We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Tropical Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bahia Tropical Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahia Tropical Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Del Tesorillo, Playa Del Pozuelo, Almunecar, 18690 Almunecar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Almunecar
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with our 18 month old son for one night on the way from Malaga to almeria. It is quite difficult to find the hotel as tomtom seemed to think you could just drive down tiny paths! I would certain,y recommend a printed map.

From the outside the hotel looks like somewhere my parents might have stayed in the seventies but it was cool and calm and classically decorated on the inside. The internal area with the pool which you cannot see from the outside is really lovely with a separate children's pool ( which we didn't use as it was too early in the season).

The rooms are big with a sofa and plenty of additional space for a cot. We had a balcony overlooking the park which was fun for my son but we would have preferred a pool view.

We had half board which was very good value for money but fairly average buffet style food. You would probably get bored of this if you were eating in for a week. You cannot order wine by the glass at dinner but they will save a bottle for you until the next evening if you can't mange a whole one in one sitting. Breakfast was buffet again with a pretty good spread. Service in the restaurant was prompt and our son was fussed over and made to feel welcome.

There are restaurants and bars and two nice beaches within a very short walk of the hotel. There were also many more restaurants and chiringuitos about 10-15 minutes walk. While we were there we didn't hear any other English voices which was fine by us. There were mainly Spanish tourists with occasional Germans. I'd be happy to return here -great if you want a quiet, sunny break away from the costa del sol masses.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view-ground floor if you have kids as you can open gate from terrace directly onto pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    89
    49
    14
    8
See reviews for
110
54
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for a week this march as part of a package deal by a small independent tour operator "preferrred travel".
The rooms are very big and comfortably furnished with a sette as well as the beds, the balcony looked out over the hills.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, it was clean tidy and roomy.
Only slight grumble was the in the dining room when things run out they were a bit slow in refilling supplies.
Thoroughly reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week in February through Preferred Travel. As mentioned in the title, the rooms are lovely and large with two single beds plus a sofa bed. Meals are half board, buffet style and there is plenty choice. Wine is sold by the bottle to accompany your meal and if you don't drink it all, it is kept with your room number on for the next night. There is a spa in the hotel which we were given one free use of the hydro pool, sauna and steam room - the receptionist doesn't speak much English and really just leaves you to your own devices here. This was fine for me as I have used these facilities many times and knew what I was doing but for other guests who had no experience of this, it wasn't really good that they weren't instructed on the proper use of the facilities. During the week, the hotel was fairly quiet but it was completely different over the weekend when approx 500 Spanish guests checked in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool rather than a sea view as the 'sea view' rooms are at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

An excellent base for a stay in the winter months , good buffet and quiet location on the sea front a moderate walk from the town centre. Beware although quiet during the week the weekends become very lively with the arrival of 400 plus Spanish visitors. We were on a walking holiday with Preferred Travel and enjoyed the walks led by John Keo an excellent guide.

Room Tip: in the winter month pool facing rooms get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a holiday organised by Preferred Travel. As a single traveller I was delighted with my spacious and comfortable double room with a balcony facing the leafy and quiet park. The hotel is situated on a corner away from all the high-rise developments nearby and it's easy to walk to pretty and quiet coves and beaches with very few tourists(in February - might be different later in the year)! It's also possible to walk the 3.5 kilometres to the little town of Almunecar - very Spanish in character and not very touristy. There is quite a good bus service and it's easy to reach Nerja and the beautiful village of Frigiliana if you want to avoid the steep costs of the organised excursions.

On the downside, the food wasn't very good, with green soup every day, a limited choice of puddings and overcooked fish and vegetables - not bad, but after the first couple of meals it got a bit monotonous.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park get morning sun, and are away from the pool which even in February was noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a few times and have always enjoyed our time there.
The hotel is lovely, rooms very spacious easily adequate for families. Pool area is well kept and lobby is lovely too. The hot is in a quiet area if you're looking for a hotel close to loads of bars and resteraunts don't come here , there is a park next door to hotel that has a small bar and a couple of resteraunts within a few minutes walk. Just a few minutes walk away you will find playa del Tesoro a lovely cove like beach with 2 beach bars , a really pretty beach and great for kids.
The hotel has tended to have a lot of Spanish guests when we have stayed this I find a bonus as it means the food us more Spanish style and not Brit style. Cannot fault the food in anyway great variety all very fresh and tasty, even the pickiest eater would find something they liked.
We will certainly return again in the future

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Although the hotel was closing for the winter at the end of our week there was no sign of any slacking in service. Pool was cleaned and maintained, rooms were spotless. Waiters worked their socks off. All staff very helpful. Food was good always a wide choice and good quality. Good showers and bath. Rooms all have bed settees in them as well as large twin beds. ( two small doubles)

Husband and I disagreed on the beds which were very hard - he liked them I didn't ! Would have liked to have been able to make tea and coffee in the rooms. There was an extra charge for using the safe which seemed a bit unnecessary.
Spanish families can make it noisy at the weekend , although carpeted corridors help.

Room Tip: Dont think it makes any difference. There are no rooms over dining room or bar. It appeared all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bahia Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tropical Hotel

Address: Paseo Del Tesorillo, Playa Del Pozuelo, Almunecar, 18690 Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Almunecar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almunecar
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Tropical Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Bahia Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bahia Tropical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Tropical Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.