We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aigua Blava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aigua Blava to your Saves list
Hotel Aigua Blava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed now for 8 years and love it each time. It is like time stands still when you arrive. We may all be a year older but it is just like yesterday and we have never left. Someone described it as AguiaBlava Brain (ABB!!) this year, and that is right. We want to share the experience, but dont want too many people to hear about it so that its charm spoils. Generation after generation go there. We came for 10 days 30th June this year, and are going back for long weekend at end of September - how spoilt are we!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    49
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our stay was an incredible surprise. We were unhappy at at previous hotel so got on tripadvisor to find something better. It's not cheap but we wanted to end our vacay on a high-note. The staff was the friendliest most helpful staff ever, beautiful beaches/location, great restaurant. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel is undoubtedly in one of the most beautiful places on this coast, and the local Aigua Blava beach is just stunning. It also has a beautiful pool, brilliant for young children, with pool towels provided for free. However, be warned: this is a tired hotel with a decidedly out-dated attitude to hospitality. Our room, which did have a sea view as requested, was lacking in style and tired in its decor. An uncomfortable bed and poorly functioning air-conditioning didn't help. We were also overlooking the breakfast terrace, and one evening were awoken by very rowdy guests at 1am, who were only asked to be quiet when my husband went down to reception to complain (calling down didn't work - no-one picked up the phone). Guests were generally portly and older, and as another guest commented in their review, there were some rather dour-faced ladies sunbathing at the pool who didn't seem to appreciate children having fun, though there were several families too. We didn't try the restaurant, because quite frankly breakfast was so chain-hotel style that we weren't inspired - and there are wonderful, charming places to try in Begur (I recommend the Aigua Clara restaurant). Breakfast - think queues for the coffee machine in the morning etc. - just very little personal touch. Being asked every morning which room we were staying in when we entered the breakfast room (by the same member of staff!) also removed any personal charm from the experience. The day we arrived (around 4pm) we were told that the sofa bed in our suite would be made up for our children at 8pm. When we got back from dinner at 10.30pm, absolutely exhausted after a day of travel, it had not been made up and we had to wait another 45 minutes for reception to react to our reminder. No apology either. Having had a wonderful tour around Catalonia, staying in absolutely stunning accommodation for half the price, we were disappointed by this hotel and would certainly not return. But if you want the best pool and beach in the area and can excuse the rest, I would recommend the hotel just for these features.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and make sure you aren't overlooking the breakfast terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

It is seven years since we stayed at the Aigua Blava. It was always our favourite hotel in Spain but,I don't know why but it seemed even better now. We had a lovely traditional room with terrace overlooking the sea. The hotel is immaculately clean and has a lovely fresh smell about it.
We were on half board and were pleasantly surprised with the dinner menu. Excellent value and superbly cooked food. The best veal in whisky sauce I have ever eaten - still dreaming about it!
Second night we had crepes suzettes cooked at the table by Antonio. Pure theatre and a fabulous pudding. Will have to walk a few miles to walk off the calories but thoroughly worth it.
The staff at the Aigua Blava are superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff and waiters Luis and Antonio were fantastic, making us feel so relaxed and welcome.
As I said it is seven years since we last stayed here but we were so impressed with our stay that we have booked to come back in September, and until then can daydream about having our lovely breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the sea!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

While walking the coastal path, we called in to this 4* hotel, on spec, for a drink. We found ourselves seated with our beers on a terrace with a marvellous view over Fornells and Aiugablava cove. The staff and the atmosphere were so pleasant and relaxed, and the lunch menu so enticing, our planned short 1/2-hour stop for a couple of beers actually extended to a three course lunch and over 2 hours.

Lunch was excellent both in quality and value, and even though you wouldn't say we were tidily dressed, the staff were friendly and welcoming.

4* hotels in Britain, take note!



Bri

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is such a beautiful hotel! The grounds are very well kept and they have excellent amenities. Although I don’t recommend the beaches near the hotel as they are very rocky, the views from the hotel are amazing! My husband I stayed there on our wedding anniversary this past year and this will definitely remain a lovely memory. It’ll be hard for him to top this one on our next anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin Jersey Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good spacious room and bathroom with adequate linen. Clean. Good and bad things about this hotel. Some of the staff very charming and helpful others were positively terrible, especially the more senior ones. Good location but very cramped around pool. Internet appalling. Do NOT order a picnic - expensive for rubbish contents.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aigua Blava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aigua Blava

Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aigua Blava 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star family hotel, runned by the 4th generation from the same family, on the edge of the small bay of Fornells, where we take thre greatest care of all the details so that our guests' stay is a unique experience. Come and enjoy yourselves...Don't wait to be told about it by others...We are not the best we are just different. More than a Hotel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Aigua Blava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aigua Blava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aigua Blava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.