We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playacalida Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Playacalida Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Playacalida Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. Torregalera, S/N, 18690 Almunecar, Spain (Formerly lti Playacalida Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gosselies
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is a fabulous place to stay, dine and relax. Great location, excellent treatment of employees, amazing activities and lovely food all were enough to impress me. Entire property is very clean, beautiful and very well kept. Buffet breakfast which included a number of hot and cold items was fabulous and proved to be a good start for the day. I would strongly recommend this place to all the travelers visiting the city for business or leisure purposes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Playacalida Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please Know that it is our aim that you spend the best days of your holidays with us and this is what we are working for and trying to improve every day.

We stay in your entire disposal and hope that you return to visit us in other occasions, meanwhile we will continue working in achieving our goal that is that our guests enjoy their stay along their holiday in our establishment.

Dolores Cifuentes
Gerente Playacalida Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    422
    125
    38
    24
See reviews for
786
121
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gort, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed in the Playacalida and it was wonderful. Staff friendly, great buffet breakfast, and the most wonderful infinity pool! Highly recommended and have booked to go back next week.... I hate the English reviews where they expect the staff to speak English! It's the Costa Tropical, it's Spain, it's not the Costa del Sol which is taken over by the Brits and you will get your English spoken everywhere. If Spanish people came to Brighton would they be catered for in Spanish? If you don't want to be with Spanish holiday makers, or if you want an "English" holiday in the sun then go to Torremolinos, Benalmadena or Fuengerola......

Room Tip: We got a room on the 5th floor overlooking the Infinity Pool and the sea. I would recommend asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Came here to rest after a round trip in Andalusia last september. Unfortunately the Spanish people were still celebrating their holidays. And they wanted everybody to notice... It was still THEIR hotel. They behaved very loud, rude and greedy. Raiding the buffet, demanding every waiter's attention, yelling to each other from one side of the hotel to the other and so on.
This was nothing like we've seen on our round trip! The people we met were very friendly and willing to help us whenever we needed something.
Fortunately, our last 2 days were tranquil, since the Spanish' holiday had passed..

Apart from that, the hotel wasn't that satisfying at all. Food was repetitive (and we had to fight the Spanish for it).
The swimming pool was dirty. I wore a white bikini when I got in, but had a green one on when I got out.. The water was just stuffed with algae!
Staff wasn't friendly and only a small fraction of them spoke English or took an effort to it.
But the most frustrating thing to us had to be the distance we had to walk to get to our room! We were located on the 5th floor, on the other side of the hotel. It took us 15 minutes and 2 elevators to get to the café, pool, restaurant or reception.

All inclusive alcoholic drinks eased our pain. Too bad we couldn't enjoy it together with the promised animation. This turned out to be an improvised Spanish farce.

Altogether, we don't recommend this hotel. It is too Spanish-focussed and you don't get the service you deserve

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We went for a one week holiday. The hotel is at a really nice location but the city next to it (Almunecar) is totally dead. So if you just want to lay by the pool and do nothing and you speak spanish, than it is the place for you. Otherwise... stay away!

The beach is in walking distance (10 minutes). The water at the closest beach was kind of dirty but another ten minutes walking (sorry, climbing thorugh rocks) and you arrive to a nice beach!

The pool in the hotel is cool! You can see the whole bay when you're haveing your little body in the cool water. Now that was kind of a flash...

They have a so called animation, which was terrible. It is only for kids, but it was so stupid, it was even humiliating to watch.

The food offered was average. I've expected more spanish specialities. The waiters did not all speak english (I mean basic english, there were some who did not understand the word wine...).

If you want to visit famous cities in Andalusia you need to travel hours (yes! 2-3 hrs. Malaga is 1 hr. Almunecar has almost nothing. You can do it in 2 hours and you have seen everything).

I guess this place is designed for spanish people who want to do nothing but just relax by the pool!

So think twice before you book this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We have just returned from Playa Calida - unfortunately I have just read similar reviews, in that the food was basic, the same every day, and dished up for the masses without little thought for the 'customer'. The staff were not very helpful, and never went out of their way to help or be considerate (it was just a job for them !). The swimming pools were super, but I can only cringe at the cleanliness of them (don't put your goggles on and go under water - you'll think you've just shared the pool with the local sheep dip farm !!!).

The entertainment was the worst we've seen, we went out most nights to some nice local areas (Nerja/Frigliani/Almuneca) - to be honest this hotel was being run on a shoe string budget, it was obvious, with the 'punter' getting a raw deal.

If you're used to Pontins holidays then you'll be fine. If you expect more then avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Vennep
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Hotelrooms are spacious and ok. we had room with seaview which was nice. The food in the restaurant was terrible, no taste, cold, not well prepared and old (blue boiled eggs, old croissants etc.). Staff was not really friendly and looked like they where just paid to do their work without the additional smile, or a friendly hello. Pools where nice but not cleaned very well and bird poop on edges of outdoor restaurant stayed there for days (or maybe weeks as we left). We (as other guest we spoke to) would not recommend this hotel as you can get for sure better value for money at other locations.
Beach was closeby but there was a lot of plastic and other garbage in the water.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Spent a week at the hotel all inclusive. At first, I was worried that the hotel is up on a cliff instead of right on the beach, but after seeing the views from the swimming pool on edge of the cliff - WOW !!!
Food was ok - typical buffet stuff. Drinks were good. The entertainment was a bit cheesy - but typical.
The winding river pool, slides, etc were great.
Make sure you get a rental car in advance, there is not much near the hotel, but all the major cities and sites are an easy drive away.
Would definitely go back again!

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playacalida Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacalida Spa Hotel

Address: Urb. Torregalera, S/N, 18690 Almunecar, Spain (Formerly lti Playacalida Spa)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
#1 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#1 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacalida Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granada's Costa Tropical is characterised by having a warm climate all year round, abundant natural resources, kind, friendly locals and excellent connections with the rest of Andalusia and the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playacalida Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Playacalida Hotel Almunecar
Playacalida Hotel Almunecar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacalida Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.