We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Paco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Paco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Paco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Colegio de la Encarnacion n0 1, 33500 Llanes, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Llanes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well located, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A good sized room overlooking the road but no problem with traffic noise although the locals liked to sit on the benches below and chat. Easy loading and unloading at the rear of the hotel and then secure parking at the Montemar just 50 metres away. It is well located as the town is compact with a lovely walk on the nearby sea wall.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had one fixed price meal in the attractive dining room but the food was unimpressive and the price too high; there are plenty of other choices in the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the Don Paco with some friends in early June 2013. The hotel is easy to find being at the end of the main street through town. There is on-road parking behind the hotel and if this is full then you can park at the sister Hotel Montemar which is around 100 yards away; we never needed to.
The hotel staff are very friendly with enough English to cover most issues. Rooms are a reasonable size with good, clean bathrooms including a very nice shower. In my room there was no a/c nor a safe but reception will hold your valuables for you. The area is quiet so no problem leaving the windows open at night.
The area seems reasonably safe although, with the Spanish economy being what it is, it is appearing slightly run-down. There are plenty of bar/restaurants within a five minute walk, a harbour for small boats and a very nice beach in a cove.
If you stay at the hotel for three nights or more they will arrange a free round of golf at the nearby course, which is high up above the town and cliffs and presents a tricky but very pleasant challenge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very well appointed hotel with high standard fittings throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Both food and service were excellent especially the breakfast. We stayed here for 5 nights in May and used it as a base for walking in the Picos mountains and playing golf at the very good Llanes golf course where a round of golf booked through the hotel cost an incredible €13!!! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are more spacious and not much dearer than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hotel Don Paco hotel for a 2 day break visiting friends. I would highly reccomend this hotel if staying the Llanes area and will be returning hopefully to the hotel next year on my next visit to the area.

I beleive the hotel used to be a monastry, so the decor reflects this "rustic" feel. Although I didnt reseach the locations of other hotels in Llannes, I would imagine It would be difficult to beat this hotel on its central location alone. As other reviewers mentioned it is on the centre of town and just a 5 minute walk away to all the restaurants, cafes, bars etc

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted, and the check in was smooth and found all the staff we encountered during our stay to be polite and helpful.

The room we stayed in was very clean & of a resonable size, the style again is quite traditional with dark furniture. The bathrooms on the other hand are modern, and bright and the shower was excellent and very powerful. The only think I would say that could improve the room slightly would be to install a safety deposit box in the room and have a larger size television, as I found the current one way to small to watch from the bed.

We didnt dine in the hotel during our stay, as we were out all day visiting, however previous reviews have said the breakfast is good. Also I must say that also previous reviews have stated that they found the traffic noise excessive. we stayed on the first floor on the road side of the hotel, and had a comfortable nights sleep and wasnt effected by any noise in the slightest. I enquired about this to a local who said that the road has recently changed from being a 2 way system to just a one way street. Perhaps this would account for the improvement.

All in all, a very pleasent stay and will be returning and staying at the Hotel Don Paco again the near future, and would highly reccomend to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A really nice hotel right in the centre of Llanes. We didn't eat at the hotel, except for breakfast which was very good. The staff were friendly enough and the accommodation was clean and spacious.Our room did not have aircon, but it was cool enough. Parking is free at their sister hotel ,which is only a few hundred yards away. There are lots of restaurants nearby with many offering a 3 course menu of the day for 10-12 euros. The only downside is if you do not speak Spanish;as very few have English translations. Llanes is a lovely,busy little town with nice beaches nearby.We would definitely use the Don Paco again if we re-visit Llanes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Booked via Brittany Ferries - a very good way to get to Northern Spain, but this time a strike meant our return trip was cancelled and forced a drive to Calais from Santander - 850 miles! The hotel was really pleasant - in the centre of Llanes but quiet, lovely to look at and with a good room and immaculate bathroom at the rear of the hotel. Fixed price lunch or dinner (same menu) at first looked a little expensive at 25 euros, but was four courses and included a bottle of very acceptable wine and a bottle of water. Even better - if you weren't quite so hungry and dropped one of the first 3 courses, the price came down to 16! Compared to prices on our drive through France, this was remarkable value and the quality of food was very good. Friendly and helpful staff. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and is a very interesting building with some history. If you dont like character then you may not like this hotel but it is as described on the booking sites. The room furnishing is traditional and fairly basic but the bathroom was surprisingly modern. Parking is a short walk up the road but it is easy enough to wheel cases down to the hotel. Only downside is that there is no air conditioning. However, we were not as uncomfortable in this hotel as we were in some which did have air conditioning. Our experience of hotels in northern Spain from this trip is that those that do have air con do not allow guests any control over it. The old thick walls of the Don Paco must help to keep the rooms a bit cooler naturally. The terrace is a lovely place to sit of an evening and free wi fi was a real plus for us. Llanes itself is an interesting stop over for a couple of nights. The town beach is very nice but small. The Toro beach is fantastic with its rock formations and only a short walk along the coast. It would be great for kids. We also went along to Ribadasella which has a fantastic beach so I expect all the beaches along this coast are of a high standard. There are some nice walks around the town and along the coast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Don Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Paco

Address: Calle Colegio de la Encarnacion n0 1, 33500 Llanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Llanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Llanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Paco 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Posada Herrera gardens, in the very centre of the town of Llanes, very few metres away from Sablon beach, from the maritime San Pedro walk and from the historic-artistic set of the Basilica and the Walls of the old town, the hotel is installed with all the comfort ofmodern hotel in a beautiful Baroque convent of the XVII th century.49 exterior rooms with full bathroom, telephone, lounge with a chimmey, gardened terrace, restaurant of specialities in the old chapel, closed and surveilled parking, municipal golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Don Paco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Paco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.