We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Elm Street, Concord, MA 01742   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Concord
Lawton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for a night on the way home from our New England trip, we were booked for two nights but went home early and the women at the front desk wouldn't work with us to give us some money off the bill and was kind of rude not very friendly customer service. When we first got to the hotel the cleaning people were still cleaning in the halls so I asked for extra coffee for the room and she looked at me like I was from outer space or something. I finally got some but was afraid to ask for more creamer so I went to the Walgreens down the street. The beds were comfortable and room was clean the main complaint I had and was surprised to see that there was not a small refrigerator in the room. I didn't have anywhere to put my water or leftovers from Papa Razzi which has excellent food right next door.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetseeS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear SusieK52

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed that we were not able to negotiate a lower rate for you, as the fall is peak season in our area .Also I apologize that we were not aware of your needs at our reception desk so that we could supply you with extra coffee, as we would gladly do so. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    96
    29
    9
    2
See reviews for
82
86
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hot springs village
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice quiet location west of Concord. Close to the Lexington-Concord sites. Nice beds and clean rooms. There is no elevator so we asked for and were given a downstairs room. It was a long walk to the office and breakfast room, however, as the hotel is a U-shape and no shortcuts. Staff was pleasant and a there was a nice restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a downstairs room, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetseeS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Marcia U

The title of your review made me smile.......I guess that sums it up! We will be celebrating our 50th year shortly, but the staff works so hard to keep every detail in tiptop condition, and our rooms are continually being renovated. We are proud of the recognition and awards we have received, and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed there the last night of our New England trip before we had to go home from Boston. We absolutely enjoyed the stay. The staff was friendly, the room were clean and offered enough space. Breakfast was good and the hotel is located only five minutes by car to Concord and the tourist attractions there. The hotel is directly on the main highway but if you get a room on the other side you do not recognize it. All in all the hotel is the not the newest anymore but we had a pretty good stay and can absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We checked in for one night to visit Concord and Lexington. Seeing there was more to see than we thought, booked another night. After talking with the excellent front desk staff, we decided to stay 2 more nights and take the subway into Boston. The outside is a little dated but the rooms were very clean and updated. The breakfast is very good and easily a $10 per person value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetseeS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mona R

Thank you for your very complimentary review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much that you extended your stay with us. And as you noted while the property is almost 50 years old, we are continually renovating and updating our rooms. Thanks for the compliments on our breakfast buffet, most of our guests say its among the most extensive they've had. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel staff very accommodating. They were knowledgeable and responsive to my needs. The hotel had a clean appearance. Breakfast had many options. Price was affordable. Would definitely go back when on business in the Concord area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night and was not impressed. For being a Plus I thought it was old and like the other reviewer said a bit smelly. In addition, I was sitting in my room and could smell cigarette smoke coming from either the balcony or another room. The beds were not that great either. I am giving it an average because it’s not like I was expecting a 5 star hotel either – but they could clean it up a bit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I had booked this hotel for a visit to historic Concord. The first negative was the older women at the front desk. She pulled my arm across the desk and showed my bracelet to her 2 helpers, lifting and moving it about explaining that she can make one like this. This was a very uncomfortable first impression.

After this unwelcomed move, we were given a key to a dark dingy smelly room. Yes smelly. We then turned around with our luggage and checked out.

Their was no reason for the room to smell bad and when I went to the desk to complain they did not seem interested or concerned. We drove back out toward the highway (5-10 minutes away) where we found lots of wonderful clean fresh smelling hotels.

I don't like writing a bad review but I also don't like bad smelling hotel rooms! I guess they are more interested in creating jewelry than creating a good hotel visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetseeS, General Manager at BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Wintermoth

I was shocked and dismayed to read your comments, and truly sorry you had this experience at our hotel, where we take great pride in providing exceptional customer service to all our guests.
Please be assured I will be researching this immediately, as it seems so very out of character for our staff.
My deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord

Address: 740 Elm Street, Concord, MA 01742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience it all - the excitement of Boston nearby, historic sites, national parks and generous amenities - at this newly renovated Concord, MA hotel.You'll feel right at home at the BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord. Delight in the many amenities provided in each of the spacious, clean rooms, including cable and HBO® on a flat screen television, a coffee maker and free wireless Internet. Wake up after a great night's sleep and dig into a complimentary full breakfast buffet. Just 25 miles from Boston and only 12 miles from Cambridge, guests can easily explore the big city without having to pay for a room that's too pricey. Explore the area with Walden Pond, Old North Bridge, Orchard House, the Concord Museum, Minuteman National Park and Lexington Green all nearby. Retail therapy at Burlington Mall is just minutes away.Those traveling on business are ensured a productive trip with Welches, Tom Tom, Polaroid, Phoenix Controls, Stratus and Monster all located within six miles or less of this Concord, MA hotel. Hanson Air Force Base, FEMA, Tufts University, Boston University and Harvard University are also nearby.The relaxation and excitement continues on the property with our outdoor seasonal pool and fitness center - we're the only hotel in Concord that offers both. Get even more value out of your stay with access to an on-site restaurant and lounge, free parking, guest laundry and fax and photocopying services. We also serve freshly baked cookies each day - a delicious treat to help you unwind after sightseeing or working in the area.Our kind, helpful staff is ready to make your stay this pet friendly Massachusetts hotel a wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western At Historic Concord Hotel Concord
Best Western Concord
Concord Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN at Historic Concord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.