We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montemar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Montemar to your Saves list
Montemar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av De Genaro Riestra 8, 33500 Llanes, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Llanes
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed only one night. But the staff is very gentle. The breakfast was great. The rooms were outdated. There was no airco. The bathroom was small and old. Anyway, this old hotel is doing everything to please the customers. Great service.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the old rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    33
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location in the centre of Llanes and close to the beach. Very good service, helpfull staff, lovely breakfast;) Room was big, super clean with stunning view of panorama De Picos Europa. Furnitures are a little bit old fashion but I didn't mind. Bed very comfortably;) Escalator, free parking, free wi-fi, great food in the restaurant;) Absolutely great place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location in the centre of Llanes. Nice and clean with a good breakfast. Perfect base for exploring the Picos and 'Green Spain'. Hotel a bit dated, but really didn't bother us as everything else was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was my second stay here, the first in July 2010 also on a group biking holiday; only 2 nights this time, and I was in the same room overlooking the car park, which was fine as it was probably quieter than being at the front of the hotel. I'd like to endorse Yachties review without repeating everything; I enjoyed a salad meal in front of the tv one evening as I was watching Wimbledon, and they were quite happy to bring the food to the lounge area for me. If there is one small comment to make, it is that the public areas seem to have had a makeover more recently than the rooms, which have rather old-fashioned wardrobes and could do with a bit of modernizing. That said, they are still comfortable and perfectly adequate. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were on an inclusive break with Brittany Ferries. It was out of season so we chose this hotel because we have stayed there before and know that the town has plenty of good bars and restaurants. On arrival little seemed changed, free car parking and the same charming lady (we think owner) on reception. We were given a south facing room with views of the Picos mountains (snow capped at this time) with a small balcony which was warm in the mid day sun. Now for the changes which aren't fully documented in Brittany Ferries brochure. Firstly the breakfast which used to be a small affair, fresh orange juice, patisserie, toast and coffee now has all this plus Spanish omelette, local cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, fruit and tomato salad. All served as a buffet in the Cafeteria. The Cafeteria has a menu copy translated in to English in the room. In addition now there are special local style dishes and a superb menu of the day. We had this for lunch one day and for 12 euros including a very nice bottle of wine it was delicious and we defy anyone to eat it all! You do, however need some Spanish, a phrase book at least, as all except the basic menu is in Spanish and the staff don't seem to speak English (may be wrong but we speak enough to get by so they didn't have to). The whole town has a lot to offer, lovely bars many with their own "menu del dia" and everyone is so friendly! The hotel is a short walk from the harbour (now closed by a lock with new pontoons for local and visiting boats) and a lovely beach. Other beaches are within walking distance and there is a great walk on the cliffs overlooking the sea. Some very attractive towns are within easy driving distance along this now much improved road. This hotel is an ideal base to explore this lovely area of Spain which is so different from the Mediterranean "Costas".

Room Tip: Ask for a South facing room for the mountain view and the sun. Some corner rooms have very large ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed as part of a group of 6 motorcycling through Spain to France and then back to UK.
We used this as a base for touring the Picos. Llanes is a small vibrant town with lots of bars/cafes/restaurants, about 60 miles from Santander.
Montemar is situated within the town and has a large (free) carpark, I had a single room which had a double bed, warobe and space to put things, the room was big enough, the bathroom spacious, and very clean.
Breakfast was fairly standard with fresh orange juice, cerials, meats/cheeses/bread and cake & perc coffee - all you need.

This hotel is well placed, the staff all friendly and attentative, Wi-Fi is free, not always available in the room but always in the lounge and reception.

Oh and a bottle of red wine was 10 euro, small beer 1.8 euro.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Montemar is a fairly typical seaside hotel. The rooms are no frills, but big enough, clean and tidy. there's no air conditioning though, but this part of Spain rarely gets excessively hot. The hotel is close enough to the centre of Llanes, and everywhere is easily walkable. There's a large car park too. Trains and buses are within easy reach. There's plenty to see in Asutrias, with loads of excellent beaches, so you won't be spending too much time in the hotel, but it's fine for sleeping. A bit of modernisation to the bathrooms wouldn't be amiss.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montemar

Address: Av De Genaro Riestra 8, 33500 Llanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Llanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Llanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.