We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aigua Blava

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aigua Blava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Aigua Blava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Begur
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Secret Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is exceptional. The staff are second to none the food is amazing and the accommodation is superb. The views to die for. My parents stayed here for their honeymoon 43 years and it's still as good as it's ever been. I love Chez Henri, the pool but my favourite thing is sitting on the terrace and watching the world go by in and out of the bay, from fishing boats to 50ft yachts. Worth a visit but please treat it with care as it's worth looking after.

Room Tip: The views are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    39
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
36
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A wonderful spot on the Costa Brava. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with all of my questions and particularly when one member of the party had to leave quickly to respond to an emergency at home. I loved the breakfast although preferred the lattes from the waiter rather than the machine. Dinner was OK. Very accessible to walking trails and beaches. Many guests were from England.

Room Tip: The rooms looking over the ocean in the main building are spectacular especially during a full moon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've have been fortunate enough to be coming to this hotel for over 30 years and it is Costa Brava's best kept secret! I can't say enough good things about the hotel, location, staff and atmosphere - at the same time I don't want too many people to know about this place as it's very, very special just the way it is. Thank you for some very fond memories AB!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in early May on a half board basis with friends for a short golfing break. We had not been here since 2010 and the welcome and service were as good as ever. Food was even better and nothing could be too much for the staff. Special mention for Luis who just keeps on going looking after everyone. Breakfast on the terrace was a bonus but having to carry coffee and tea to the table irritates me.
Our bedroom had a balcony overlooking the main hotel , gardens and cliff walk and was spacious and always clean.
Aigua Blava is a great family hotel with a large swimming pool.
A cracking hotel to which we will be going back.

Room Tip: Choose a bedroom with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is around 10 years since we last visited AB and the standards have remained as high as ever.

A high quality hotel, set in delightful gardens with excellent pool, very comfortable rooms, with stunning views, and most important, top level friendly service, lead in the restaurants by Luis, top man!

With very interesting menus, and a good sensibly price wine list, who could ask for more!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've been visiting Aigua Blava since the early 1960s. Needless to say we love it! This is a very special hotel with a unique location; the service is unsurpassed and we visit whenever we can. The pool is gorgeous and you can swim in the sea so easily too, either off the tiny beach just beneath the hotel or off the "slab" - where you can dive into deep water safely. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and the views stunning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommy rasmussen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

we stayed here in april 10 days - to be honest we were not quite sure what to expect - but starting the decent from the main road gave us hope - what a breathtaking view.
- arriving at the hotel told us this would be a vacation to remember - getting the room - top floor with the most amazing view added even more good karma.
amazing place - friendly staff and overall just great.
*****

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aigua Blava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aigua Blava

Also Known As:
Aigua Blava
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aigua Blava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#3 Family Hotel in Begur
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aigua Blava 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star family hotel, runned by the 4th generation from the same family, on the edge of the small bay of Fornells, where we take thre greatest care of all the details so that our guests' stay is a unique experience. Come and enjoy yourselves...Don't wait to be told about it by others...We are not the best we are just different. More than a Hotel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Aigua Blava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aigua Blava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.