We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Concord
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorne Inn
462 Lexington Road, Concord, MA 01742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Concord B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Charming B+B, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, and fantastic resident animal innkeepers -- Sky the German Shepherd and Hector the tabby cat. Concord is beautiful year round and who can beat hanging out at Walden Pond?!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    20
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
115
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We are repeat visitors to Concord in October... the area is amazingly beautiful to see autumn. We found the Hawthorne Inn to be a comfy place. Marilyn and Gregory, and their pets, made our little girl feel very welcome. For example, having games and toys available, and a highchair at the communal table. Our room had whimsical painting touches and a pull out sofa bed suitable for 1 child. Also they were very helpful to us with directions and suggesting lovely family friendly activities. Such as a nearby farm/ nature center, a children's museum, and the Minute Man National Park. Don't forget about Sky, their dog, who plays frisbee whenever you want!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I have known the innkeepers personally for many years and have always found them to be gracious and welcoming. The personal touch is everywhere and the inn is truly a reflection of their dedication to providing a memorable experience. As Gregory and Marilyn are on the premises their attention to the little things is unusual in this era of cookie cutter hotels and indifferent staff. Breakfast is a communal affair and is often highlighted by interesting conversation with fellow travelers who could be from China Germany or down the block. The rooms are traditional and very comfortable. The location is central to all of the points of interest in Concord and the surrounding sights. All of this is secondary, however, to the true warmth and amity of the owners.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

We have stayed at the Hawthorne Inn for the past three years and it has been nothing but delightful>the rooms are cozy, the breakfast delicious and while our child was at school it was our home away from home! t

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

What a terrific mix of "New England country inn meets way cool." I've stayed at the Hawthorne Inn multiple times with my now 11 year old son, as I have family in Concord who I like to visit. The innkeepers, Gregory and Marilyn, are warm, gracious, friendly , knowledgeable hosts. The breakfasts are tasty and substantial, and the camaraderie among the well-behaved guests (even during rousing political discussions) as they linger over coffee is part of the overall experience. The common rooms are inviting (the Christmas holidays bring much decoration!), and each sleeping room is different. My goal is to stay in them all and I still have a few to go. The decor of each is charming, eclectic, and extremely tasteful. Love the occasional mix of the innkeepers' Asian art collection next to the tatted lace canopies. It works. Overall, the decor is lush, fun, detailed, and each room has a funky, early, New England-y name. Baths have every amenity - I knew I loved the place the first time I stayed there and they actually had adult-sized, FULL bottles of shampoo and body wash in the bathroom. The giant collection of salft and pepper shakers on the shelves in the dining room is a must-see.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed at the Hawthorne Inn on our wedding night in 2003 and have been coming back every year (at least once) since! The rooms are so special - each is unique and decorated in a wonderful style. The inn keepers are always welcoming - be it with a glass of cold lemonade and fresh biscuits or a cup of warm tea or coffee - and are full of advice on local outings and restaurants. The breakfasts are wonderful and the conversations around the table are fun, interesting and informative. We will be going back again this summer! I can't recommend the Hawthorne Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Hawthorne Inn couldn't have been a more perfect place to stay while visiting the Concord area. We spent a few days in Boston, and then rented a car to travel around the state. Concord is full of wonderful places to see if you're a revolutionary war buff, or literature lover. And at the Hawthorne Inn, you're right in the center of it all – right across the street from Hawthorne's and Alcott's homes. The rooms and food were excellent. I've been meaning to write a review ever since we left Concord. Gregory and Marilyn are everything you could want in a pair of Innkeepers – knowledgeable, friendly, helpful – but most importantly, you can tell they love what they do, and work hard to make sure you have a wonderful Concord experience. I still dream about the wonderful breakfasts we had there last fall. Our only regret is that we live in Minnesota, and therefore can't visit again any time soon. If you have the money, I have no doubt you will love staying here.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn

Address: 462 Lexington Road, Concord, MA 01742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed Elegance. An Intimate Refuge where History, Literature and Artistic whimsy gracefully entwine. Forbes Magazine: “The 10 Best Inns of New England”, Boston Magazine: “Best of Boston”. Featured in Select Registry, Elegant Small Hotels, Karen Brown Guides. Vibrant guestrooms offer a gracious welcome for Couples, Business Travelers and Families. Ancient artifacts, modern paintings and sculptures on display. Abundant Breakfast featuring specialties and homemade granola. Near Walden Pond and Authors’ homes. Boston 19 miles/ Cambridge 10. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hawthorne Inn to your Saves list