We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casablanca to your Saves list
Hotel Casablanca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza San Cristobal, 4, 18690 Almunecar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Almunecar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The entrance is impressive, the food excellent and very reasonable, the location right on the square, across the road from the beach was perfect, and parking was easy and free, in September. We didn't pay the extra for the balcony and sea view, so not a room to spend much time in, but that's fine for us.
The decoration of the rooms was a bit naff - the rooms seem to have been redecorated, but oh dear! if the curtains were better quality and a different colour, if the bedspread matched...the furniture was completely out of keeping with the Arabic theme! Bathroom a bit small and cramped, but for 2 nights it was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    70
    17
    0
    5
See reviews for
30
86
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed at the casablanca in sept 2013.we had a family seaview balcony room which we had to pay a bit extra for on arrival.should of haggled but couldn't be botrhered. the room was spacious and very clean with some nice free standing furniture.the bathroom was modern, beautifully tiled and spacious.the hotel has a arabic theme in decor and is in a great spot very near the beach. a the staff are young and friendly. i would definately stay again.
a couple of negative points. there were some marks on the walls in the room that would take 20 mins to sort out and the very grand wardrobe had an awful selection wire/shop coat hangers. get some new hangers! ;-) but these are very minor points . had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this through booking.com at short notice as we had a couple of days spare between city breaks and it made the trip ! What a lovely hotel, smallish rooms but a perfect base for exploring the area. Helpful staff, very clean and amazing decor. There is an evening market in the square outside the hotel and the hotel bar is a good place to sit and watch the world go by. We didn't have breakfast as there are so many places to eat along the beach that are very good. All in all, a lovely place to be and we will go back

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Definitely recommend this hotel. We opted for balcony sea view, well worth the supplement. This is a quality establishment in an authentically Spanish town. The rooms are well appointed and all staff very helpful and courteous. Everywhere is attractive, kept clean and the rooms well serviced. The air con works well. It's a great location, across the road from the beach and the entertaining plaza below is full of local interest. It's ideally placed along the sea front with easy access to the old town too. The restaurant offers a delicious menu. We cannot praise this hotel highly enough, and look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: Treat yourself, ask for a sea view and pay the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a week at Hotel Casablanca. Air conditioning was appreciated in the current weather. Good sized room, huge bathroom, comfy bed. Service was for the most part good ... I speak no Spanish so at times was difficult to communicate with the restaurant staff as Almunecar is a very Spanish town and the majority of the holidaymakers there appeared to be Spanish but fair is fair - I was in Spain! Had evening markets in the square outside the hotel every night while I was there which added a nice atmosphere to the area. 1 minute walk to the beach and local beach restaurants and bars. Would definitely recommend Hotel Casablanca!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. We asked for a room at the front with a balcony and paid the extra but it is worth it for the sea views. The hotel is very central and across the road from the beach. We only ate here once but next time we will eat here more often as the food was great. What really made it for us was the helpfulness of the staff, they couldn't do enough for us, especially when my wife was not feeling too well. Overall I can't fault it for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a balcony but also have a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break. Never been to Almunecar and was pleasantly surprised ! The Hotel Casablanca is like a little oasis. Its Moorish design both inside and out make a refreshing change from the normal characterless blocks at most resorts and the joy of seeing no Union Jack shorts and hen parties.!! We were allocated a room at the side of the hotel lovely furnishings,twin beds aircon fitted wardrobe dresser and bedside tables and table for the suitcase. There was a nice bathroom,a little basket of toiletries, also a hairdryer. A huge shower toilet that flushed well and a bidetl. Just one issue . There was no extractor fan in the bathroom plus the tiled floor was prone to getting wet and slippery when the shower cubicle was in use and there was no grab rail either to enter or leave the shower . I would also point out that the sliding window is quite low to the floor in the bedroom and a child could easily fall out as there is no safety guard. The bed was lovely and comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room for clothes etc . The tv was a flat screen and worked well there was also a radio. The rooms were spotlessly clean along with nice white towels but I take issue that they are cleaned so late ..past 3.30pm one day and the hotel wasnt full. The lift was welcome ,we were on the fourth floor. The hotel has quite a large dining area , a small tv lounge area near reception and a lovely terrace outside where you can take breakfast or other meals. The menu is basic, prices are reasonable, just dont expect vegetables. However everything is cooked well. The staff are charming and helpful. I recommend the lamb chops with the salad! Plus if you like almejas baby clams they are wonderful too. We ate a couple of times here during our stay.
OK now the gripe. When I go away on holiday I dont want to be confronted with a group of alcholics that take up residence opposite the hotel in the plaza. They make a mess,they are dossing down on the seats ,they have a dog, they are drinking out of bottles they shout and try to get money off people passing. They even had a baby seagull on a towel and were feeding it scraps and hoping the public would donate so they could go and feed their habit. I asked the hotel about the drunks behaviour and they are despairing because nobody,police and local council seems to do anything about it. It isnt nice to sit and have a meal to be serenaded and leered at by these people. I fear the hotel is suffering because of these people. Such a shame as its one of the nicest hotels Ive stayed in.

Room Tip: The west side of the hotel is a little quieter but there is no balcony , the front of the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Plaza San Cristobal, 4, 18690 Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casablanca 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 39 bedrooms offering guests a comfortable and friendly stay with all the necesary to guarantee your satisfaction.Is located in front of two important beaches of Almunecar,in the main promenade. Almunecar is considered one of the most attractive tourist points and further on the Andalusian coast. Not in vain its coastline is known as the Costa Tropical , a name consistent with its long beaches, its weather and its exuberant tropical and subtropical vegetation.It has a variety of services such as a restaurant where you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine with fish and grilled meats as well as special dishes of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.