We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sa Calma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sa Calma Hotel to your Saves list
Sa Calma Hotel
C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Begur
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This a stylish hotel best described as eclectic. Rooms, bathrooms and fittings are very individial and nothing is ordinary, and at times it seems quite random. Our daughter's room had a build in bath made from mosaic tiles, whereas we had a plastic jacussi. Some of this was style over substance and it was not always the most pratical, for example we had a modern four poster bed and our daughter had a circular shroud over hers.

The lounge areas are very comfortable, with one part looking like a library. We enjoyed the full sixe backgammon and chess tables.

Breakfast was a bit linited in range but very high quality. Fresh fruit, fresh toast, and omellette cooked to order and excellent coffee.

The owner and his wife were very good and helpful hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be different
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights- arriving on a Friday evening. This staff who welcomed us was not very friendly & didn't make us feel welcomed. Thereafter service (different staff) was okay/better. Our room had pink wallpaper (on one side) & pink curtains which was a tad bit distracting o the eye. Worst let down was the lack of wifi in the room. Especially for a 4 star hotel. Only wireless Internet available was in the library area & that too, the signal was poor. Spa was best part of our stay. Breakfast was okay although our orange juice on 2nd day was watered down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent just one night at Sa Calma, but we absolutely loved it. The room was excellent, with an awesome private terrace that looked out towards the Castle of Begur, and the bathroom was brilliant too. The rooftop terrace of the hotel is a great place to sit and absorb the atmosphere of Begur but within the peaceful setting of the hotel, and each member of staff we met were very friendly. The breakfast served was lovely, and we got to enjoy the spa facilities which you can book to have to yourselves.

Be sure to book yourself a parking space if you need one as it can be tricky to park elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel personifies opulence in a tranquil environment even though it is located right in the centre of Begur with all its amenities. The staff were excellent and a special thank-you to Virginia on reception who was so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. Our hotel room was excellent as was the breakfast and the hotel facilities provided a great chill-out experience, from the plunge pool and sun bathing area on the roof terrace, to the Spa in the basement.

Begur or as I call it, ‘Beautiful Begur’ is a must see destination. The town itself is so picturesque, very friendly and a great base to explore the region.

We have stayed in other top rated hotels in Begur but none can match Hotel Sa Calma. This is where we will definitely stay again when we return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hotel is located seconds from the centre of Begur, with every restaurant you could wish for. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was wonderful. I would go back and I would recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here.. Drove into the heart of begur , climbing the hill gently to the mid point where signs take you to Sa Calma, tucked behind the main square and church of the beautiful town of begur. First things first.. Was greeted with the warmest welcome from Virginia who took me to my room, ses negres (all names) which had a terrace looking over the street and the perfect view of the fortress. Room was adequate in size, tastefully decorated, good comfortable bed, and a lovely bathroom.

Hotel has roof terrace and upstairs small restaurant, with cute sun lounger and plunge pool to cool off.

Ultimately though you're paying for the location. 2 mins stroll around the corner to all the best bars and restaurants of the town, without any of the hustle and bustle.

Weather was mixed during my stay, so didn't have the opportunity for sunbathing but during a thunderstorm and downpour last night , the place had such a gorgeous sense of calm and serenity to it, I could really understand why Sa Calma has such a great reputation in this town.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations! We were looking for a romantic hotel for our 10 year anniversary and stumbled upon this hotel. The hotel is beautiful inside and is located in an awesome small village which is lively and yet sleepy enough to get rest. The rooms are tastefully decorated and even the small room is perfect. The breakfast was amazing, I still dream about it. It is not an American breakfast, but rather European with great Spanish meats, cheeses and breads. The people who work there are very nice and helpful. This place is truly a perfect getaway! I suggest going here if you need a break from the fast paced life. Lastly, the beaches are under a 10 minute drive and I am guessing during high season there are buses that take you down. Sa Riera is the least rocky of the beaches; most beaches there are rocky.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you can spring for the high end rooms with a balcony, gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sa Calma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Calma Hotel

Address: C/ Sant Miguel, 1, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sa Calma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Calma Hotel Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sa Calma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.