We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campground!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morefield Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesa Verde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morefield Village Campground
Save
You added Morefield Village Campground to your Saves list
Morefield Village, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330   |  
Hotel amenities
Hummelstown
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Campground!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We absolutely loved Morefield Campground at Mesa Verde! It is a large, well laid out and very clean campground.
We reserved a full hookup site ahead of time and were very pleased.
There were nice (flush) bathhouses nearby, though you would need to go into the "campers village" to get a shower if you don't have a full hookup site with the needed equipment.
I will say this - the showers are very nice if not completely convenient. There is also a laundry and grocery in the "campers village" as well as a Ranger's station that is manned each evening. You can purchase tickets for the guided tours from this station as well.
We saw a bit of wildlife - deer and such - while at our site. Very neat.
You can also walk to Ranger talks in the ampitheater. We went to one and found if very interesting.
I would absolutely recommend staying at Morefield if you are visiting Mesa Verde.
I would also recommend looking into renting a small car if you are driving a motorhome and don't tow a car. There is no shuttle service like in many parks and the distances here are quite long on steep, curvy, and under construction roads. There is an Enterprise in Cortez that rented us a cheap car for $20 well spent dollars a day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We camped at Morefield for 2 nights mid-week in August. We had reservations, but they do not reserve specific sites. We arrived early evening, and I would recommend arriving earlier for a better pick of sites. We were tent camping and had a family size 11x11 foot floor that barely squeezed onto the gravel pad at our site. Some sites I do not believe it would have fit at all, and they requested you use the gravel pad not the grass, to the extent you had grass at your site. Because of the heat during the day, try to pick a site with some shade provided by the gambel oaks, which are short and scrubby, but are better than some of the open grassy sites which would just bake your tent during the day. Also, the scrubby trees provide some privacy from your neighbors. Be sure to have good sleeping bads or air mattresses, as the gravel pad is quite rough, and I was glad we had a tarp to protect our tent bottom before placing it for our stay. I recommend the first loop (first right) closest to the store and shower facilities -- I think it is Zuni Loop? and is "tent only". The others loops appeared to have many more openings than this one, but were more heavily populated by RV's. We were able to walk along the path from our campsite to the shower building in the evening, as well as to the store, if needed, which was convenient, but at night you were not disturbed by lights or sounds of these facilities. There are bathroom buildings within the campground, which were clean and functional but quite old. Showers had plenty of hot water which was nice. We found the campground quiet at night. It is still 20 minutes or so to the Visitor Center, if I remember right, and 45 minutes or so to Balcony House or some of the other ruins sites and Chapin Mesa Museum. However, unless you're staying at the hotel within the park, it's the closest you'll get, and better than traveling from a campground outside the park.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We really wanted our teens to see the cliff dwellings and they are great. As usual, the park service does a super job with their tours and interpretive programs. Our favorite tour was Balcony House, with lots of ladders and a cool climb up steps carved into the rock. We also enjoyed touring Cliff Palace and Long House. Long House is on Weatherill Mesa, which is kind of a drive to get to, but worth it. They have trams there which we all had a blast riding. The only beef we had with the Long House tour was that some parents brought noisy toodlers along and made no attempt to keep them quiet. The park service should establish a minimum age for tours, as they do at Lehman Caves.

The extensive museum at Chapin Mesa was very good, as was the self-guided tour of Spruce Tree House. We also had fun looking around the visitor center and looking at the incredible view from that area, which rivals the view from Park Point, which is just down the road.

Now for Morefield Campground, where I will first list the pros:

* The closest camping to the cliff dwellings, although it's still about 40 min. each way so you spend about 1 1/2 hrs. commuting each day.

* It's big, so there is a large variety of campsites of all different kinds to choose from.

* You can buy cliff dwelling tour tickets in a building right by the campground.

* There are a store, cafe, gas station, laundry, and showers right by the campground.

* The nightly campfire programs are excellent.

* There are three great hikes that leave right from the campground. If you only do one of them, do Point Lookout. Most out of state visitors never hike these trails.

* The campground is close to the park entrance and the town of Cortez.

Now for the cons:

* We paid $25/nite for a tent site, which is pretty steep.

* The water temp. in the showers cannot be adjusted and they were too cold.

* The restrooms were not real well maintained, although they got the job done.

* You cannot make site-specific reservations, as you can in campgrounds on NRRS.

* You cannot self-register in the campground.

So we thought the campground paled in comparison to some of the others we visited on the same trip (Black Canyon of the Gunnison, Colorado Nat'l Monument, Grand Canyon), but it got the job done. If you want to see the cliff dwellings and really learn about them, this is the place do it. We will always remember our trip to Mesa Verde National Park.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

campground is huge- several hundred sites. they say it's never been 100% full. dont' bother going straight to the campsite -- just go to the camp store to register first. they'll give you a tag and tell u to go drive around and pick a site. it's $25/night and you pay at the store. they take credit cards. it's 4miles from the park entrance. it's a 30 min-drive to the museum/spruce house. the weatherill part of the park is closed after Labor Day so we only saw the other side of the park with Cliff Palace, Balcony House, Spruce House. highly recommend the guided tours to cliff palace and balcony house. they were very educational. besides, cliff palace is the most famous. do not recommend children younger than 9 years old to do the guided tours since they require climbing steep ladders and stairs. you have to be in relatively decent shape to do these climbs. each tour is 1 hr and they have tours every 1/2 hr for cliff palace.

campground sites are for the most part a good distance from each other. we happened to camp next to a noisy group of children and their families. sites are good size. bathrooms are sparsely located throughout the campground so try to get one close by. there are outlets in the bathrooms.

there are 3 loops but we liked the Pueblo/Zuni loop best since it was closest to the store. campground had more RVs than tents-- make sense, since there is little shade in the campground.

it's the only campground in the park. store has some souvenirs, coffee, dry good items, wifi, ice, firewood, etc. showers and laundry are next to the store. i believe there is a gas station as well there. the restaurant/cafe was closed when we were there. there is cell phone service.

weather was nice - 70s during day and 40s at night. we were there at the end of september.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I'm very surprised at the negative reviews I've read about this campground. However, these may be written by "campers" who like to stay at RV resorts--with mini-golf, pools, etc. We are tent campers and enjoy the quietness of tent camping--this area also accommodates RV's nicely--but without all the other junk. This campground is very large--but many bathrooms, water sources throughout the grounds, and a campstore with showers and laundry at a central location. Another huge plus for us is to be located inside Mesa Verde--a lot less driving to see the sites. This campground is first-come, first serve, so recommend getting to campground before 5:00 to make sure you find a campsite! Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The campground is located just inside the entrance of the park and is 30 minutes from the cliff dwellings, which is as close as you can get. They check you in at the convenience store and it can be slow and unprecise. We arrived near dusk and found the first site possible, but the place was probably 95% full. The next day we picked up and moved to a shaded site on the edge. The nearest tent site was 30-40 feet away but the view is 80% blocked. Deer walk by every morning, expect to see 5-10 in the morning and evening. Our site was large enough for my 2 person tent (5' by 8') and a very large (~8' by 14') tent. There was also a metal picnic table and fire ring with grate. There are multiple bathrooms within walking distance and there will be bugs, but I was just glad to see electricity and toilet paper. There is even a large basin to wash dishes. Back at the c-store area are ~16 private stall showers, each with it's own door. The water was hot but, yes, the floor will probably be dirty, so wear flip flops. It would be nice if they had someone full time cleaning them. The laundromat is very large and work fine while we were there. They serve breakfast each morning which is nice if you are tired of camp food. We would have liked to have seen a map prior to going and been able to reserve the campsite in advance. It is close enough for activities in Durango. Overall we were very happy with the experience and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I made a reservation for this campground about a month before our trip. The person taking the reservation told me they would reserve me a 32 foot site "somewhat near" a restroom. I figured when we arrived, a campsite number would be awaiting us. Not even close! First of all, the people working in the store that also houses the reservation desk completely ignored me until I finally interrupted one of them. When they looked up my reservation, they told me to just drive around in the first loop to look for a spot. What about my reservation with a 32 foot spot? They laughed and said they don't do those kinds of reservations. So why did someone TELL me they were reserving such a place a month ago? Who was that, and where are they?

Oh well. So we started driving around and realized that not only was the campground quite full, but most of the sites were tiny and nearly on top of each other. There were wood barriers around each site and pea gravel to pitch your tent on. Accounting for space to park your car, this left room for a maximum of a 10x10 dome tent space per most campsites.

We had a 16 x 20 tent, so we kept driving, hoping for at least one site that would accomodate us. We finally found one, but the only spot for our tent was literally 6 feet from our neighbor's tent. This site also had zero shade, but the people across the road from us had tons of shade, so I guess it just depends on how lucky you are to find the good spots.

We didn't use the showers, but did use one of the many bathrooms scattered throughout the campground. I'm not sure where the money we paid ($25//night) went, considering the floors were excessively dirty and there was never any soap at the sinks.

We did go to one of the evening programs about animals in the park and it was well done and very interesting. The ampitheater is quite large and it was easy to hear the ranger.

We saw a few animals in the campground, especially mule deer. Thankfully no signs of bears, though each table in the campground reminds you to leave nothing out that may attract animals.

Overall, we were really disappointed in the layout of the campground: sites way too close together, most didn't have shade, and reservations useless.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morefield Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Village Campground

Address: Morefield Village, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mesa Verde National Park
Number of rooms: 435
Also Known As:
Morefield Village Campground Hotel Mesa Verde National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morefield Village Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.