We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sa Calma Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sa Calma Hotel
C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Begur
essie2109
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at this hotel and we love it.We always stay in one of the terrace rooms they are a reasonable size but the terrace makes up for any lack of space in the room.We always pre-book parking as they only have 4 spaces it is 12 euros a day but worth it for the convenience.We have now sussed breakfast and can order eggs cheese hams toast etc.Virginia on reception is excellent and really makes you feel welcome.Begur itself is fantastic loads of bars which are reasonably priced and plenty of restaurants and this hotel is a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this is one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in , very stylish and certainly superb value for money. the staff couldnt be more helpful, and even accompanied us on a short sight seeing trip on their day off....(it was low season). cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: there is limited car parking space ...best to book a space at same time as booking the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a stylish hotel best described as eclectic. Rooms, bathrooms and fittings are very individial and nothing is ordinary, and at times it seems quite random. Our daughter's room had a build in bath made from mosaic tiles, whereas we had a plastic jacussi. Some of this was style over substance and it was not always the most pratical, for example we had a modern four poster bed and our daughter had a circular shroud over hers.

The lounge areas are very comfortable, with one part looking like a library. We enjoyed the full sixe backgammon and chess tables.

Breakfast was a bit linited in range but very high quality. Fresh fruit, fresh toast, and omellette cooked to order and excellent coffee.

The owner and his wife were very good and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be different
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights- arriving on a Friday evening. This staff who welcomed us was not very friendly & didn't make us feel welcomed. Thereafter service (different staff) was okay/better. Our room had pink wallpaper (on one side) & pink curtains which was a tad bit distracting o the eye. Worst let down was the lack of wifi in the room. Especially for a 4 star hotel. Only wireless Internet available was in the library area & that too, the signal was poor. Spa was best part of our stay. Breakfast was okay although our orange juice on 2nd day was watered down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent just one night at Sa Calma, but we absolutely loved it. The room was excellent, with an awesome private terrace that looked out towards the Castle of Begur, and the bathroom was brilliant too. The rooftop terrace of the hotel is a great place to sit and absorb the atmosphere of Begur but within the peaceful setting of the hotel, and each member of staff we met were very friendly. The breakfast served was lovely, and we got to enjoy the spa facilities which you can book to have to yourselves.

Be sure to book yourself a parking space if you need one as it can be tricky to park elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel personifies opulence in a tranquil environment even though it is located right in the centre of Begur with all its amenities. The staff were excellent and a special thank-you to Virginia on reception who was so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. Our hotel room was excellent as was the breakfast and the hotel facilities provided a great chill-out experience, from the plunge pool and sun bathing area on the roof terrace, to the Spa in the basement.

Begur or as I call it, ‘Beautiful Begur’ is a must see destination. The town itself is so picturesque, very friendly and a great base to explore the region.

We have stayed in other top rated hotels in Begur but none can match Hotel Sa Calma. This is where we will definitely stay again when we return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel is located seconds from the centre of Begur, with every restaurant you could wish for. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was wonderful. I would go back and I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava
Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa Calma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.