We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Far View Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Far View Lodge to your Saves list
Far View Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Navajo Hill, Box 277, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Moutain West
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, basic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had a standard room and the Far View Lodge. We had a terrific view. The room was clean, bed comfortable, and relatively quiet. The standard rooms are basic (not even a picture on the wall), but very adequate - particularly for a national park. The room rates for the fall season are a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    438
    279
    132
    63
See reviews for
342
553
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Rooms are nothing special, but they are comfortable. As in real estate, it's all about location, location, location. Sunset and sunrise on your own balcony with breathtaking views. They now offer wifi and bottles of wine delivered to your room. The Metate restaurant at the main building is excellent. They still have no TV and limited phone...which is great for this place.
If you like the parks, you won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The picture on their web site is the registration building and not the inn/room. Room was clean and comfortable (small shower and no tub) but reminded us of a temporary school buildings. If you have not been to Mesa Verde be prepared--it is desolute. The Lodge rooms are separate from the dining and registration buildings. You are on your own. The staff was helpful and friendly. The view from the room is that you can see forever; maybe 50 miles. This is not a great lodge of the west. Primary upside here is the location; don't have to drive 30 miles from Cortez or Durnago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Given it takes 40 minutes or so from Cortez to get to the top of the Mesa I guess they have a monopoly on the accommodation. The good : Not having to go back down the mountain every night, the view, the food at the restaurant, the quality of the wireless internet (in my room anyway). The average : the room quality (we had a kiva room) is clearly not to a high standard although you can't expect too much from a National Park lodge that only opens for 6 months a year. It was also quite small but clean and functional. Why the basin was not in the bathroom was a mystery. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Note there is NO TV anywhere except in the bar area above the restaurant and if the barman chooses to watch baseball instead of the Obama v Romney debate then that is all you get (go back to the room and stream it on the internet). Ultimately if I were to return to Mesa Verde I would probably stay again. Note that as most of the park is over 8000 feet you may suffer some early altitude problems so proceed with caution on some of the hikes they offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The King Kiva room was furnished something like a very nice cabin with rustic accents of iron and copper, a Pendleton blanket, tile floors and a very cozy pillowtop mattress with fluffy comforter. The sink area is tiny with little space for more than drinking glasses. The shower was phonebooth size. The room was clean and the lighting was adequate. We had a fabulous view with no other units in front of us. From the balcony we watched elk and heard them bugling, and saw deer grazing. The sunrise, sunset and the starry sky is amazing to behold. Nature abounds here and staying within the park is the best way to have the full experience. Mesa Verde Lodge rooms compliment the wild outdoors with style and comfort in a modestly sized space. The food service varied from tolerably slow to terrible - recommend bringing some provisions so as to not be entirely dependant on the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When will they ever bring the Park Lodges into the 21st century??? Tiny bathrooms and meager furnishings...the only difference with this one was the amazing view!! And a balcony to sit out and enjoy it! It was a very convenient place to stay to enjoy all that Mesa Verde had to offer though, so until something better comes along, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the unit next to the restaurant building, and the views were awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great midwest
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

While the lodging here is not top notch, the view and peace and quiet are exceptional! My husband and I stayed here for two nights, while we visited the sites at Mesa Verde. It was perfect for that, as there was no need to travel into and out of the park. These rooms are basically blocks of small motel units, maybe 5 or 6 rooms, up on small "stilts" with low balconies facing an incredible view. We had a Kiva room, which had nicer decor and air conditioning. The room was nice, however it did lack some amenities found in other hotels, such as tv, cell phone service, multiple plug-ins, a closet. The walls are also quite thin and allow sounds of toilets flushing and showers, and when I turned on the ac to mask any noise, it is the type that loudly cycles on and off, which did not help. Our unit was on the edge of all of them, and had a great view. I did wonder about many units that are clustered back further, though, if they had nice views.
I was disappointed in the dinner options. We ate at the Metate Room, a gourmet restaurant which I must say does seem a bit out of place in a setting such as this, once. It was excellent, and pricey, as one would expect, but we enjoyed it. The following night, however, it turned out the more casual restaurant there that serves dinner had closed for the season, and we did not want to go back to the gourmet restaurant again. Luckily (?) we were able to purchase a pre-made sandwich, salad and bag of chips for $16 to eat at the room. I would suggest anyone staying there be sure what the meal options are for the time they are staying and plan accordingly. I would have appreciated it if someone had let us know when checking in.
I would definitely recommend that anyone visiting Mesa Verde stay here for a couple nights - we were also able to watch mule deer and wild horses from our room, and hear the elk bugling at night. Additionally, the sunrises and sunsets were incredible, as were the stars at night.

Room Tip: I would be sure to know what kind of a view you are getting, as it appeared that some blocks of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Far View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far View Lodge

Address: 1 Navajo Hill, Box 277, Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mesa Verde National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mesa Verde National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Far View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only lodging within the Park, it is open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Far View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far View Hotel Mesa Verde National Park
Mesa Verde Far View Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.