We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Aiguablava

Save Saved
You added Parador de Aiguablava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Aiguablava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Begur
essex, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“WOW !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Our introduction to the Paradores chain and we weren't disappointed. Filmstar location on a headland above Aiguablava, fabulous views all around from rooms, terraces, restaurant and bars. The decor is modern, minimal and bright with amazing modern art everywhere (Picasso on Reception, Miro down the hall ...). Our room was huge, the staff friendly but unobtrusive and the food delicious, especially the buffet breakfast Yes, it was expensive but it is a luxury hotel and worth it. By the way, if either occupant is over 55, ask when you book for the Reduced 'Golden Days' rate ...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    100
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
47
194
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This Parador hotel is like something out of a James Bond film! Perched high above a beautiful bay with stunning views from both sides of the hotel it really is magnificent. The hotel has beautiful public areas and terraces and a lovely ambience. We had dinner both nights of our stay in the hotel restaurant and the service and food were impeccable. Get down early if you want a table overlooking the bay. Breakfast was amazing – so much choice! Hot food, cold meats, cheeses, paté, fruits, pastries, menus for celiacs, wines and cava at breakfast – it really was truly wonderful – a foodie’s idea of heaven. The rooms are large and sumptuous and all have great views over the bay.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both sides of the hotel and feel the odd numbered rooms offer the best views. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Aiguablava Paradore offers good quality accommodation in a spectacular location. Rooms are well appointed and have views of the Med or the beach at Aiguablava. Breakfast is excellent and the service first class. we definitely will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is not often that I start a review with comments about the bed so this is a first for me !
The Bed was wide and inviting and as the Superior Room was excellent in many respects, we did not pay too much attention to the Bed. It was only when we awoke the next morning that we realised that we both had aching backs and were stiff from the bed. On investigation, the double bed is made up of two complicated single tubular steel frameworks , somehow bolted together to form a base. A sheet of wood is then fixed to the base frame and a thin hard mattress is placed on top of that. For a property of this standard, it was a big problem for me.

The entrance to property is via a' Private' Barrier which allows access to main car Parking area of the Hotel. The initial sighting of the Hotel is not good as it looks like a huge white cube with a few windows. It is indeed an unusual looking Parador, but once you enter the Building it is not quite as bad as you first imagined it could be. The reception Staff were friendly and helpful, but in common with all of the understaffed Paradors that we recently visited, it is' DIY' luggage to reception then to your room.

We chose an upgraded room which was like a mini suite and included a Gym area with exercise bike and a circular Spa bath, I would add that the polished marble floor tiles are extremely slippery when exiting the bath or shower. The room had all of the expected facilities and fast free WiFi..

Over all, the Hotel is well managed with good food and facilities. The outside pool is clean and well positioned but since the property is stuck right on top of a Peninsular, it can be somewhat windy around the pool and the majority of guests using the Pool when we were there in June were wrapped up with towels.

The Restaurant was large but arranged in a manner that did not make it feel to vast. There are good sea views from most tabled in the restaurant. Breakfast is relatively expensive at €18.00 per person , but the choice of food and local specialities makes it seem worthwhile.

A good Hotel, with good views,but shame about the hard beds.

Room Tip: Push the Boat out and have a room wit an exercise bike and mini gym ! Plus you get a big double Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It is an amazing hotel with an amazing view from all the rooms on either sides of the hotel!!!the hotel is situated on a cliff..located a little on the outskirts of the province begun,costa brava!it was worth staying here....rooms are excellent...service is very good!!!one of the best places of costa brava..I must say

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having previously stayed in other paradors and pousadas, my husband and I decided to celebrate my birthday (this year was a major milestone!) quietly but in style, at the lovely Parador de Aiguablava, on our way from the Pyrenees and Southern France to Barcelona. We could hardly have chosen a more appropriate and romantic setting to mark this momentous occasion! Our two-day stay in this lovely sea-side parador — a veritable haven, perched on a spur overlooking the Mediterranean, pink granite cliffs, lush vegetation and a small cove with a white sandy beach and multicoloured, turquoise-to-emerald water — was a dream come true. Our large room, with ceiling-to-floor windows and a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean, was peaceful and beautiful, and the food, a real delight. We wish we could go to the Parador de Aiguablava more often!

Room Tip: We loved our sea-side room (and would choose that side again!), but others may prefer rooms that ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I remembered the Parador at Aiguablava from trips to the beach opposite in the mid-70s and always wanted to stay there. I was not disappointed in any way. It retains much of the 70s style, whilst having been brought up to current standards.

The room was large and comfortable, with a balcony with stunning views of the Costa Brava facing Fornells. I believe from the location of the hotel all rooms should have sea views, but do check this in advance.

We had half-board, so ate dinner according to the daily menu in the main restaurant (the sea side Mar y Vent (?) was not yet open for the summer season) which provided choice of starters, main course and deserts. All was delicious and fresh produce. Breakfast was also a large buffet with some information on food intolerances such as "gluten-free" and nice coffee.

I would recommend this hotel with half board to all.

Room Tip: See comment above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#4 Family Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Aiguablava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.