We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nabia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nabia to your Saves list
Hotel Nabia
Ctra. Santuario de Chilla s/n, 05480 Candeleda, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Candeleda
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Nabia is gem of a hotel and is well worth the drive if you are looking for peace and relaxation. We stayed for 2 nights in September and there were only 4 other rooms occupied so it felt as if you had the place to yourselves

The road to the hotel although steep is not as bad as you may think when you read "dirt track" and if you take things slowly it is fine.

The house is beautiful, we stayed in room 14 which was up the stairs and had a beautiful view of the mountains and a lovely balcony to sit on. The bed was huge and very comfortable and we also had 2 comfy seats to sit on and enjoy the view if it was to hot outside. The bathroom is well equipped and provides everything that you need including toiletries and a hair drier.

There is an honesty bar in the house and also a fridge by the pool. Prices are good, more expensive than a bar you would find in town but typical of hotel prices.

We ate at the hotel both nights, the food was excellent. We especially enjoyed the tomato salad prepared from tomatoes from the garden. There is a good wine selection at reasonable prices. It was still warm enought to eat our meal outside in the evening which was beautiful. The terrace is well lit with candles and lanterns and is a wonderful setting.

Breakfast is lovely and there is a good selection, cold meat, cheese, fruit, breads, cereals and pastries. Cooked eggs are also avaliable.

We spent a lot of our time under the shade of the trees in the garden reading enjoying the view but we did also take a couple of walks. One down to the small church at the bottom of the valley which has beautiful gardens and one along a goat track to enjoy the beautiful views. If you are wanting to walk further I would suggest that you bring sturdy shoes.

My only suggestions for the hotel would be for the seats on the balconies to have cushions as they were a little uncomfortable after a while and possibly the provision of dressing gowns in the rooms (a completely luxury I know)

The hotel is so peaceful and all you hear Is the sound of goat bells and birds. We left the hotel completely relaxed and very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
104
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 amazing days and nights. Two families with young kids.

Everything was perfect: the beautiful scenery and views, the special rooms, pool, breakfasts and dinners, the owners and service personnel and every other lovely aspect of the place.

We really really hope to come back ASAP.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a beautiful hotel!

We sepnt ten nights at Hotel Nabia in August 2012 and enjoyed it thoroughly.

The setting is fantastic. 800 metres up the side of the montains, with the Sierra de Gredos mountains rising up on one side and the plains beneath you on the other. The views are fantastic, especially on an evening when you can sit out and have dinner watching the sun set over the plains.

The food is fantasic. Great breakfasts, especially the croissants.

We had dinner at the hotel every evening. The menu is not huge, but they do make an effort to rotate the meals included on the menu and the meals that are on there are superb. (Their homemade Tiramisu is the best I have ever tasted!)

Our room was clean, spacious and with very effective and very welcome air conditioning.

The pool area is lovely with a nice mix of sun and shade and a lovely pool which I believe was salt purified rather than chlorine purified.

The owners, Sofia and Inigo were great hosts and made a real effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

It was a long drive from England, but it was well worth it. We will be back again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I've been staying in hotels of all types in Spain for over 30 years and this one is simply the best of all. Why?

1 Location
It's on the side of the southern flanks of the Gredos mountain range with incredible views over the reservoirs, rivers and plains below.

2 Silence
The hotel is 1 kilometre from the nearest road. The nearest road is a cul de sac that only goes to a rural chapel that probably has a pilgrimage once or twice a year. The nearest town is about 6km away. Although there were people in the next room we never heard the slightest noise, not even running water. This is EXTREMELY rare in Spain; I can't remember if I've ever been to such a well soundproofed hotel.

3 Food
The evening meals were excellent and the menu, though limited, changes from day to day. All dishes were excellently prepared and nicely presented. Service is discreet friendly. The wine list is fine and for those who drink less, includes half bottles of red and even one 50 centilitre bottle. The croissants at breakfast were outstanding (and I've lived in France, so I know about croissants!!). The jams were also very good, as was the range of breakfast fare.

4 Rooms
We had a "double superior". The bed was huge and comfortable. The room was large, airy and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was top quality, with both bath and large separate shower. The room had a small private terrace with spectacular views over the mountains.

5 Welcome
The welcome both from Sofia and Iñigo was just perfect; friendly, helpful and never invasive. All the staff appeared happy in their jobs, which, of course, helps create an excellent ambiance.

6 Grounds
The grounds have been beautifully laid out and there are many examples of mediterranean plants and flowers. There are ancient trees providing much needed shade and benches and chairs left in strategic positions for a quiet read, or just a sit. The views are so vast that time passes just looking...and relaxing.

7 Design
A lot of thought has obviously gone into the design and decoration. Rooms are not square or oblong; in the communal areas there are nooks and crannies, an open covered spaces with sofas and amazing views, a fireside area for the winter and books galore. Decoration is unobtrusive but effective; genuine chic.

8 Walking options
You go out of the hotel, turn right, and off you go. There are goat tracks all over the mountain so you can be as strenuous as you like. If you want a quiet picnic in the shade, just 15 minutes from the hotel is a knoll overlooking the plain with a convenient grassy area under a tree. 30 minutes further on is a larger picnic-suitable area, where you can stay all day without seeing a soul and drink in the views and the silence.

9 Birds
If you sit by the swimming pool in spring or summer you can hear a Golden Oriole singing in the next tree; a little further on a nightingale is in full song whilst still further away a Hoopoe provides the bass line. Meanwhile birds of prey and bee-eaters glide overhead. And that's without leaving the grounds!

Conclusion: as you may have guessed, I rather liked this place!! If you're anywhere within driving distance, then come here for a night or two. It really is unique.

By the way, Iñigo speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

As with other reviews, ditto, ditto, ditto. Sofia and Iñigo offer a warm, gracious, thoughtful, and welcoming experience to their guests. A version of Eden -- a dream place that combines the intimacy of an inn with the luxuries and privacy of a 4-5 star hotel, bordering on a regional park teeming with hiking possibilities, goat/sheep herders, and calming mountain and valley vistas. The hosts' tastes are impeccable, offering a beautiful, peaceful, harmonious environment.

We stayed for three evenings, and Sofia and Iñigo offered us menus geared to our tastes and my wife's interest in local organic vegetables (and mine in the jamon Iberico).

There really isn't much to add to the reviews here, other than to offer an enthusiastic many thumbs up, and wish the best of luck to Sofia and Iñigo in this endeavor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night in the Hotel Nabia above the town of Candeleda, Spain, located in the center of the Tietar Valley, a beautiful area with a special micro climate. The 12 rooms look out of large picture windows on a spectacular panorama of the Gredos Mountains, 2,500 meters, while the lounge and dining areas face the valley below. The rooms are well appointed, almost 5 star quality, and what makes everything successful is the superb hospitality of the owners, Iñigo and Sofía, who make one feel incredibly comfortable. Iñigo is also a top quality chef and prepares organic foods with great skill. Prices are reasonable. Breakfasts are included in the Euro 120 price (some rooms are E100) and outstanding. We are returning next week with friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good but we liked the ones beginning with the number 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel is as incredible as described. Seriously, visit it.

Where to begin...
I had had to book this reservation a few weeks in advance due to availability (the hotel is booked far in advance), and when it came down to actually leaving for the weekend, I was tired, cranky, and coming down with a cold. However, this hotel was the perfect antidote.

We arrived at sunset. After a somewhat steep, windy climb in the car where we had started to wonder what we were getting into, we arrived at a beautiful wooden gate that upon opening made me feel that we were entering a vineyard in Napa. It was one of the most wonderful, peaceful, rustic settings we had been to in awhile. Upon checking in, we were taken to a room which had a entire wall of windows overlooking the mountains where the sun just happened to be setting. Yup, one of those places where everything seems to be conspiring to make it absolutely perfect. It was breathtaking.

The room itself (which is really a small standalone two room cabin) was really tastefully decorated and had all the perfect finishing touches. The room consists of primarily a huge bed and two overstuffed arm chairs in front of the wall of windows overlooking a small grassy yard and miles of mountains in the background. The windows had a door opening onto a lovely little terrace, with two more chairs for admiring the view. The bed was enormous and with wonderful sheets and blankets, and the towels in the bathroom were luxurious! You wake up in the morning and look out on the entire mountain range. Heaven.

The rest of the house is as exquisitely designed - the decorations, the placement, and every single window designed to capitalize on the incredible views.

Then there's the food. Which, like everything else, is perfect. The breakfast was ample - breads, cheeses, scrambled eggs made-to-order, unlimited coffee and free-squeezed orange juice. Yum. We stayed for 2 nights and had both our dinners there because, well, it was that good. And, what was so incredible is that they cater to vegetarians. I simply had to ask, and both nights there were fabulous vegetarian options available. But, the icing on the cake, is that these weren't just any normal vegetarian options, but were completely organic vegetables from Iñigo and Sofia's garden. Again, heaven.

Then there's the location. For us, this was a new side of the Gredos where you are on the opposite side of Almanzor. Needless to say, the hiking options appear limitless. From the hotel, I took a morning hike just up the hill and quickly found myself amidst, goats, horses, and the odd goat-herder. I walked for an hour, just ambling across rolling hills against the backdrop of goat bells. And, this was just stepping out the back door (apparently, there is a trail from there that goes to Almanzor). One of our days there, we drove 30 minutes away to a neighboring town where Iñigo and Sofia had directed us for another gorgeous hike (I can't remember our destination).

Lastly, the hosts, Sofia and Iñigo are incredible - warm, welcoming, accommodating, but not intrusive. The perfect blend. Oh, and they both speak perfect... I mean really perfect, English, although they of course politely humored us with our crappy Spanish.

I agree with everyone else, it is flawless.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nabia

Address: Ctra. Santuario de Chilla s/n, 05480 Candeleda, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Avila > Candeleda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Candeleda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nabia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nabia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.