We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the finest locations for a hotel I have encountered” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Aiguablava to your Saves list
Parador de Aiguablava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the finest locations for a hotel I have encountered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular location. Spectacular building. Fine rooms. Understaffed so service hit and miss but staff pleasant. Food hit and miss. Breakfast good. Definitely worth a visit because it is a one off but in private hands it could be sensational.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    154
    52
    21
    4
See reviews for
81
287
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 6-night stay here. Spectacular setting, gorgeous building, an easy (for me--but maybe not for everybody) walk down a fairly steep, beautiful nature path to a lovely beach with 4 seasonal restaurants, some better than others. The only drawback has to do with the meals. When they're buffet style (as in the breakfasts), they're wonderful. But at dinner you had to choose from a menu and the service was slow and the food not so great. Drink me u was also very limited. If you want better service at non-buffet meals, get there early (when it opens, around 8 pm). But I would skip the parador's meal plan (except for breakfast) and go explore the area. Overall, aside from the dinners, I highly recommend this as a relaxing, easy place to spend a few days if you're looking for a side trip when you're in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are on honeymoon and decided in Catalunya and stumbled across this hotel online and the 5 deal that Parador offers.

We would never have dreamt that for €105 a night we could f d up somewhere so beautiful, secluded, relaxing and picturesque.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and it seems every room has z sea view, ours, room 221 overlooks Aiguablava bay which is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in this lovely hotel. Everything about it was perfect. The location is wonderful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel restaurant and the mar-i-vent restaurant on the beach was excellent but the beach restaurant is the more romantic option. We had a fabulous room on the second floor with a balcony and views out to sea. The rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook the very attractive cove below. The beach is lovely but it was very busy when we were there in August. We hired a canoe and paddled round the headland and into a cave which extends 150 metres into the cliffs -take a torch -it's very dark inside! There are several walking trails in the area -ask at reception for details and a map. You can walk to Playa Fonda (to the north) and Tamariu (south) in about 30 minutes. You will need to take drinks and snacks to Playa Fonda but Tamariu is a small typically Spanish resort with restaurants and cafes. Begur is also worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel as we had some mixed reviews. We needn't have been worried, because it turned out to be great. The location is epic. The beach is a gorgeous although if you go in August like we did, make sure you get down there early and bag yourself a space on the waters edge.

The rooms seem to be allocated on a fairly straightforward basis. the best rooms (same price) are on the second floor and if you are English you don't get one of these. Our room on the 1st floor on the "bay / beach" side was still excellent. The rooms are big and if you turn up like we did to find a seperate childs bed in the rooms, just ask them to shift it.

The balcony was great. All rooms except a few in the hotel have a balcony. Make absolutely sure that you are getting a room with a balcony when you book.

The pool and terrace area is wonderful. The pool is however in the shade from late afternoon. In summer you have to go half board which is a bit of a rip off as it confines you to doing the same thing everyday. The choice is a buffet in the main hotel or the much better option of eating at the restaurant down on the beach. This beach restaurant whilst a bit pricey is really nice but make sure to book.

The breakfasts by the way are excellent with more choice than you can throw a stick at.

the hotel is quite quirky and retro, which adds to its character. It is the truly magnificent location that sets this hotel apart - everything else is just a bonus

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are excellent. The sun is on the "bay / beach" side in the late af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is all about the location...but for that reason only I would go back.
The quality of service is very average
The rooms are also very average
But the location makes it up ....this is heaven.
All of the rooms have sea view (one side ocean, one side creek)
there is a small beach within 3 minutes walk
Breakfast is worth very euro spent on it.
I would go back for sure, just to enjoy the view, tranquility of the place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our fifth and last Parador and we were so disappointed.
The staff were indifferent (except the lovely lady at dinner and the chap who manned the café) - the chap who checked us in hardly said a word to us. The cleaning staff were more friendly, all saying Ola.
Our room was a good size, second from the end of a creaky corridor, on the first floor. Overlooking the sea, fortunately not the beach which we mistakenly understood was part of the site. The walk down to the beach was quite pleasant. Sadly the beach was a heaving mass of humanity - impossible to see the crystal clear waters.
We had room service on our terrace on our first night which was very expensive and disappointing. The second night we ate in the restaurant which was much better - a large buffet choice of starters followed by a smaller choice of a'la carte main courses completed with a smaller buffet selection of desserts. Charming waitress who did her very best to guide us, despite speaking very little English.
The oddest thing was the continual aircon which only turned off if the terrace door was open. Although it was very hot and therefore necessary, it would have been nice to turn down the fan at night.
Sound proofing between rooms isn't great as we discovered when our neighbours decided to watch TV at full volume at around 11pm!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#7 of 13 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#9 of 13 in Begur
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 13 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
1.6 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#2 of 13 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel El Convent
Hotel El Convent
#10 of 13 in Begur
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#5 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Aiguablava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.