We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casablanca to your Saves list
Hotel Casablanca
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza San Cristobal, 4, 18690 Almunecar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Almunecar
kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. We asked for a room at the front with a balcony and paid the extra but it is worth it for the sea views. The hotel is very central and across the road from the beach. We only ate here once but next time we will eat here more often as the food was great. What really made it for us was the helpfulness of the staff, they couldn't do enough for us, especially when my wife was not feeling too well. Overall I can't fault it for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a balcony but also have a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    64
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
83
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break. Never been to Almunecar and was pleasantly surprised ! The Hotel Casablanca is like a little oasis. Its Moorish design both inside and out make a refreshing change from the normal characterless blocks at most resorts and the joy of seeing no Union Jack shorts and hen parties.!! We were allocated a room at the side of the hotel lovely furnishings,twin beds aircon fitted wardrobe dresser and bedside tables and table for the suitcase. There was a nice bathroom,a little basket of toiletries, also a hairdryer. A huge shower toilet that flushed well and a bidetl. Just one issue . There was no extractor fan in the bathroom plus the tiled floor was prone to getting wet and slippery when the shower cubicle was in use and there was no grab rail either to enter or leave the shower . I would also point out that the sliding window is quite low to the floor in the bedroom and a child could easily fall out as there is no safety guard. The bed was lovely and comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room for clothes etc . The tv was a flat screen and worked well there was also a radio. The rooms were spotlessly clean along with nice white towels but I take issue that they are cleaned so late ..past 3.30pm one day and the hotel wasnt full. The lift was welcome ,we were on the fourth floor. The hotel has quite a large dining area , a small tv lounge area near reception and a lovely terrace outside where you can take breakfast or other meals. The menu is basic, prices are reasonable, just dont expect vegetables. However everything is cooked well. The staff are charming and helpful. I recommend the lamb chops with the salad! Plus if you like almejas baby clams they are wonderful too. We ate a couple of times here during our stay.
OK now the gripe. When I go away on holiday I dont want to be confronted with a group of alcholics that take up residence opposite the hotel in the plaza. They make a mess,they are dossing down on the seats ,they have a dog, they are drinking out of bottles they shout and try to get money off people passing. They even had a baby seagull on a towel and were feeding it scraps and hoping the public would donate so they could go and feed their habit. I asked the hotel about the drunks behaviour and they are despairing because nobody,police and local council seems to do anything about it. It isnt nice to sit and have a meal to be serenaded and leered at by these people. I fear the hotel is suffering because of these people. Such a shame as its one of the nicest hotels Ive stayed in.

Room Tip: The west side of the hotel is a little quieter but there is no balcony , the front of the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fresh from a week at The Casablanca, the beds were comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, Aemiliano and his team friendly, helpful and with good English. The beach is just across the road; rooms with balconies tend to attract a premium but it's well worthwhile. We had a problem develop with a noisy fuse which was sorted out reasonably promptly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Casablanca

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Wonderful balcony view overlooking the waterfront. Close to a mini market and tourist info. One of the best meals (grilled pork chops) I had in Spain. Walking distance to the town center. Reasonable rates. Fresh oj in the morning!

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved this hotel, our room was so beautiful, and it was in great location right on the seafront. We also only paid 45E per night, which was fantastic. We were so impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them. 5-10 minute walk in each direction were fantastic bars and restaurants. Almunecar is truly a gem, it's a beautiful place, largely unspoilt as it hasn't been found by too many tourists!! The tapas bars in one of the main squares are really authentic, you're surrounded by Spanish people. I would recommend this hotel and town to everyone, I wish I could go again tomorrow! I will be back one day!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just spent three nights on the coast in the lovely town of Almuñecar and this budget hotel was a bargain at 45 euros a night. We had a sea view from our bedroom and very comfy bed. My friend had a room at the front with a balcony and 4 poster bed she was very happy with. Service was great, coffee and fresh orange juice on the hotel porch in the morning. Location could not be better with the beach and all the beach restaurants right in front, a hop skip and a jump. Walking along the beautiful sea front and up into the old town was a delightful 15 minute stroll. One regret is that I did not go the parrot park right by the hotel, you could hear them whistling and cawing and even glimpse the parrots flying around the trees. Will have to do that next time, as for sure we shall return.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with a balcony are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have visited Almunecar many times and have eaten at Casablanca several times, this is the first time I have been lucky enough to stay there. I loved it. What more can I say . There was a lift, we met local people who were all very friendly. The bathroom was fantastic. The only thing missing again in Spain was a kettle for tea. Cheap flights command hand luggage only and kettles have no room . Spain por favor we don't all like coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Address: Plaza San Cristobal, 4, 18690 Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casablanca 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 39 bedrooms offering guests a comfortable and friendly stay with all the necesary to guarantee your satisfaction.Is located in front of two important beaches of Almunecar,in the main promenade. Almunecar is considered one of the most attractive tourist points and further on the Andalusian coast. Not in vain its coastline is known as the Costa Tropical , a name consistent with its long beaches, its weather and its exuberant tropical and subtropical vegetation.It has a variety of services such as a restaurant where you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine with fish and grilled meats as well as special dishes of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.