We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Lovely Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candela y Plata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Candela y Plata to your Saves list
Candela y Plata
Puerto de Bejar | Entrada Al Parking Por Calle Rua, 37720 Bejar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bejar
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Lovely Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were taken to this hotel by mistake, after our camper van broke down, taxi was arranged for us by recovery service, taxi driver got lost, lucky for us as it turned out. Christina and David made us most welcome. David helped us find our camper in a garage repair shop in Bejar, and translated for us, which was a god send, he also drove us to Bejar to collect the Camper, so we stayed an extra night. Hotel was clean,comfortable and welcoming, food excellent all freshly cooked local produce, Rioja wine went down a treat, fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. Candela y Plata is the best hotel we have stayed in Spain. Christina and David could not be more helpful and kind, and once again thank you both so much for all your kindness. Will be back to see you both again, Thanks.
Linda and David King.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRISTINA A, Propietario at Candela y Plata, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are grateful for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to have stayed with us and we would love to see you. Thanks very much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for six days as a part of our two week holiday in Spain, of all the hotels we stayed at this was our favourite. The hotel is situated in a small village outside Bejar. The hotel is wonderfully decorated. Our four year old daughter enjoyed the play room and we the lovely balcony with views of the surrounding mountains and countryside. Christina and David are perfect hosts. Friendly and welcoming. David even went jogging with Torgrim :-) We had breakfast and dinner for three evenings. We regret not having dinner therese for more nights. David is a great chef. Fresh local food. We hope more "foreigners" will discover this part of Spain. It feels more like the "real" Spain and there is so much to see. Thank you again we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an excellent time. The hotel is in a small village outside Bejar. The views of the surrounding countryside are beautiful. The hotel is very chic, the owners have spent a lot of time decorating and adding the extra special touches. It is spotlessly clean, the rooms are well decorated with quality fixtures. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was nice, local pastries, toast, juice, and coffee. All the staff were friendly. We were given some great advice on places to visit. We had a great weekend and would thouroghly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing break in the countryside to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

A smallish restored building in an "off the beaten track" part of Spain which gives you a taste of rural Spain at its best.

With Cristina and David as exceptional hosts anxious to please, you will enjoy good food, good wine and accomodation in a beautiful part of Spain.

Reviews are mostly (and obviously) written in Spanish but we are delighted that we took the time to translate and find this remarkable place. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bejar
4.6 mi away
Hotel Colon Spa
Hotel Colon Spa
#3 of 3 in Bejar
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
17.9 mi away
Abadia de Los Templarios
Abadia de Los Templarios
#1 of 1 in La Alberca
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hospederia Real De Bejar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Villa de Mogarraz
16.3 mi away
Hotel Real de Barco
Hotel Real de Barco
#2 of 6 in El Barco de Avila
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Beletri
Hotel Casa Beletri
#4 of 9 in Bejar
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candela y Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candela y Plata

Address: Puerto de Bejar | Entrada Al Parking Por Calle Rua, 37720 Bejar, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Bejar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bejar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Candela y Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candela y Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.