We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the only choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Far View Terrace Restaurant

Far View Terrace Restaurant
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
602.331.5210
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not bad for the only choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

For those staying in the lodge, there are no cooking facilities at all. Farview is the only choice for breakfast. For lunch one might be 10 miles away on Chapin Mesa, but if not, again Farview is the only option. For dinner the Metate Room offers fine dining, but since my husband and I are both salt-sensitive and prefer smaller evening meals, we never tried that restaurant. So for three days we ate nearly every meal at Farview. The food was a bit expensive, but the location is so remote that the transportation costs must be significant. The choices are not bad but don't differ much from day to day. The Navaho taco was tasty, also the pasta. Several choices of topping for both.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    46
    50
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jacinto, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mesa Verde dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Since we were staying in the park, we decided to plan our meals at their restaurants and also bought some groceries from campground store for light meals. Food at Farview was ok. Only a few choices, but food tasted fine. For kids, Sprucetree House had more choices but closes by 6:30pm. Prices are comparable to restaurant prices. But sure beats driving all the way done hill to eat out of park. Ice cream next to gift shop reasonably priced and tasted great after hiking all day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Much better than indoor restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Staying at the lodge, eating options were limited. We ate in the Metate Room twice and on the last night decided to have dinner at the outdoor terrace - wished we'd done it sooner. Sitting outside was great and the appetizers were far superior in taste than the dishes in the main restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's A Cafeteria - Not a Cafe!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family of 5 decided that instead of eating somewhere else prior to our 1:00 tour, we would just eat at the Far View Café since it stated it was a Café and would have more of a variety of food to choose from. Well, to our dismay, all they offer is cafeteria food. You don't sit down and order from a menu and be served by a waitress or waiter. You stand in line and order either a type of sandwich, pizza, lasagna, chicken tenders, etc. Everything we had was very pricey and just so so as for the flavor. This eatery should not be shown as a Café - just Cafeteria!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escondido
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My son had a hamburger w homemade chips $7.50.
My wife had the made to order salad $7.75. It was good, but those grilled peppers are very hot.
I had the south west lasagna w chips $11.00, it was very good and filling.
My daughter had the personal pizza $8.50 which was ok. We had a side of cornbread for $2.25, which was good.
The "blue bunny" brand icecream next to the gift shop was excellent quality and serving size and not too expensive.
The seating has views of the valley. Prices are what can be expected of a tourist area, but the quantities and quality of food made it reasonable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far View Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Far View Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far View Terrace Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.