We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Palace

Cliff Palace
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An ancient cliff dwelling in Mesa Verde National Park.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My friends and I spent a wonderful day at Mesa Verde National Park. We were fascinated with the well preserved (and restored) remnants of the cliff dwellers of early history. We were delighted to be able to hike to and closely examine the ruins. Some of the accesses were too physically challenging for members of my party, but there was still a lot to see and experience. The new visitors' center is well designed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    54
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Ne
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tour group was WAY too big (about 60 people)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Deb was a very knowledgeable tour guide but we would have enjoyed our tour more if we had actually got to spend time at the site. We pretty much just walked quickly by it and they were hurried out of it because our group was too big- it was a least double if not triple the size of the group behind us.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Take the first tour in the morning if you can. Cool, great lighting for pictures, not as crowded. Don't be shy about asking the rangers questions..

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Incredible Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This pueblo is well worth the $4 they charge for the tour. The only way you can visit is by signing up at the Visitor's Center. The drive is about 45 min to 1 hour into the park. The climb down is quite steep over slick rock. Once down, the ranger gives a talk of the history of the place and this is a time to catch your breath and rest. Then you are taken into the dwellings where you can learn more and actually walk into most of it. There is plenty of time to take pictures. Then the climb out . . . three ladders (about 6 to 8 ft) almost vertical. The slot that you go through is quite narrow. This experience is totally worth it and if you don't take this tour, make sure that you do another one that takes you into the dwellings.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great Ranger-led tour of some amazing cliff dwellings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

For a few bucks and an hour of your time you get a great 750-year old step back in time to dwellings built under a natural rock overhang. The views there, and on the drive up, are stunning. As long as you fit enough to climb a few ladders at 2,500 metres (8,200 feet) highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliff Palace also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Cliff Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.