We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Palace

Cliff Palace
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An ancient cliff dwelling in Mesa Verde National Park.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Go !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Fantastic Ranger led tour. Get your tickets ahead of time, $4 per person and worth it. We did the 9am tour before it got hot and crowded.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    53
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Mesa Verde before but had never seen Cliff Palace up close. We did the tour and it was great! You don't get to go in any of the ruins, just walking next to them but it's wonderful getting to see everything from ground level. You go down some steep stone steps at the beginning and at the end there are some steps and then two ladders to get out. The guides are very knowledgeable and have a great deal of interesting information to tell!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

For me the main reason to go to Mesa Verde was to see Cliff Palace as it is the site that is always shown in photos of the place, so to miss it seems crazy. I agree with another reviewer that the size of the tour groups is way too big, but what do you do with so many people wanting to see the place? That said, there was enough time on the tour to see the buildings and take far too many photos. The earlier tours are less crowded so they are the ones to aim for if possible. As far as accessibility, I didn't think there were any problems except for the climb out, and there were people in our group that must have been (at least) in their 70's and looking quite frail who did it. The climb down is simply descending stairs and there are no 'cliff edges' to worry about.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My friends and I spent a wonderful day at Mesa Verde National Park. We were fascinated with the well preserved (and restored) remnants of the cliff dwellers of early history. We were delighted to be able to hike to and closely examine the ruins. Some of the accesses were too physically challenging for members of my party, but there was still a lot to see and experience. The new visitors' center is well designed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Ne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tour group was WAY too big (about 60 people)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Deb was a very knowledgeable tour guide but we would have enjoyed our tour more if we had actually got to spend time at the site. We pretty much just walked quickly by it and they were hurried out of it because our group was too big- it was a least double if not triple the size of the group behind us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff Palace also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Cliff Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.