We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Concord's Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Concord's Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Concord's Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Monument Square, Concord, MA 01742   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Concord
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Historic Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A visit to Concord seems incomplete without a stop at the Colonial Inn for a meal or a drink - or a stopover for the night. In the fall/winter dine in the venerable Liberty Pub or funky bar with fires blazing. In the spring/summer, dine al fresco on the festive porch adorned with flags and flowers and experience Monument Square. (A more formal restaurant is available as well.) Sunday brunch features a huge buffet. Reservations are mandatory for holidays. While the food is very good, it's the upbeat atmosphere that draws locals year-round. The Colonial Inn is at the heart of Concord life. Staying over at the Inn is a pleasant experience; rooms are nicest (and priciest) in the historic section.

Room Tip: Book a room in the historic section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback! We feel the same way about the historic charm of the Inn and glad it appeals to those who visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    74
    47
    19
    34
See reviews for
60
80
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for a family event and got placed on the "first floor". In this case, otherwise known as the basement. There were 10 other rooms on the floor so we weren't singled out. First, let me say it was a maze to get to our room and in the morning realized we had to go through the wait staff are of the restaurant o get to the lobby. It was just weird. Speaking of weird, there was an unusual smell in the hallway that we couldn't place. And again, in the morning it got brought to light, our rooms surrounded part of the kitchen and the smell was grease and the dishwasher area. We're doing great so far aren't we? Now for the room.....In fairness it was a decent room (still in the basement, but decent). Nice TV, small strange bathroom and shower but workable. Things seemed to be OK until we went to bed. Good thing I love my wife because the bed sank to the middle and as hard as we tried we kept rolling into each other by default not design. Uncomfortable would be an understatement. to make matters worse, we had a serious breach of security in our room. Nothing was taken, the issue was addressed appropriately and we were satisfied with the resolution but still.....
As much as I'd like to recommend this place I simply can not.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel T, Front Office Manager at Concord's Colonial Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are genuinely sorry that you had a less than pleasant experience staying with us, but relieved to know that despite the breech in security, that nothing was taken and you were content with the resolution. Yes, the hotel is quite a maze and while we can't really help with our layout, we can help with the unpleasant smell. The Inn has gone ahead and implemented practices to help with the air flow of this area. Likewise, all the mattresses in our Prescott Wing have now been replaced and again, our apologies for not having this completed by your stay! I hope that you will take the chance and stay again so that we can leave a better taste in your mouth (or smell in your nose) for the next time you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Concord hotels

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We arrived by car and found parking in the back. The building is an amalgam of old and new buildings. We followed the instructions on a sign that directed us to the front desk. We got to the front desk and we were immediately checked in and shown to our room. Our room was upstairs. The curious thing was that we walked one flight of stairs from the front desk and arrived on the third floor where our room was located. But, if we walked out using another set of stairs closer to our room, we actually walked down three flights of stairs! The room was not large, but not small either. We had a queen bed and there was more than enough room for our luggage and the closet was a good size. The view from the window was a view of a street and a church. I tried to use the air conditioner, but I couldn't get it to turn on so I opened the windows. The restroom was small, but there was enough room for our toiletries. The shower was a good size and the shower was very good. We drove away and visited Walden Pond. That was a highlight for us! We returned, parked and went for a walk around Concord. We first walked to a cemetery where we visited Hawthorne's, Alcott's, and Emerson's gravesites! We subsequently walked to a greek pizzeria before going to a local ice cream shop. The residential architecture was impressive. Before returning to the room for the night, we went to the hotel's pub and drank some drafts and had a good conversation with the bartender. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly even though we were facing a busy side street. The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. The food was tasty and the prices were fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section so that you can avoid any problems with slanted floors, and damp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We got a cottage for 2 days. We cared more about the town than the place, but we still need to sleep. Cottage 36 is in the 1st floor and we liked the old style home. However a 7am we were woken up by the family on the upstairs cottage, with their missed behaved child running around, and we can clearly hear their every conversation, to an embarrassing extent.
The day prior we woke up early and in the night drank and wanted some sleep on our last day here. Told the front desk, said they would call them to keep it down, they obviously never did. I didn't knock on their door and told the lady I heard her say what color her Bra is and that the kid needs some real parenting because we were leaving that day.
We liked the cottage, but not worth the price of the old furnishings and lack of comfort, and certainly not Sharing a life with some weird family. There is also this metal tapping sound in the 1st 2 bed room of cottage 36 whenever the water is used. I think that's what it is, irritating to sleep with. Didn't tell the front desk, they wouldn't care anyways.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed 4 nights 4/17/14-4/21/14 over Patriots Day Weekend. Room 204 in the newer part of the Inn. Ate in the Liberty Tavern three times. Here to explore Revolutionary War history in the area and experience the Patriots Day (weekend) reenactments and events that take place annually in Concord and Lexington. We were not disappointed!

The room was clean and well attended. On the small side, but we found that charming for the setting. Loved eating in the casual side of the inn and had fabulous Lobster Rolls. We did not have too much interaction with the staff, but when we did they were friendly.

As noted by others, Parking was an issue, but we always managed to find a spot. We were also there on what I imagine may be the busiest weekend of the year. Of note, there are no elevators, and even though we were on the ground floor, it is really one flight up from the back parking.

This was a perfect location. No finer for downtown Concord.

My only complaint would be that some nights there was a band playing in the bar or some function room, and we could hear it quite loudly in our room. We were glad when they finished playing.

Also, as a tip for those visiting on Patriots day: They start serving lunch in the casual restaurant at 11 - the exact time the parade finishes. We were out front to watch the parade and were seated immediately - along with what seemed like a million people....all at once. This seemed to cause a lot of stress amongst the servers and caused a delay in service. But our server said: "This happens every year." They were turning people away. But by 12:30 - free tables. My advice would be to delay your lunch a bit and you'll be fine!

Hoping to come back east this summer for another stay at this inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for one night because we wanted to visit a historic inn and we used to live in the area. When we checked in we were greeted by two nice ladies at the front desk and were checked in very quickly. One of the ladies even showed us to our room, which was probably good since it is an old building and a little tricky to get around. Our room was very nice, smaller than a typical hotel room but you need to remember this is a historical inn. Rooms in hotels and inns were smaller back in the day. We did not eat at the restaurant here but it did look very nice. Our room had everything we needed, a nice stand up glass shower, perfect lighting in the bathroom and a comfortable bed. I thought the pillows were too firm but my wife loved them. If you are looking for a comfortable historic place to stay we would recommend it here. If you are looking for a very modern newer hotel, you should not be looking at places like this. We think everyone should stay a night at least at one historic hotel in the country so you can get a feel of what it was like years ago to stay at an inn, but with modern upgrades.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This facility was undergoing renovations in their lobby,reception area, and also has no elevator. But our room was modern and quiet. Really liked the hotel and location is central to the lovely town. Nice grab and go weekly breakfast. Wwould return if have the chance.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Concord's Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concord's Colonial Inn

Address: 48 Monument Square, Concord, MA 01742
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Concord's Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concord's Colonial Inn is a full-service hotel in the heart of the quaint, charming town of Concord, MA. Nestled between historic sites of the North Bridge and Walden Pond, the Inn features 56 hotel rooms, two restaurants, and several small function spaces. The Inn is dedicated to preserving the rich New England history of the area, while providing the highest level of comfort and service to its guests. Concord's Colonial Inn features fully modern amenities, a 24 hour desk, daily housekeeping services and private baths in all of its rooms and suites to accommodate both the business and leisure traveler. The inn features multiple function rooms ideal for corporate meetings, weddings and small gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Concord's Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concord`s Colonial Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Concord's Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.