We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & clean, simple, well-priced accomodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Laureles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almunecar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Laureles
Save
You added Los Laureles to your Saves list
Ribera Baja, 14, 18690 Almunecar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Almunecar B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & clean, simple, well-priced accomodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on a trip to pick up a dog from Julie's Rescue in Almuñecar. The hotel was very well-priced and the food was excellent.

A few further thoughts/comments:
(i) The food is as good as everyone says it is. We had high expectations and were not disappointed. Everything that we ordered was exceptionally well-cooked and well-seasoned. In general, I prefer more seasoning and sauces than are typically used in Spanish food (or at least Spanish vegetarian food). The food here was really well-seasoned, but in a way that I think manages to appeal to all different palates (those that like more seasoning and those that prefer more simple) - something supported by the diversity of clientele there that night (German, British, Spanish, and American). I had scoped out the menu in advance since I sometimes have difficulty eating in the smaller Spanish towns as a vegetarian, but discovered that the menu that is on-site is a more narrow menu based on what is in season. However, the chef offered to make a variety of off-menu items for me including more complicated items such as a risotto. Furthermore, if I had simply told them in advance, they said they would have ensured that there was a veggie-friendly option on the menu. I love when restaurants are willing to do this - as I know it is a pain for them but it can make or break a meal for me. In the end, I really was craving a salad and ended up with a fabulously large and well-appointed salad - with arugula, walnuts, goat cheese, apples, tomatoes, etc... It was delicious. My husband had a fish dish and was singing its praise as well.

(ii) The rooms are simple, rustic and with a little touch of design - wooden beams, a strip of small sky lights, & brick walling in various points. They are sparsely decorated but had a good bureau and cabinet for clothes. They didn't seem to have many amenities (e.g., the only product in the room was a small pump for hand soap), but this may have been because we came off season. And, regardless, for the price they are fantastic - clean, big, with a comfortable bed, well-pressured shower, and a small fridge. Since we were there in the winter, we didn't check out the pool, but the pool area and general area is clean, tidy, and has a nice view (and a friendly cat). I don't know the general pricing in the area, but to me this seemed like a wonderful bargain.

(iii) We had a little difficulty finding the hotel, as our GPS had old maps and the map online didn't offer much clarification. If you're stuck, ask for calle Mar Azul - and the hotel is at the top of this street on the right. Alternatively, just call. They are able to navigate you through some of the trickier back streets in the area.

All told, we would definitely return!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in July, the rooms are spacious and have a great powerful shower and fridge which is handy in this heat. The rooms didn't have AC, which was a shame as it was rather hot, but it wouldn't stop us going back.

The pool was amazing and basically we had it all to ourselves as the 2 other rooms residents just popped down for a quick dip once or twice.

Breakfast was nice and relaxed and the evening meal in the restaurant was amazing, by far the best we have eaten in spain and tops the charts for all the 'special meals' we have enjoyed around the world.

Superb mini-break! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Los Laureles is both one of the est restaurants in Almunecar and a small b&b with three spacious rooms, terrace and a pool tucked away in a private courtyard only 5-10 min walk from the beach. Because you are basically staying at a great restaurant known for modern international cuisine, the included breakfast prepared by British owner chef Mark is spectacular. We had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have had lunch at Los Laureles and have stayed twice, enjoying a sampler menu for dinner on both occasions and a tremendous breakfast each time. The cooking is amazing - basic good ingredients prepared in innovative ways, and we endorse everything said with regard to the quality of service in a relaxed atmosphere. Hope this stays around for a long time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had 2 lovely meals in Los Laurales in March just before easter week.
The menu del dia was excellent at 12 euros for 3 courses all of which were faultless.
We returned again for 3 course sunday lunch at 14 euros which again was great.
Nice spot just a little out of the way but will definitely return on our next trip.
Definitely recommended.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned from an xmas and new year break in Los Laureles. We had a wonderful time. The food was absolutely brillant, Mark is a gifted chef, every meal was wonderful, the Christmas day and New Years Eve menus were stunning. It was really the best food we had in Andulusia and the best value.

Mark and Sandra are both lovely, friendly and informative and made us really welcome. The view from the apartment was beautiful, mountain views, tropical plants the lovely terrace with a pool, the studio rooms are clean and comfortable. There is plenty of free parking, a bonus in the area. Its a great location to use as a base to tour the region. We went to Granada (an hour away) to see the Alhambra on Xmas eve (magical). We also went up into the mountain villages and explored along the coast as far as Malaga.

We would highly recommend Los Laureles and would love to come back again. The weather was really good, it was sunny and warm every day (only getting cold in the evening and early morning so a great place to go for winter sun).

A big thank you to Mark and Sandra for a lovely relaxing holiday. We couldn't have wished for a better way to spend Xmas and New year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here for a week with my girlfriend and it was absolutely brilliant. It's a small, charming B&B with three rooms, a restaurant downstairs and a pool terrace which overlooks almunecar and the mountains. It has plenty of parking if you have a hire car, although it's only a 10 minute walk into the town.

The owners are lovely and speak fluent English, and the breakfasts were very nice indeed. I highly recommend it and hope I will return some day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same by the looks of it. All have great views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Laureles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Laureles

Address: Ribera Baja, 14, 18690 Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set in very spacious surroundings, with ample car parking facilities, attractive tropical gardens, terraces with out door furniture, private swimming pool, great views of the town and mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Laureles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.