We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop for Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helen's Restaurant

Helen's Restaurant
17 Main St, Concord, MA 01742-2514
978-369-9885
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a popular local spot perfect for tourists, too (Concord is a big tourist town). Looks and feels like a hip diner, but the food, esp breakfast, is anything but.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a popular local spot perfect for tourists, too (Concord is a big tourist town). Looks and feels like a hip diner, but the food, esp breakfast, is anything but.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good Stop for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were visiting Minute Man National Historical Park and one of the Rangers recommended we go to Helen's for lunch. There was a lineup to get inside but it moved quickly. The place is bright and bustling. The menu has a surprisingly wide range of selections. The waitress who served us was kind of crabby but it may have been because it was so busy. We put it down to her being a "character". When she threw my straw at me...I wasn't annoyed..I laughed.

The food was good. The creamsicle frappe took my boyfriend back to his youth. I think it made his day. I looked around the restaurant at what others were eating and it all looked great. The prices were very reasonable. I would recommend you stop here if you are in the area. Don't let the lineup discourage you. We were in quite along lineup and we only waited 10 minutes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    69
    24
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sudbury,ma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Local lunch spot, just like the old days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love Helen's. This is a cash only, make their own pies, everything fresh simple sandwich, basic entree and lively little local spot for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No credit cards. No alcohol. The frozen soft yoghurt and ice cream remind you of the old Brighams which was in the sam spot.
There are booths and some bar stools but the decor is light, modern, whimsical and great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OMG it was awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

While visiting Concord, we happened to pass by Helen's and decided to stop in for lunch and what a great lunch we had!!! In fact it was so good that we were sure to return for lunch the next day as well. Our sandwiches were so large we had to take half with us when we left. The deserts looked unbeliveable.A very busy place with the locals and we can see why. The service was excellent and our lunch couldn't have been better. We can't wait to eat at Helen's next time we are lucky enough to visit Concord.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good, casual dining in town center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped at Helen's for lunch and were very satisfied with the pulled pork sandwich and Reubens we ordered. The breakfast, which we were too late to order, looked great. The interior is bright and cheerful with a huge window overlooking the street. The servers are upbeat and friendly. Prices were medium and good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a super homely place, great for brunch, lunch or sandwiches. Good value, and friendly (if slightly slow) service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Helen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.