inoffensive and friendly dogs from your table as I observed happening repeatedly. It makes them haunt the outside dining area in the reasonable expectation of food, having been so rewarded in the past, which causes a problem for some guests. The dogs get into trouble with Ber and Rune for doing this, but actually, the guests who feed them are responsible for this habit.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Be advised that if you stay at this hotel to make sure you have a car. There are no shops close by at all. Yes it's near the beach, but that's about all.
The hotel was clean, but we had to ask for toilet paper daily as they only have us one roll or half a roll. The food at the restaurant is quite expensive, but there is not other choice really but to eat here as it is not near any other restaurants. There is a bus service but it's unreliable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel in July. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean, the beds good and the room had a balcony with a lovely view of the sea. There was ample free parking on-site. The English-speaking staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a pretty outdoor eating area under trees (we had no mosquitos) and we rather liked the friendly but not obtrusive dog on the premises. Didn't like breakfast: guests have to take their (single) plate and glass and go fetch their juice (orange and not fresh - in Spain, seriously??) and food from a small buffet spread on the bar counter; then queue to make their toast and jostle to squash their tomatoes onto their baguette; and queue again to make their coffee at the Nespresso machine (the only coffee available). It's like eating in an airport lounge, not a 3-star hotel. This negative impression was further reinforced by a later incident with the owner: we had returned late-ish one evening and wanted to have desserts and coffees in the outdoor eating area, which was largely empty. The waitress took our (a la carte) order. About 10 minutes later the owner came to our table and told us (in front of the other guests present) that, as we were 'not dining', we were not allowed to sit at the tables, but had to go to another area (a few metres away but not very nice to sit). I tried to reason that we were hotel guests, had ordered from the a la carte menu and that there were many empty tables in the eating area, but he was adamant about his 'rule'. Basically he wanted to eject us from the dining area (after we had ordered) because we hadn't ordered a main course. We left the dining area without eating, appalled at this rudeness and lack of professionalism towards guests. It marred the rest of our stay. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hotel Eetu is a very nice quiet hotel near the small beaches in Costa Brava. At first we were a bit afraid that it's too far from the city but actually the location was perfect. Walking distance to the beach and short car ride to Begur.
The owners of the hotel are really friendly and helpful. They gave us lot of tips on where to go and which places to avoid. To have that kind of personal touch made this experience extra nice.
Room was nice and clean with a lovely balcony and breakfast was amazing!
I would definitely recommend Hotel Eetu!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eetu

Address: Platja de Fornells | Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#6 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eetu 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome our clients in this marvellous and exclusive setting, the bay of Aiguablava, surrounded by a sea of infinite shades of blue, with crystal clear waters, cliffs, hidden coves, and just 3 kilometres from the village of Begur.Eetu stands in a unique building and is a design hotel, urban and trendy retro. The Hotel features 47 rooms with terrace, many with sea views, 3 apartments, restaurant-bar with open air terrace, garage, tennis court and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Eetu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eetu Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eetu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.