We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aigua Blava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aigua Blava to your Saves list
Hotel Aigua Blava
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for my 40th birthday and had a wonderful time. My husband emailed ahead and said it was a celebration, and we found we were upgraded and presented with a bottle of champers in the room on arrival. What a way to start our weekend, drinking champagne overlooking the beautiful bay.
Loved everything about it. The breakfast is fab, food in the restaurant lovely. Ok so the clientelle was a little older and stuffy when we stayed, but that didn't bother us. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Rooms very nice.
Thanks for making my 40th weekend so special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    51
    26
    12
    3
See reviews for
57
130
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Very good but food was poor . The pool was lovely but was sometimes quite sandy . The ping pings tables we not the best mostly because the net was broken also because the pings he bats we in horrible condition some better than others . I would recomend eating in the dinning room the because the service was better and more friendly .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We didn´t stay at the hotel we just ate one night on the lovely terrace overlooking the cove. It´s a perfect location and apparently 4* hotel. We had no reservation for dinner and were told that the snack menu was available, which seemed ok. The caesar salad was the worst i´ve ever eaten and 12euro ¨shocking¨ im thinking of sending the chef my own recipe. The service was very poor, young unexperienced staff and a head waiter who spoke Spanish only to my Catalan husband ! not good !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel is set in a beautiful location. The views on the terrace at breakfast were amazing. I felt like I was in a Miss Marple book, there is something oldy worldy about it and although there are down sides to the hotel you can't get away from the fact that the quirkiness of the hotel layout and the lovely grounds make you overlook many other things. Our family were staying in Begur and we knew that this hotel was a bit out of the town however although it's only 3km the hotel is down a very bendy and steep road which takes longer to negotiate. We had a car but to get into town at night for dinner we took a taxi so we could have a drink however taxis are expensive - 16 euros each way. We caught the beach bus a couple of times which takes you from the hotel into begur for 1 euro however there are only a few buses a day and the last one into begur is at 1845 so we still had to get a taxi back. The staff were very helpful and organised the taxis including when we phoned them from town when we wanted to come back to the hotel. The parking at the hotel is a nighmare - the carpark has limited space and is very tight. People park on the road around the hotel however given the way the roads are I would be worried about leaving a hire car there incase someone bumped it. The pool is a sea water one and a good size although the space around it for sun loungers is limited and there are not may of them so was a bit of a drama trying to get one each day although there is a very helpful pool attendant who would go around and ask people if they were using them and try to get one for you. The pool bar does drinks only. The restaurant does a snack and a la carte menu but is pricey. Room service was good for a snack but again is expensive. I assume there are rooms that are better than others but not sure where they are as layout of hotel is unusual. The balcony from our room was small but we did have a sea view. It sounded like there were many families who are regulars at this hotel and were treated a bit differently because of it - breakfast is all self service including coffee and is very good - however on more than one occasion I saw families who were clearly known to the hotel being brought coffee and croissants to their table while we all had to get our own! Not that we were paricularly bothered but I noticed it and remembered other reviews mentioned this also. The staff were ok - reception staff were helpful and cheery however the restaurant staff were not overly friendly but still polite. The younger staff who served behind the bar and carried baggage etc were helpful and efficient. Everyone is very smartly dressed in uniforms and there are many of them dashing (literally) all over the place. The hotel is clean too - rooms serviced every day and the staff were very pleasant. There are activities for children; apart from the pool and beach there is a tennis court, a playground area, a badminton court and table tennis. Overall there are things that could be better for the price of the hotel but the setting, the building and grounds do tend to make the negatives slightly less annoying.......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Aiguablava is a truly stunning bay and the hotel has the best views of it and is walking distance to several tiny but pristine beaches. The apartments in this hotel are very noisy and need a refurbishment. Tiniest bathroom I have every seem in my travels - but it functioned well. We could hear every word said from apartment next door through interconnecting door which was not sound proofed. Also lots of noises coming from above. A nice location but hotel needs work. Price of food and drink was outrageous. But Spain generally was expensive and quality poor compared with rest of Europe. Staff were very friendly but need to speak more english.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Having spent two weeks here 5 years ago, we returned for lunch and were frankly appalled by the poor quality. My Caesar Salad bore no resemblance to the original and was made with chicken scraps covered in greasy gel. The kids ate pasta in something akin to tomato soup. ugh!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

It doesn't come cheap, but its well worth every penny. The service is better the excellent, it feels that nothing has happened in the hotel and its ways in 30 something years - and I mean this in a very good way.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aigua Blava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aigua Blava

Address: Platja de Fornells s/n, 17255 Begur, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Begur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Begur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aigua Blava 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star family hotel, runned by the 4th generation from the same family, on the edge of the small bay of Fornells, where we take thre greatest care of all the details so that our guests' stay is a unique experience. Come and enjoy yourselves...Don't wait to be told about it by others...We are not the best we are just different. More than a Hotel... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aigua Blava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigua Blava Begur
Aigua Blava Hotel
Hotel Aigua Blava Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aigua Blava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.