We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay and see the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morefield Village Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesa Verde National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morefield Village Campground
Save
You added Morefield Village Campground to your Saves list
Morefield Village, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay and see the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We tent camped here in the tent loop. We saw several deer walking through the site which was cool. Several bathrooms with flush toilets located throughout the loop which were clean. Some sites are totally open others feel a bit more secluded. Most sites have a picnic table and fire ring. There is a simulated kiva at the top of the mesa near the site that the kids (boys, aged 9) enjoyed hiking up to (there is no trail, this is rough hiking). Hot showers are a short drive away at the Morefield HQ. Showers are clean. There is coin op laundry there which we did not use. The gift shop has a convenience store and has anything you may need or have forgotten.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a nice campground. The sites were spaced out pretty well but could have been a little more level. The bathrooms were clean but a little old. What was surprising was the showers are free, the only time we saw that. The campground is far from the main part of the park but there is no lodging that is close. We also saw lots of deer at our campsite.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We camped one night in the campground. We loved how beautiful the night sky was from our tent site. We had a picnic table and a fire pit right near our tent. We were able to roast marshmallows and look at the stars. It was wonderful.
There were only 2 drawbacks to camping at this park. The first is that it's really close to the park entrance, but not very close to anything else except for a couple of trail heads. So you definitely have to factor in drive time to any of the tours. The second issue was that the restroom area (while better than most campgrounds) still could use a little updating, especially in the showers. We did have hot water and it was fairly clean.
I recommend camping at least one night just to experience the quiet, the stars and getting to roast marshmallows and make s'mores with your family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wow, a National Park Service Campground with full hookups! We stayed here in June 2012 and it exceeded our expectations. Our site was in the Ute Loop, #165, which had great privacy (not all of them do) and was close to the bathroom. The sites are pretty well spaced out (compared to newer "tract campgrounds" that seem to be everywhere). Lots of native trees and large as well. The advantage about staying here was it saves you 10-15 minutes to get to the cliff dwellings. The bathrooms in the campground loops are typical NPS bathrooms- no hot water or soap- just sinks and toilets. That's OK with us as we have hot water and soap in our pop-up. The showers near the general store are old, but free. The General store is pretty minimalistic- just the basic things in case of emergency. They also had a on site cafe, but we did not eat there. The best part is that you actually feel like you're out in the wilderness- fantastic night sky, lots of mule deer all around, no cell phone or WIFI and the always popular Ranger led amphitheater talks in the evening. Also, you can buy your cliff dwelling tix directly from the on-site ranger station from 5-8pm, instead of driving 30 minutes to the Far View Visitor Center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The best part about staying at the campground is that you don't have to drive in and out of the park, which can take some time. We made a reservation for tent camping, but you basically just check in and then pick your camp site. It pays to come early as possible, because the camp sites are small and many do not have shade, so the good ones are picked off early. The campground has a general store, gas station, free showers, flush toilets, hiking trails, and an amphitheater. The showers were fine except not very hot, and there was no time limit on them. The toilets have paper but no soap or towels. We were lucky to have some violinists in the camp site across from us, so we were serenaded in the evening, and we took a sunset hike.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I really liked my 1-night stay at this campground. The bathrooms were clean with flush toilets and cold water, and there were plenty of them. Laundry facilities were great. The showers were so-so, but I took one at a heavy-use time, so that's understandable. They do have a grocery store, but the items are pricey and they might not have the variety you are looking for. This campground is about a 20-minute drive from both the restaurant at Far View and Cortez, so be prepared to make a long drive if you want something other than the basics in the grocery store, especially if you don't want to cook. Also be aware that there is no ATM near the campground either.

As far as the sites go, there's a good variety. I reserved my site online and then when you arrive, you get to drive around all the loops and pick a site you like. They do have black bears in the park, so proper food storage is necessary.

Probably the best thing about staying here is that the night sky is so, so dark. I've been to Alaska and the Yukon and other dark places, but the stars here were amazing. Also, the evening ranger program at the amphitheater is a must-do, no matter what the topic.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you visit MVNP.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Facilities here are really great! Flush toilets throughout the campground with running water sinks and plenty of TP.

Showers are clean. There's a laundry mat. Grocery store is nicely appointed and even carries some camping gear you might near (particularly cooking stuff). There's also a gift shop (but all the gift shops in the park carry the same items). There's even a nice little cafe here that serves an all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast (with choice os turkey or pork sausage side) and starbuck's coffee.

Only problem: there doesn't seem to be a noise curfew. People were being loud all over the campground well after dark. There's no ranger patrolling here either, so if you have any problems, you'll need to drive down to the ranger station at the entrance (which didn't appear to be open at all during our stay).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morefield Village Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morefield Village Campground

Address: Morefield Village, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mesa Verde National Park
Number of rooms: 435
Also Known As:
Morefield Village Campground Hotel Mesa Verde National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morefield Village Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.