We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eetu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eetu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eetu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de Fornells | Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Begur
Paris, France
1 review
“Very nice hotel with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is located very close to the sea (200m) in a very quiet environment. The rooms are big and confortable and most of them with view to the sea.
The breakfast is excellcent with good coffee, local speciality bread with tomato, fresh fruits, etc.The garden under mulberry trees allows to eat your breakfast or dinner in a very relaxing frame.
Design is modern / retro. Service is good. A very nice place to stay in the nicest area of the Costa Brava.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was absolutely beautiful and it's four owners (you have to count the two adorable pet dogs!) we're friendly and hospitable.

It is aimed at the adults only market which suited me and my best friend fine. There were lots of couples enjoying the peace and quiet, but it think this would be a lovely place to go for a girls only break.

It was really easy to get to and we didn't drive. We caught the bus from barcelona airport T2 and it took about 2.5/3 hours to travel the coast to Begur. The bus dropped us right in the centre of town. Once you get off the bus if you walk slightly to your left you will find a lamppost advertising English speaking taxi drivers. I phoned this and a charming gent answered immediately and came to pick us up within ten minutes. The journey to hotel Eetu takes less than ten minutes and costs about €14.

When you get dropped off there is a big flight of steps up the main terrace if you're carrying cases, but if you can't manage if you walk slightly uphill around the edge of the hotel you will eventually come to its main gate which is the flat entrance into the grounds.

Bern met us immediately with his young hostess receptionist and both were incredibly charming. Bern showed us to our rooms and explained the bathrooms on our floor were still being renovated, however, I have no idea what he was worrying about as our bathroom was painted a lovely Tiffany blue with white porcelain fittings and I thought it was very chic! We had a twin room that overlooked the gardens. If you looked through the trees you could see the sea. Apparently higher up in the hotel you get a clearer view, but we were very happy that we had a lovely balcony to sit on and could hear the light jazz and soul music they pipped over the terrace. It was never too loud and set the scene perfectly.

We ate at the restaurant two nights (we were there for 3). The food was beautiful. Each day the chef did a set menu of 3 courses for €22 (which includes an amuse bouche!) and there are 3 choices per course. The menu is widely advertised as they change the poster in the lift etc each day so you can salivate over what you want to eat! I highly recommend this option. My friend is vegetarian and they accommodated her choices in this deal. Then you spend more money on wine and cocktails! You can eat outside under the trees or in the restaurant - the choice is yours. I chatted to one of our waitresses who told me she was "in training". Apparently the hotel employs young staff each summer and trains them up in the hospitality trade which I was really impressed with. Rene (the other owner) spent a lot of time with this girl showing her how to pour wine etc.

Breakfast was a lovely affair as there was lots of choice. Homemade cakes, biscuits, fruit yoghurt and cereal. Hams and cheeses (including a lovely soft blue that you must try!) different breads and even the ability to make your own tomato bruschetta with garlic and oil. Fresh juice and a coffee machine were you can make your own coffee to your preferred strength. Also every day they get the daily newspapers in in a variety of languages. These are left in the bar area for guests to read at their leisure.

The hotel is a short walk from a couple of beaches - ask Bern he will plot you a map. Also in the summer months there is a bus they stops right outside the hotel 4 times a day and for €1(!) it will take you to another beach along the coast or into Begur. Again reception can assist with times etc, or it is displayed on the notice board. We had no problem with the wifi signal either which is always useful.

All in all a lovely stay and I would love to go back. Apparently the gents are thinking of adding a pool which would be a lovely addition but this will take about 18months to 2 years.

Enjoy your holiday at hotel Eetu!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Hotel Eetu for 3 nights. We had a triple room and it was very nice and large. Bernart at the front desk was wonderful. He gave us lots of great recommendations and made us feel at home. The breakfast area is beautiful and relaxing and the food was also very good. Lunch was a bit overpriced but good. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the closest beach. It is about 15 minutes walk to a real sand beach via the cliff walks. Do go there since the beach is really beautiful and it has a few good restaurants and bars (classy looking). We visited the gardens in Carrera and then walked from there all the way to Lafranc. The gardens had some of the best views of the sea and the walk was beautiful and full of opportunities to take a dip in the sea. We had lunch in Carrera and ice cream in Lafranc. Both villages are totally beautiful and worthwhile to visit. Begur is about 10 minutes drive from the hotel. Very cute old town with narrow streets and beautiful shops.

Room Tip: This is not a place for small kids. But is pretty good for a teenager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlissingen, Zeeland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at hotel Eetu. Due to family circumstances we had to cancel our holiday in Greece and had to change it into a roadtrip to France and Spain. Because of this I booked this hotel only days before actually arriving, and it turned out great!. Booked it based on comments on tripadvisor (sixties style, spacious garage, friendly owners, information area, spacious room, balcony with seaview.., all turned out to be true! ) I loved the style of the hotel, the lovely breakfast area (inside but especially the breakfast area outside) and the more than lovely breakfastbuffet itself. It seemed like every breakfast wish we could have would be forfilled. Eggs anyway you like them, fresh orange juice, fruits, and very tasty bread, croissants, I could go on (a special thanks to the young man behind the buffet, he could not speak english very well, but he took such good care of us and was so friendly, as were the girls). Our room was indeed spacious (3th floor) with balcony and great view of the garden and seaview.Very relaxing. I loved the enormous bathroom, very nicely renovated in a lovely style. The shower was great! We also fell in love with the bed, this is the champion of beds, we would have loved to take this bed home with us, go and try it for yourselves. Bernat was so nice to us, giving us tips of the area, asking how our day was, just such a nice host. There is no swimming pool, but with the sea so nearby, we didn't really miss it (allthough the sea could have been warmer..;) ). There a many very nice beaches nearby and many lovely little villages (Pals, Peratadella, Ullastret, Callela de Palafrugell, just ask one of the owners). We also visited the great museum of Dali at Figueres. All in all highly recommanded, will certainly stay there again when visiting this area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We recently spent 5 beautiful days at Costa Brava, and stayed at Hotel Eetu.
The hotel was great! The room was beautiful and very clean with excellent views. The restaurant was great, very good breakfast that we ate at the garden. The owners, Bernat and Rune, made us feel very welcome and spent time every morning recommending sites to visit and every evening inquiring about our day. Also the restaurant/bar staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
Great location for walking to the most beautiful Calas and beaches around.
We will definitely go back and strongly recommend it.
(You must have a car to stay at the hotel, would be very difficult without one)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a brilliant stay with my wife at the hotel, the staff was amazing.
The owner takes care of every single detail to ensure that you have a pleasant stay and recommended several places to travel around the area.
The location is excellent close to several 'cavas' which are great. I would recommend the 'aiguablava' a jaw dropping sandy beach which is bigger that the rest.
We got an upgrade to a room with a lovely 'sea side' view with a great balcony and the bed had a huge an really comfortable king size bed.
The breakfast was the typical continental buffet version but with high quality food.
The hotel has been recently refurbished from an old property and you can see the amount of work that they are doing there. I think that it will look even better in a few months.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thank you for such an amazing time.

Room Tip: Top floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My second visit to the Hotel Eetu and it will certainly not be the last. Ber and Rune are doing a marvellous job and one cannot fail to find the whole place charming. Some excellent renovations have been completed during the winter and they are doing a very good job of improving and modernising this unique place without compromising the style and identity of the building. Thank you both (and your staff) for your attentive, cheerful and professional service and see you again very soon !

Room Tip: The ones with the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Eetu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eetu

Address: Platja de Fornells | Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Begur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eetu 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome our clients in this marvellous and exclusive setting, the bay of Aiguablava, surrounded by a sea of infinite shades of blue, with crystal clear waters, cliffs, hidden coves, and just 3 kilometres from the village of Begur.Eetu stands in a unique building and is a design hotel, urban and trendy retro. The Hotel features 47 rooms with terrace, many with sea views, 3 apartments, restaurant-bar with open air terrace, garage, tennis court and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Eetu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eetu Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eetu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.