We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place we will always remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aiguablava

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aiguablava to your Saves list
Hotel Aiguablava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Special place we will always remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We usually bob out to the Costa Brava for a short break maybe twice a year. Just 2 hours from Leeds to Girona, and other than being ripped of by Car Hire rogues at Girona, we look forward to every trip and never tire of the Costa Brava, that seems to go under the radar of most people these days.

Despite thinking we had covered most of the coast between Barcelona and Port Bou, we were not aware of this Aguia Blava peninsula until a friend suggested that we should see if we could book into this hotel on our last trip, as he had fond memories of it. He warned us that it wasn't cheap, but 'worth every penny'.

That's exactly what we found. We booked a sea view room for about £180, which was about £50 extra for the 'view' but when we arrived we knew why. I think we were lucky to be allocated room 52 as this was more like a mini suite and definitely worth the money. It was so nice that we asked to stay another night but the room was booked. They offered another room (11 I think) this was a poor second to room 52, so we decided not to take up the offer, and leave after just the one night with fond memories of an excellent time in room 52.

The location is well discussed and is 'special'. I can see why some criticise the service. We had no problems but you could almost detect a touch of complacency.

The breakfast was superb and the outside terrace is lovely.

Room Tip: Room 52 or close by will likely be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed now for 8 years and love it each time. It is like time stands still when you arrive. We may all be a year older but it is just like yesterday and we have never left. Someone described it as AguiaBlava Brain (ABB!!) this year, and that is right. We want to share the experience, but dont want too many people to hear about it so that its charm spoils. Generation after generation go there. We came for 10 days 30th June this year, and are going back for long weekend at end of September - how spoilt are we!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our stay was an incredible surprise. We were unhappy at at previous hotel so got on tripadvisor to find something better. It's not cheap but we wanted to end our vacay on a high-note. The staff was the friendliest most helpful staff ever, beautiful beaches/location, great restaurant. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecartertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is undoubtedly in one of the most beautiful places on this coast, and the local Aigua Blava beach is just stunning. It also has a beautiful pool, brilliant for young children, with pool towels provided for free. However, be warned: this is a tired hotel with a decidedly out-dated attitude to hospitality. Our room, which did have a sea view as requested, was lacking in style and tired in its decor. An uncomfortable bed and poorly functioning air-conditioning didn't help. We were also overlooking the breakfast terrace, and one evening were awoken by very rowdy guests at 1am, who were only asked to be quiet when my husband went down to reception to complain (calling down didn't work - no-one picked up the phone). Guests were generally portly and older, and as another guest commented in their review, there were some rather dour-faced ladies sunbathing at the pool who didn't seem to appreciate children having fun, though there were several families too. We didn't try the restaurant, because quite frankly breakfast was so chain-hotel style that we weren't inspired - and there are wonderful, charming places to try in Begur (I recommend the Aigua Clara restaurant). Breakfast - think queues for the coffee machine in the morning etc. - just very little personal touch. Being asked every morning which room we were staying in when we entered the breakfast room (by the same member of staff!) also removed any personal charm from the experience. The day we arrived (around 4pm) we were told that the sofa bed in our suite would be made up for our children at 8pm. When we got back from dinner at 10.30pm, absolutely exhausted after a day of travel, it had not been made up and we had to wait another 45 minutes for reception to react to our reminder. No apology either. Having had a wonderful tour around Catalonia, staying in absolutely stunning accommodation for half the price, we were disappointed by this hotel and would certainly not return. But if you want the best pool and beach in the area and can excuse the rest, I would recommend the hotel just for these features.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and make sure you aren't overlooking the breakfast terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SalvadorMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

It is seven years since we stayed at the Aigua Blava. It was always our favourite hotel in Spain but,I don't know why but it seemed even better now. We had a lovely traditional room with terrace overlooking the sea. The hotel is immaculately clean and has a lovely fresh smell about it.
We were on half board and were pleasantly surprised with the dinner menu. Excellent value and superbly cooked food. The best veal in whisky sauce I have ever eaten - still dreaming about it!
Second night we had crepes suzettes cooked at the table by Antonio. Pure theatre and a fabulous pudding. Will have to walk a few miles to walk off the calories but thoroughly worth it.
The staff at the Aigua Blava are superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff and waiters Luis and Antonio were fantastic, making us feel so relaxed and welcome.
As I said it is seven years since we last stayed here but we were so impressed with our stay that we have booked to come back in September, and until then can daydream about having our lovely breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the sea!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyJan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While walking the coastal path, we called in to this 4* hotel, on spec, for a drink. We found ourselves seated with our beers on a terrace with a marvellous view over Fornells and Aiugablava cove. The staff and the atmosphere were so pleasant and relaxed, and the lunch menu so enticing, our planned short 1/2-hour stop for a couple of beers actually extended to a three course lunch and over 2 hours.

Lunch was excellent both in quality and value, and even though you wouldn't say we were tidily dressed, the staff were friendly and welcoming.

4* hotels in Britain, take note!



Bri

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel! The grounds are very well kept and they have excellent amenities. Although I don’t recommend the beaches near the hotel as they are very rocky, the views from the hotel are amazing! My husband I stayed there on our wedding anniversary this past year and this will definitely remain a lovely memory. It’ll be hard for him to top this one on our next anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barcelona79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Begur
0.4 mi away
Parador de Aiguablava
1.2 mi away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sa Calma Hotel
Sa Calma Hotel
#2 of 14 in Begur
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
10.4 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aiguablava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiguablava

Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Begur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aiguablava 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel with amazing sea views, located in one of the best beaches of the Costa Brava, Aiguablava, in Begur. Surrounded by beaches with crystal clear water and golden sand, and beautiful towns like Pals or Tamariu, the hotel offers its guests a charm that is hard to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aiguablava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aiguablava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing