We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming History in Concord, MA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concord's Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Concord's Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Concord's Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Monument Square, Concord, MA 01742   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Concord
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming History in Concord, MA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent a few days in the Concord-Lexington area and thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Colonial Inn. The restaurants were great and the room clean and comfortable. The best thing about the Inn was its location. All the major Concord attractions (Orchard House, Minuteman Monument, Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Main Street shopping and dining) were in easy walking distance. I quickly found my way around and enjoyed beautiful summer days in this lovely historic area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    44
    18
    33
See reviews for
53
72
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate there twice while in Concord and we really liked it! We ate in the Pub. The menu is nice but a bit limited. The food was fresh! We had a delicious corn bread before dinner. We ordered some special things to our dinner and it took about an extra 15 minutes, thus, be prepared if you want something different to wait. Very kind servers. Very clean, too! Many of the other places in town were very crowded, this one was more spacious so it wasn't so loud. It is a wonderfully Historic place. When you are in town, I would recommend to eat there!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are rolling out a new menu within the next few weeks! Come back again soon to try some Colonial Classic dishes (rumor has it, pot pie is making a comeback!!!!!!!!!!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Colonial Inn is as cute and comfortable as can be. It takes away all your worries with it's charm. Our room was quaint, lovely, clean and the bed was as comfortable as can be. Old world charm which is what Concord, Massachusetts is all about

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We thought that this was going to be a small "Inn", but the place is much bigger than it looks - more like a hotel. It appears to be 3 houses that were attached and then built on the back. That being said, it is nicely decorated throughout. The staff is very personable and efficient. The location right in the "downtown" is great - within walking distance of the Emerson House and the Concord Museum and close to Minuteman Park.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Our guests are typically surprised by our size! In fact, when guest come to dine, we are often asked if we are a hotel!!! We are glad you enjoyed your time in our charming town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked a room for a family member in town to visit. The room was recently updated and was clean and pleasant. It was in a half basement that looked out a sidewalk and street. The common areas were average. The location on Monument Square is excellent for exploring Concord Center and the North Bridge.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your time and accommodations, despite the less than perfect view. If you plan to come back, mention this review and we will be sure your view is more appealing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A visit to Concord seems incomplete without a stop at the Colonial Inn for a meal or a drink - or a stopover for the night. In the fall/winter dine in the venerable Liberty Pub or funky bar with fires blazing. In the spring/summer, dine al fresco on the festive porch adorned with flags and flowers and experience Monument Square. (A more formal restaurant is available as well.) Sunday brunch features a huge buffet. Reservations are mandatory for holidays. While the food is very good, it's the upbeat atmosphere that draws locals year-round. The Colonial Inn is at the heart of Concord life. Staying over at the Inn is a pleasant experience; rooms are nicest (and priciest) in the historic section.

Room Tip: Book a room in the historic section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! We feel the same way about the historic charm of the Inn and glad it appeals to those who visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for a family event and got placed on the "first floor". In this case, otherwise known as the basement. There were 10 other rooms on the floor so we weren't singled out. First, let me say it was a maze to get to our room and in the morning realized we had to go through the wait staff are of the restaurant o get to the lobby. It was just weird. Speaking of weird, there was an unusual smell in the hallway that we couldn't place. And again, in the morning it got brought to light, our rooms surrounded part of the kitchen and the smell was grease and the dishwasher area. We're doing great so far aren't we? Now for the room.....In fairness it was a decent room (still in the basement, but decent). Nice TV, small strange bathroom and shower but workable. Things seemed to be OK until we went to bed. Good thing I love my wife because the bed sank to the middle and as hard as we tried we kept rolling into each other by default not design. Uncomfortable would be an understatement. to make matters worse, we had a serious breach of security in our room. Nothing was taken, the issue was addressed appropriately and we were satisfied with the resolution but still.....
As much as I'd like to recommend this place I simply can not.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are genuinely sorry that you had a less than pleasant experience staying with us, but relieved to know that despite the breech in security, that nothing was taken and you were content with the resolution. Yes, the hotel is quite a maze and while we can't really help with our layout, we can help with the unpleasant smell. The Inn has gone ahead and implemented practices to help with the air flow of this area. Likewise, all the mattresses in our Prescott Wing have now been replaced and again, our apologies for not having this completed by your stay! I hope that you will take the chance and stay again so that we can leave a better taste in your mouth (or smell in your nose) for the next time you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Concord hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Concord's Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concord's Colonial Inn

Address: 48 Monument Square, Concord, MA 01742
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Concord's Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concord's Colonial Inn is a full-service hotel in the heart of the quaint, charming town of Concord, MA. Nestled between historic sites of the North Bridge and Walden Pond, the Inn features 56 hotel rooms, two restaurants, and several small function spaces. The Inn is dedicated to preserving the rich New England history of the area, while providing the highest level of comfort and service to its guests. Concord's Colonial Inn features fully modern amenities, a 24 hour desk, daily housekeeping services and private baths in all of its rooms and suites to accommodate both the business and leisure traveler. The inn features multiple function rooms ideal for corporate meetings, weddings and small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Concord's Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concord`s Colonial Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concord's Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.