We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Lovely Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candela y Plata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Candela y Plata to your Saves list
Candela y Plata
Hospital, n 012, 37720 Bejar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bejar
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Lovely Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were taken to this hotel by mistake, after our camper van broke down, taxi was arranged for us by recovery service, taxi driver got lost, lucky for us as it turned out. Christina and David made us most welcome. David helped us find our camper in a garage repair shop in Bejar, and translated for us, which was a god send, he also drove us to Bejar to collect the Camper, so we stayed an extra night. Hotel was clean,comfortable and welcoming, food excellent all freshly cooked local produce, Rioja wine went down a treat, fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. Candela y Plata is the best hotel we have stayed in Spain. Christina and David could not be more helpful and kind, and once again thank you both so much for all your kindness. Will be back to see you both again, Thanks.
Linda and David King.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRISTINA A, Propietario at Candela y Plata, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are grateful for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to have stayed with us and we would love to see you. Thanks very much!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for six days as a part of our two week holiday in Spain, of all the hotels we stayed at this was our favourite. The hotel is situated in a small village outside Bejar. The hotel is wonderfully decorated. Our four year old daughter enjoyed the play room and we the lovely balcony with views of the surrounding mountains and countryside. Christina and David are perfect hosts. Friendly and welcoming. David even went jogging with Torgrim :-) We had breakfast and dinner for three evenings. We regret not having dinner therese for more nights. David is a great chef. Fresh local food. We hope more "foreigners" will discover this part of Spain. It feels more like the "real" Spain and there is so much to see. Thank you again we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an excellent time. The hotel is in a small village outside Bejar. The views of the surrounding countryside are beautiful. The hotel is very chic, the owners have spent a lot of time decorating and adding the extra special touches. It is spotlessly clean, the rooms are well decorated with quality fixtures. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was nice, local pastries, toast, juice, and coffee. All the staff were friendly. We were given some great advice on places to visit. We had a great weekend and would thouroghly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing break in the countryside to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATLOCK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

A smallish restored building in an "off the beaten track" part of Spain which gives you a taste of rural Spain at its best.

With Cristina and David as exceptional hosts anxious to please, you will enjoy good food, good wine and accomodation in a beautiful part of Spain.

Reviews are mostly (and obviously) written in Spanish but we are delighted that we took the time to translate and find this remarkable place. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candela y Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candela y Plata

Address: Hospital, n 012, 37720 Bejar, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Bejar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bejar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candela y Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candela y Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.