We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Begur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant
Save
You added Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant to your Saves list
Carretera de Cap Sa Sal S/N Apartado 23 | Aiguafreda, 17255 Begur, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Begur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Inverell
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A let down!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We changed our plans to stay extra days on the Costa Brava coastline and booked two nights here which were a real let down. The staff are friendly and helpful, our room was nice enough but you could hear everything in the room above, and the food was average. As we walked there and did not have our own transport, we were at the mercy of the hotel when it came to food. Prices are not worth what you get. On our second (and last night) there, we both could not eat our meals

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor so you don't hear toilet sounds, walking around etc. Take some food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

One of the most beautiful spots in Spain
tarnished by grubby service and outrageous prices. Sure, laid back is ok, but these guys are horizontal. Have some pride please. They were slow, got the order wrong and served over priced and underwhelming food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice boutique hotel with not too many rooms and therefore a very peaceful location for a relaxed weekend away. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms and terrace offer stunning sea views, there is a spectacular swimming pool nearby and the restaurant provides amazing food options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I can't comment on the food here, as we only stayed for a cocktail on the way to an evening meal elsewhere. The lounge is at the end of the cliff path near Aiguablava bay up some steep steps - I would advise that anyone who knows that they will be staying after dark should bring a torch with them, since there are a lot of very steep stairs and no lighting along the path. I suspect most diners came by car however, as the bar is also accessible from the road. Stunning cliff top position, chilling out music etc etc. I thought the cocktails (two mojitos) were expensive at 18 euros for the two, but they were quite stong! Seen complaints on here about the service, but the girl who dealt with us was very friendly. The food menu looked good with a couple of dishes that my veggie partner could eat, so this may be an option for those having difficulty in this part of the world! I did not see any of the hotel to comment on this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The view of the hotel is spectacular. The rooms are small but quaint and clean. We rented a car and drove from Spain. The hotel is very hard to find if you don't have a GPS and there are little to no signs but it's certainly worth the drive. The pool is incredible. Resturant is way over priced, and there are no other options. If you have a car, go for a drive and get lost in the little medieval towns. Costa Brava is beautiful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Vintage is perched on the edge of a cliff over-looking the Mediterranean. Prior to booking the hotel we looked other reviews on Trip Advisor and were concerned by some of the comments. Our experience was generally very good - the rooms are simple but beautifully decorated. The bathrooms are small, but more than adequate and toiletries were replenished regularly. The rooms do not have hair driers, irons or kettles, but hot water was available from the bar and it was possible to access hair driers and ironing services through reception. Breakfast was simple, but fresh and tasty and the quality of the food in the restaurant was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming and more than happy to help.

The best bit about this hotel was definitely the views - spectacular!

Room Tip: Room 1, the quietest and with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a long time coming, since we were there last September on our Honeymoon, but better late than never. This charming little hotel is truly the way the coast of Spain should be experienced.....the best views, the best food, understated luxury. The man who operated the hotel (I forget his name) was the most gracious host ever. So accommodating, knowledgable and clearly prouf of his beautiful establishment. We felt at home. If there was ever a place that I want to return twice, it would be this hotel.

We were there at a prime time; the swarm of tourists had already left, leaving the place almost exclusively to ourselves. A walk along the cliffside is highly reccommended. There are so many little beachtowns in the area and the town of Begur is a must see.

The food is phenomenal at the hotel restaurant - I think we had lunch there every day, during the 5 days we stayed there.

If you are on the Costa Brava, and were lucky enough to discover this hotel - BOOK It! You will not regret it.

Room Tip: room #1 has the best view of the ocean
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant

Address: Carretera de Cap Sa Sal S/N Apartado 23 | Aiguafreda, 17255 Begur, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Begur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage Hotel & Lounge Begur is a ten rooms boutique hotel located at the entrance of Cap Sa Sal beneath perfumed pines surrounded by the ​natural beauty of the coast and the hillsides in Begur's fashionable coastline. The hotel is also home to a mediterranean restaurant and cocktail-bar. ​ Vintage features ten charmingly decorated rooms, all with a perfect orientation facing the sea. 8 Rooms have their own private terrace with incomparable views of the Mediterranean. The other 2 rooms are "family" rooms.​ All rooms have a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning/heating, television, and WIFI. Vintage guests enjoy privileged access to the salt water pool and bathing area of Cap Sa Sal as well as Aiguafreda cove a few steps away just under the terraces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Hotel & Lounge - Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.