We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Takeout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Concord Cheese Shop

The Concord Cheese Shop
29 Walden Street, Concord, MA
9783695778
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 46 restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: Eclectic, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Stow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for Takeout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This a great local deli that is great for take-out. The offerings are diverse and sophisticated. If you need to find an esoteric cheese or international goodies, this is the place. I see they have a few tables nestled in among the aisles but it's not a restaurant. Get your food and find a bench or a park for a picnic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    28
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still dreaming about "The French Picnic".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Many friends said to stop here for lunch while in Concord. I was not dissapointed. Excellent sandwich and salad selections. Packaged perfectly for a picnic if that is your desire.

It was very busy that day and didn't spend a lot of time browsing in the shop, but will be back for sure.

I recommend "The French Picnic" sandwich: Baguette, ham, brie, champagne mustard and green apple slices. DELICIOUS!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fun little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is wonderful little place, just off Main Street in Concord that is, like most everything else in Concord, full of quality and atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptionally interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Extraordinarily knowledgeable staff and exceptional range of fare, especially cheese and wine.
Exceptionally friendly, helpful deli staff serving a wide range of delicious fare.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheese served in the European tradition (=tasting it first)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that if you LOVE cheese, you shouldn't buy it without tasting it first. And that is what you get at the Concord Cheese Shop. Their approach is simple: They put the cheese that is "ripe" and "ready to eat" on the counter. You pick a few to taste, and buy the cheeses that you like (and don't waste money on a cheese that you do not like and will not eat). This sampling of cheeses is fun, and is entertainment, too!

This also means this is a 15 minute "stop" when out and about. If you are in a hurry, you won't enjoy it as much. When I visit France, I love to sample as many cheeses as I can. The cheese vendors let you sample the cheeses which is a great custom. There are over 300 varieties, and the CCS has an excellent representation of them.

Late Saturdays the shop is full, you have to take a number, and it could take 30 minutes. This, to me, shows how popular the shop is. Again, you miss out if you just run in to "grab some cheese".

Finally, I always try to buy a different cheese and ask the staff which one they like. Sometimes I don't like it (that is why you taste it first), and other times I am delighted to find a new cheese to take home.

This is a veritable European cheese experience brought by a knowledgeable staff and is really a treat to savor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Concord Cheese Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Concord Cheese Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Concord Cheese Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.