We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, lovely location. Peaceful and not flash” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Aiguablava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Aiguablava to your Saves list
Parador de Aiguablava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great position, lovely location. Peaceful and not flash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel sits on its own atop a rocky headland at entrance to an attractive bay with a sheltered sandy beach below the hotel. Peaceful and rooms with great views either out to sea one way or across the bay the other. Modern decor which could appear a bit bland, but we found it grew on you - and the sitting and bar areas are tall-ceilinged and spacious and airy. Terrace outside bar with great outlook to rocks and sea. Good 'traditional' swimming pool with grassed sunbed area. Overall the hotel has a peaceful and comfortable air about it - and not flash.
Bedrooms and bathrooms spacious, perhaps a touch dated, but clean and all have a great balcony.
Good breakfast, but dinner for half-board not that inspiring and moderate quality - also service a touch slow at times. Rather than half-board may be better to eat at the restaurant (owned by the hotel) on the beach below the hotel - though that entails an uphill walk back to hotel after dinner. Otherwise it is a 3/4 mile drive to three restaurants in Aiguablava village - difficult walk at night.
This hotel is best suited to couples and perhaps not so good for children.
Wi-Fi was intermittent - something good hotels these days should fix urgently.
We may well return here as we loved both the particular position of the hotel and its ambiance and also the area in general around local town Begur.

Room Tip: All rooms face either east or west. For sea view and morning sun get a room on east side. For view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y sugerencias hacia nuestro establecimiento. Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    115
    40
    17
    4
See reviews for
53
225
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We expected an expensive parador to deliver much more.
The room was big, the view was great
Bathroom facilities were old and just ok.
When we arrived WIFI did not work, and so it continued until the middle of our third day.
Even then, when it was fixed the receptionists were not aware of it.
The exercise room was not working (it seems there was none).
The food was expensive with limited choice.

you would expect more from a 300 USD room per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
we are very sorry for all the mistakes that you found in your stay. We would like to inform you that the gym is close for the remoldings. For the wifi there was a problem for a few days, but now the system works without problem .
Thank you so much for you comments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I would not stay here without access to a car as it is a bit isolated but that also means it allows for great relaxation. The rooms are dated but very clean. The wood floors in the hallways have huge gaps and sink and creak underfoot rather disturbingly, like a rotting deck! There are wonderful views from most rooms, the terrace and breakfast room. We remarked that the picture windows and views are the only decor in the restaurant; once the sun goes down, the room is very stark and with its regimented tables lacks atmosphere. The dinner options were generally good - we liked the black rice, the veal sirloin and the sequet the best - although there was little or nothing in the way of vegetables with each plate. The beach (reached by a path and stair) is not big so it does get busy. The water is very clear and shallow and a gorgeous colour.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
In first place I should like to thank you both personally and on behalf of the Parador of Aiguablava for your comments written to us consequent on your visit. Our principal objective at the Paradores is to assure your satisfaction and your well-being as well as to offer our distinguished clients the comfort and quality which they deserve - in accordance with the system of quality in which we are practiced and certified.
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on a family holiday. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are large (by American Standards) and the breakfast was fabulous. The spread that is provided for breakfast will make finding something to suit your pallet easy. Lots of fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, choice of many breads, yogurts, lots of pastries, cereal, soft boiled eggs, and I could go on. One night we ate the beach restaurant. I was underwhelmed with the selection and I thought the food was average. I had expected better but was not disappointed.

The view we had was of a beautiful little cove with lots of boats anchored and a nice beach. It did get rather crowded with the locals, but the hotel pool was beautiful and not crowded if you wanted something quieter. The pool was guarded and very clean.

The staff was friendly but there weren't a lot around. The hotel is off the beaten path so it's not a bustling place. Seemed slower paced. We enjoyed ourselves and I would go back. The only negative was that there wasn't a fitness center. I actually think there may be a treadmill or something but it was not working.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reme O, Coordinadora de Calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We would like to inform you that the gym is closed as we are improving facilities, we wait that in you nest visit you can use all the service.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks - UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The setting of the parador is magical.. Sitting on the balcony was so relaxing and just the best part of our holiday. Only minus is that evening food options can be limited (due to the setting) as other places all need a car. But absolutely exceptional in setting and service.

Room Tip: We preferred rooms on the Begur side (rather than the sea)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great view and food,but the local people is cutting the trees on the montain…they want more people come to here,but i don't think the bird and fish wanna to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Located in a priviledged promontory on the Costa Brava of the Mediterranean Sea. The view from our room was extraordinary. You could see the open sea, the seagullls gliding around and caring for their chicks, a marina, a beautiful rock formation accross a small water inlet, and the nice houses perched on the side of the hillside.

The room had a balcony with chairs and a table.

The internet didi not require any password or special connection procedures, however, the coverage inside our room was spotty. We got along with an inexpensive cellular internet SIIM card we had purchased earlier.

Breakfast was excellent in terms of variety, quality, quantity and operating hours. The hotel has an additional restaurant right by the water. Guests can easily walk down to it as they take in the beautiful view.

There is a big swimming pool.

The hotel has ample parking.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and included a bidet.

The staff was particularly helpful and friendly.

There are not too many signs guiding you to the hotel, so we had a little bit of a hard time finding it in spite of having a GPS and and Ipad.

All of the other hotels in the chain where we have stayed are remodeled medieval or otherwise historic buildings. This one however is modern in comparison, a little old but well maintained.

Room Tip: There are some rooms which have a big ledge in front which limits the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reme O, Coordinadora de calidad at Parador de Aiguablava, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are very pleased for the comments of our Parador, Comments likes yours helps us to improve day by day. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Aiguablava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.