We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable for the beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Aiguablava to your Saves list
Parador de Aiguablava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Memorable for the beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times for conferences and have even made excuses to head back here just for a day trip while staying in Barca.

There's something hypnotic for me in the location, I stayed off season and it was so quiet and pretty, I just sit and watch the waves. One night there was a thunder storm and I sat on my balcony watching it light up the sea and cliffs below, a memory I'll never forget.

As for the hotel, perfectly clean, very nice sized room, it's near a restaurant on the bay, although facilities in the hotel are perfectly adequate, had a lot of very fresh fish.

I've stayed off season so obviously it's much quieter than normal, but the view won't change no matter how many people are looking at it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    133
    44
    18
    4
See reviews for
63
261
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The travel guide said go for the view, but the sound of waves crashing into the rocky cliffside made for my best night's sleep in Spain. The room had all the amenities, the hotel staff were helpful, even letting me use their computer when the internet was out. We were there off season so the price was considerably less than advertised. The lobby and public spaces were too large for my taste, and there were few people so it felt a little weird, but the view, the music of the ocean...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location close to begur. Realty Nice trip getting there. In The hotel you get beautiful views, very Nice 70-80's design. But..... Horrible food and far too expensive. and most important, resulting in a food poisoning. So go for a drink and go....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grossostheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Keep returning to this place despite some issues it certainly has. However, the location is unbeatable, on a rock in the sea. Access and parking is troublefree, internet works throughout the hotel without the need to logon in any funny way - perfect!

The staff is usually very friendly, you may find some exceptions, but that is maybe because of language difficulties.

The rooms are a bit dated but clean and kept in good condition. One of the "issues" is noise insulation, to hear the sea is fine, but to hear literally everything from the next room can be painful if you have noisy neighbours. The beds are comfortable, although I would prefer duvets instead of this sheet that covers a woolen blanke....but it is tradition in Spain, I know. The rooms are heated in the winter and the temperature throughout the hotel is comfortable.

All rooms have a small, but nice balcony, you can either have the side with sunrise or sunset view, could not figure out which one I prefer, bot sides of the building are somehow nice.

There is a private path to the beach, on this beach the hotel also operates an additional restaurant which has a very nice location. Unfortunately it is closed most of the time, only opens in high season. The best place for eating lunch is the nearby beach village Tamariu.

To have an afternoon drink on the terrace of the Parador de Aiguablava is a nice experience, high above the sea with a really nice view.

All over all I recommend the hotel to improve the noise insulation between rooms and to renovate the bathrooms in the not so far future. I am happy to return to this place again and again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This parador, while impersonal as many paradores are, is rather unique in its setting. Located atop a large hill, it overlooks the Sea and surrounding cliffs in virtually all directions. Very quiet in the off season, it is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery for a few days. It hasn't changed all that much in the 30 years since my first visit, and could do with a bit of refurbishing, but, again, the location makes up for the deficiencies. The rooms are good sized and comfortable and, while we didn't eat at the parador, it appeared to be typical parador fare -- higher priced and less charmingly served than local establishments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Enough has been said in other reviews about the location and views....spectacular.

Reception staff were very friendly and efficient.

Bar food was fine, and the bar staff excellent.

However, dinner was a disaster. The wine was the only really enjoyable aspect of it. Perhaps it was because it was late November, but the Parador at Lorca was so much better a few nights earlier.

The area is beautiful, but we will not be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic position overlooking an azure blue bay. All rooms are comfortable - choose to look out to sea or over the bay. Service and excellent food of the high standard you would expect from a top end Parador. Great for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parador de Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Aiguablava

Address: Platja d'Aiguablava, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Begur
#7 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Parador overlooking the sea surrounded by pine trees, on the "Punta d'es Munts" allows traveller to enjoy the sea and nature by peaceful walks in cliff-hangings gardens and wonderful views over hidden coves. The living rooms are a haven of peace, and the bedrooms present us with marvellous panoramic views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Parador de Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Parador De Aiguablava Hotel Begur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Aiguablava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.