We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Begur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Classic Begur Hotel to your Saves list
Classic Begur Hotel
Pi I Rallo 3, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here during off season (in February). The hotel was an easy walk from the bus stop. The employees were very helpful. We read previous reviews of this hotel, so we knew we would be able to get beach towels from them (which we did with no problem). Also, we had to leave early the following morning before breakfast, so they brought up a tray to our room the night before so we could have something to eat before we left. There was a heated towel rack in the (very big) bathroom and we each had a robe and slippers to wear down to the spa. The bed might have been one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on. Breakfast was fabulous. LOTS of foods to choose from.

The only reason I docked a star is because of the spa hot tub in the basement. When we walked in, we were in awe, however the water was actually really cool and we didn't end up staying in it for very long because of that. Also, there were a lot of stairs to get to our room. They may have an elevator for those who need it, but we didn't look for it.

Overall, I am surprised this hotel isn't rated higher. I will definitely stay there again if I ever get the opportunity to return to Begur.

Room Tip: All rooms numbers reflect the year that the room was decorated in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed our three night stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. Breakfast was delicious and varied. We were a little disappointed with the balcony- the wall surrounding it was high and we couldn't see a thing! Great location steps from the town square. I also appreciated the Nespresso coffee maker. I brought my own pods- there's a one euro charge for the pods.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Set in the beautiful narrow streets of Begur this unique hotel leads right onto the square, where you can eat, drink or simply sit and watch the locals. Hotel classic is in the ideal location, with parking just metres away and loads of restuarant to satisfy any cuisine craving you may have.The hotel staff are very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are very clean and everything you need for the perfect stay is right there for you, with a fully stocked mini bar, at affordable prices.The rooms over look the town of Begur and offer a relaxing balcony to sit and enjoy a few rays and a nice cool beverage.The breakfast was very fresh and a great range to choose from. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you hotel classic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

great little place. they seemed so happy we liked our room. so so helpful - ran our bags up the steps before we could even check in. told us about all the beaches around (and what to avoid).

the room was so tastefully done. and our balcony was AMAZING. wonderful kickoff to our vacation. highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

After unsuccessfully trying many hotels at the last minute in August, Hotel Classic kindly obliged. I wasn't expecting much of my 10th attempt, but was pleasantly surprised. A great location in the middle of old town Begur; great rooms and overall great find. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent Hotel in a vibrant, yet quiet part of Begur. Excellent service and wonderful breakfasts. Even loaned beach towels! Very tasteful and great to have air con - even though, as always, a little noisy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the juke box (old and not working) - lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a week in Begur staying at the Classic Begur. The accommodation and breakfasts were first rate as were the very friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend the Classic Begur. Three of us stayed in the 2010 room which was the former music room. We had lots of space and being one of the inner rooms we had no issue with the church bell apart from one night when we slept with the terrace area doors open rather than using the aircon.

Begur is also a great location from which to explore this beautiful part of the Costa Brava with both historic towns and some gorgeous beaches within easy reach especially Sa Riera (which you can access by bus for only €1 - much cheaper than the car parking) and the naturist beach at Illa Roja. Agree with the comments regards access and parking but really only an issue when you first arrive if Begur is new to you. Even in August, coming back into town when it was at is busiest in the early evening, we generally found a space with ease along Cami del Mar or up around the castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Classic Begur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Begur Hotel

Address: Pi I Rallo 3, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family hotel in the pedestrian center of Begur in a house indiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Classic Begur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Begur Hotel Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Begur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.