We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on Practicality – Low on Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Elm Street, Concord, MA 01742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“High on Practicality – Low on Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you’ve made the decision to stay here and you feel like spoiling yourself – then for the extra cash I suggest you check if room 150 is available. It’s simply a great room - large, twice the size of the other rooms, with a separate sitting area and kitchenette. It’s bright, well-lit, comfortable and beats the other rooms by a mile. Otherwise, this is an ordinary, unremarkable BW like so many others – modern, practical, clean but lacking any form of charm, character, elegance or atmosphere.

This Best Western Plus is a 2 level building on 3 sides set round a large but seasonal pool. Apart from the magnificent and enjoyable room 150, there seem to be 3 price ranges for the rooms – queen, king and king deluxe. They all appear to be the same size but differ in the extras provided such as sitting area, microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast was perfectly acceptable and was set out buffet style in a large room strangely located on the second floor. Service was good, the hotel was clean and there were no issues – in fact a Best Western Plus that does what it says on the tin.

Driving downtown and eating later that night at Concord’s Colonial Inn on the main square it struck me that for atmosphere and charm this looked the better bet. Having said that – the price was higher – and that comes back to the fact that, when making a choice, the Best Western delivers probably the better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    107
    36
    9
    3
See reviews for
95
97
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here during Fiddle Hell 2013 (Nov.), as an alternative to the Colonial Inn which was full and more expensive. The hotel is about 2 miles from Concord Center, so one needs a car to get to it. We enjoyed the breakfast which is self service, and adequate. The room itself was pleasant enough, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a good, solid mid-budget hotel stay for me. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was a decent size, very clean, and comfortable. The included breakfast (oddly situated in a second-floor room) offered a pretty good selection, a little short on fresh fruit and yogurt options but perfectly serviceable.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier to reach but subject to headlights from parking cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Arrived early and was nicely accommodated with a room then given fresh chocolate chip cookies. Some hotels will turn you away if early even if they have a room. Clean facility, nice beds and bedding, TV and more. Complimentary hot and nutritious breakfast was a huge plus!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved the location because it was easy to find, yet we could use back roads to get around to tourist destinations and downtown Concord. They let us check-in early, had clean rooms (which is VERY important to me), provided a substantial breakfast, plus snacks at the front desk. Wifi. No indoor pool. A little noise from the person walking around in the room above us and when neighbors used the shower or went outside their room to smoke.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetseeS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Laurene777

Thank you so much for sharing your review with the trip advisor community, I am glad to hear our location worked out so well on your recent visit. We are very proud of our Housekeeping staff, as they work very hard to deliver spotless rooms to every guest. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on other visits to the area in the past and found the handicapped rooms to be OK but not great. This trip we found that major renovations have taken place and the handicapped room was excellent. The doors are wide, the shower is roll in with seat and lots of grab bars, the rails are low in the closet area, the decor is tasteful and the handicapped amenities not clinical looking. Thumbs Up Best Western, Concord.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetseeS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Carol W

I was so happy to read your comments about our newly renovated accessible guest rooms. We worked with a great ADA specialist and architect and it is so gratifying to know how pleased you were. I do realize the lack of an elevator still poses a challenge, and I hope that you took advantage of our breakfast delivery service as an option. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have to admit that an important part of travel for me is the atmosphere, surroundings, and amenities of the lodging, so I was a little disappointed in this (which is a basic motel right on a busy main road). We had tried to book an inn in Concord proper but it was full. I give this one points for comfort and quiet. The room was nothing special but the bed was comfortable. Furnishings a bit on the older side and not a lot of effort in the area of decor. The location of the place is good, easy to get into town and to the historical attractions. However, there is nothing in walking distance. I recommend you bring a road map of the area, as the map they give you is a schematic drawing and is quite hard to follow to get to some of the attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord

Address: 740 Elm Street, Concord, MA 01742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience it all - the excitement of Boston nearby, historic sites, national parks and generous amenities - at this newly renovated Concord, MA hotel.You'll feel right at home at the BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord. Delight in the many amenities provided in each of the spacious, clean rooms, including cable and HBO® on a flat screen television, a coffee maker and free wireless Internet. Wake up after a great night's sleep and dig into a complimentary full breakfast buffet. Just 25 miles from Boston and only 12 miles from Cambridge, guests can easily explore the big city without having to pay for a room that's too pricey. Explore the area with Walden Pond, Old North Bridge, Orchard House, the Concord Museum, Minuteman National Park and Lexington Green all nearby. Retail therapy at Burlington Mall is just minutes away.Those traveling on business are ensured a productive trip with Welches, Tom Tom, Polaroid, Phoenix Controls, Stratus and Monster all located within six miles or less of this Concord, MA hotel. Hanson Air Force Base, FEMA, Tufts University, Boston University and Harvard University are also nearby.The relaxation and excitement continues on the property with our outdoor seasonal pool and fitness center - we're the only hotel in Concord that offers both. Get even more value out of your stay with access to an on-site restaurant and lounge, free parking, guest laundry and fax and photocopying services. We also serve freshly baked cookies each day - a delicious treat to help you unwind after sightseeing or working in the area.Our kind, helpful staff is ready to make your stay this pet friendly Massachusetts hotel a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western At Historic Concord Hotel Concord
Best Western Concord
Concord Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.