We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mediocre Thanksgiving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn

The Colonial Inn
48 Monument Sq, Ste 2, Concord, MA 01742-1899
978-369-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Mediocre Thanksgiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were very excited to spend Thanksgiving at the historic Colonial Inn. When we arrived to check in for our reservation, there were guests waiting for tables overflowing into the same area people were trying to serve themselves from the buffet. It was crowded and unorganized to say the least. The tables were so plain, no candles, flowers.. nothing.. kind of lacking the festive spirit of an old inn and the holiday itself. Our waiter was ok, kind of a smartass, but none the less served us our drinks in a timely manner. The buffet was messy, the salads table was a kind of yucky, salad dressing everywhere, stuff looked picked over and runny. The main buffet was fair... again disorganized, food caked all over the utensils, food everywhere. . The squash was soupy, the turkey kind of dry, the paella waaay too salty. The mashed potatoes and lobster bisque were good. They really needed staff stationed as servers to keep the food stocked and the areas cleaned.. It made me feel like I was could have been turned off from eating at any moment,, The desserts were again, just ok. Seemed like things were made too much in advance.. stuff was either melting, or hard.. I should note that I really am not a "foodie" or a picky eater, but at 55 dollars a person, I expected a little more. I am sad to report this.. my expectations were much higher than the quality of the meal..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    85
    43
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Brunch much better than expected but $$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable brunch today at The Colonial Inn. The food was well presented in the buffet rooms, the service was friendly and attentive, and the ambiance was just delightful. I had done a formal tea years ago, and this was far nicer. Really the only downside is the price. The offerings on the buffet may make that worthwhile; there was smoked salmon, shrimp, roast beef; for a vegetarian who doesn't really want to eat "all you can eat" anyway, it is not a value on the food end.
However, it was worth it as a " special treat" and I very much enjoyed the freshly cooked omelet. The maple vinaigrette salad dressing for the field greens salad was out of this world! And the dessert table was full of good things as well, including huge strawberries with whipped cream.
Not the sort of thing to do frequently, but to start off a grand day out in Concord, perhaps with out of town guests, it far exceeded my expectations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in wonderful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Following our visit to Orchard House we were in need of sustenance. We made our way here and we were not disappointed. We had a glorious brunch which was tasty and abundant and great value. It's a really lovely building with a great atmosphere. The decor is great too

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had Sunday brunch with my wife and her family. Food was very good with excellent variety. Service was great for a brunch buffet never had to wait for beverages to be filled or empty plates to be taken away. If you are in the area recommend for brunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Greasy, bland and overpriced. Iced tea was watered down. Fish fry was greasy. French fries were not even comparable to fast food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonial Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.