We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 80 Thoreau

80 Thoreau
80 Thoreau Street, Concord, MA 01742
978 318-0008
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
80 Thoreau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Concord
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Thoreau and Sudbury
Transit: Take the Commuter Rail to Concord on the Fitchburg Line. 80 Thoreau is located on the 2nd Floor of the Concord Depot.
Description: 80 Thoreau is a progressive fine dining restaurant set in the beautiful New England town of Concord, sourcing from local farms and offering genuine hospitality.
usa
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in the western suburbs of Boston. Not only is the food very good. the ambience is upbeat, the service is center city quality and the same goes for the bartending.

On a recent visit, our party enjoyed a braised beef entree, an impressively light vegetarian lasagna and a brilliantly prepared pork chop. The restaurant sources from many local, organic farms, the names of which are posted. The menu changes seasonally: not currently available but afavorite last winter was the wild boar papardelle.

Following a rare but amusing mistake on our drinks order (a margarita ended up in a martini glass and vice versa), we were later impressed to find that none of our drink charges appeared on our bill. This restaurant really knows how to cultivate customer loyalty (and they keep good computer records of your patronage)!

The restaurant is on the second floor (there is an elevator) above a row of shops with easy parking nearby. There are three sections. The first section includes the bar (with seating and a bar menu) plus a section of tables. this can be noisy, especially on weekends. The second section includes a few booths adjacent to the open kitchen (our favorite area to dine). The third section includes traditional table settings, including four tables adjacent to a window.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    33
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, ambiance and FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently moved to Lexington, and heard that there was a good place in Concord so we went to check it out.

While a little hard to find at first, the facade is VERY unassuming in the old train depot, we made it inside and were warmly greeting.

The ambiance was a great balance of lively, but not noisy and the food was wonderful !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent suburban option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had an excellent dinner here on a busy Saturday night. The food quality is as good as the top places in Boston, and the service and ambiance are also very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Tasty, Tasting Menu and Informative Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Seated at the Kitchen (like Sibling Rivalry-but no more) to watch the meal preparations, including the four of us was a great treat as well as the tasting menu meal that we enjoyed. You can see the anticipation of the Chief and Servers, explaining each course in methods of preparation and expected tastes to delight the eyes and palates. Very enjoyable way to sample these excellent efforts and worth repeating for special meals with foodie friends. A wine pairing is offered, but the wine list has many worthwhile bottles to sample in any case.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant in Concord with outstanding drinks and wonderfully presented dishes. I ordered a basil/cucumber Hendricks Gin martini, and it was perfectly prepared. Each course was presented with style and each bite was deliciously flavorful. The only minor exception was that I ordered a vegetarian pasta for a main course, and it was a bit undercooked. The pasta was definitely fresh made, however it seemed as though maybe it sat around longer while my husband's dish was prepared, as some bites were a bit too al dente. The meat/fish dishes looked outstanding, however.

Overall, terrific service and cozy atmosphere at 80 Thoreau.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 80 Thoreau also viewed

 

Been to 80 Thoreau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 80 Thoreau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.