We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same old same old - but in a good way!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Arc Vell

L'Arc Vell
Placa del Castell, 17113 Peratallada, Spain
+34 972 63 40 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 restaurants in Peratallada
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Nairn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Same old same old - but in a good way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I confess to having some difficulty in making yet another analysis of a venue I have previewed on two previous occasions - but fail to see how how I can simply ignore the qualities of L'Arc Vell! The staff (as ever) are charming, friendly and attentive. The warmth of the welcome to returning clients is enjoyable and appreciated. The venue might best be described as expertly renovated rustic! The menu (though relatively simple in descriptive terms) is varied and well priced. The food is beautifully, though simply, presented - and the subtlety of the flavours a delight. I am sure that my support and admiration for this venue must be boring to some - but my views are sincere and my wife and I WILL return to this venue for as long as their standards are maintained and for as long as we are able! I don't think I can say anything more supportive!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    54
    20
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely internal courtyard surrounding a large tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We didn't realise this restaurant had such a lovely area inside. The food was freshly prepared and flavoursome. My simple grilled vegetable starter was huge with a lovely spicy tomato sauce on the side. The prices are reasonable both for food and wine. The staff were pleasant, you can tell it is a family run venue. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have submitted previous reviews of the L'Arc Vell, and having visited the premises no less than three times in a recent visit to Northern Spain, I can only commend it further! The ambience, staff welcome and level of service is superb. The warmth of welcome of the proprietor and his staff is a joy and the quality of the food (though rustic and relatively basic) is enjoyable and reassuring! A wonderful menu and establishment which I can't recommend enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food in great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although spoilt for choice in Peratallada, L'Arc Vell did not disappoint. Even on a grey rainy day the main dinning room was full of light. Both me and my partner went for the grilled fish kebbab with a side of grilled veggies, which was really delicious, especially combined with a glass of crisp local white wine. The baked octopus that followed wasn't really what we expected and wasn't much to our taste but feel that's more down to a mix of spices which we weren't used to rather than down to quality. My mother had the sardines and those were exquisite. All and all I strongly recommend L'Arc Vell for any passing through the charming village of Peratallada.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Catalan food in a beautiful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived in Peratallada during a fiesta which brought added colour and character to this beautiful small town. We ate dinner in the attractive courtyard of this traditional restaurant, the food was lovely and great value, the service was also great. If you are ever tempted to explore off the beaten track - do so, it's well worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Arc Vell also viewed

Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 

Been to L'Arc Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Arc Vell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.