We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Nicolas Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Almunecar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Nicolas Suites
Save
You added San Nicolas Suites to your Saves list
Calle Torre Vigia 2, 18697 Almunecar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We booked the San Nicolas Suites as a last minute getaway - and what a find!

We stayed in The Boudoir- and although other travellers claim The Sultan is a little nicer - our room was wonderful - with a lovely private terrace. The little touches that the owners have added to the room, made it extra special. There is absolutely everything you could possibly need - including a fully stocked fridge, hamper and mini bar!!!

The hosts we can't speak more highly of. After a delayed flight and loss of baggage (!) - Ruth sorted everything out for us - for which we were/are so very grateful. Nothing was too much trouble. Her recommendations for beaches, places to visit, restaurants etc are definitely worth listening to.

La Herradura itself is located about a 10 minute stroll from the Suites - but note that San Nicolas is situated on a steepish hill - so be prepared for the walk to and from the beach! It's so hard after a day on a sun lounger!!!!!

There is a lovely local market, and the beach chiringuitos are fabulous for a nice drink at the end of the day!

I would highly recommend the San Nicolas Suites and La Herradura if you want some time out, good typically spanish food and drink, and the ability to visit some amazing places nearby (eg Granada and The Alhambra Palace).

A week definitely wasn't long enough for us!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

What a hostess Ruth is, we wanted for nothing! We rented both FABULOUS rooms and everyone, young and older were delighted! Returning for our honeymoon in September!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Sultan Suite: Transport yourself to when the Moors occupied Southern Spain bringing with them their wonderful architecture & colourful design and this is your accommodation. On arrival you're met (by Ruth) with a hamper of delicious goodies, a fairly full fridge including wine, champagne & fresh produce. The setting is romantic, stunning and just enough away from the hubbub of La Heradura village. There's a lovely pool to cool down in and you can relax on your very own terrace under the trees. The market in the village has everything you'll need regarding fresh produce and there are quite a few small supermarkets for the rest of your requirements. What a truly magical place to stay. Ruth knows the surrounding area well and can advise you on various remote villages worth visiting. La Herradura is conveniently situated should you wish to visit Granada and the Alhambra Palace or take a drive up into Las Alpujarras or further into the Sierra Nevada. Whatever you choose to do, it's easily accessible from La Herradura and your accommodation. We just had the best time there!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We had the most wonderful week in the Sultan villa at the San Nicholas Suites. It is perfectly located - near enough to the village of La Herradura but far enough away from the crowds to relax and have some peace and quiet. The suite itself was very comfortable and we loved the personal touches - open bar, welcoming food hamper, sound system, books, games, beach equipment, candles, incense. The best part was the balcomy which two huge comfortable chairs in which we could relax and read and look out onto a forest of trees and listen to the birds. Ruth was the best hostess ever and we never wanted for anything. We got fresh towels almost daily - for the bathroom and for the pool and beach and Ruth turned up one day with a couple more botle of wine and cava to replenish the bar. The pool area is also lovely with sun loungers to relax on and lovely views of the coast from the deck. IThe whole place was like home from home but with a few special touches and we reluctantly left feeling so well rested and relaxed. La Herradura is only an hour from Malaga and an hour to Granada (so perfectly located) and there are a lot of good beaches nearby and interesting towns and villages to visit. The market in La Herradura is wonderful for fresh fish and fruit and veg and breads and pastries too. I cannot recommend San Nicholas highly enough - the perfect place for a romantic getaway and/or to recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

This place is so special, beautiful and lovely for a romantic break. There are so many small, personal touches that you do not usually get in a rented apartment. The only down side to this is that you are living on top of the owners, and do have to walk through their main entrance to get to your "private" entrance... also, the pool is right by their apartment, so you feel like you have to keep the noise down and you don't have much privacy. Howevere, the owners are lovely and gave us some great tips, so the lack of privacy didn't bother us too much. A 10 minute walk down hill to the main town, you do have to walk along a dark main road, but the town is lovely and we ate in a few amazing places. Overall this was a lovely, relaxing and romantic holiday that I would reccomend to anyone.

  • Liked — Personal touches
  • Disliked — No change of towel all week!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

This was such a great find! My girlfriend and I came across this apartment on a search for a holiday with very specific requirements and this ticked all the boxes: easy to get to (fairly cheap flights, and easily organised transfers), near the sea, not in an overcrowded resort, within walking distance to the sea and restaurants/shops, private and beautiful.

From the moment we made an enquiry to our last day there, Ruth (owner) was extremely helpful, offering to organise our transfer to/from the airport - a lovely friend of hers does the pickups, giving us tips, telling us how and where etc. There are two rooms/suites on offer, we stayed in The Sultan suite, and Ruth showed us around the other one while no-one was staying, and it was equally stunning and cosy. The Sultan was Moroccan themed, with beautiful hammered metal mirrors and chunky wooden furniture, incense, mosaics, and provided a very comfortable and relaxing week. A welcome pack was ready for us on the first day, with food and drink (and a bar!), toiletries and information. This lasted a couple of days, at which point we simply walked to the shop for our groceries.

The outdoor seating area was fantastic, and we enjoyed many an afternoon lazing in the sunshine. The pool was also excellent, we had it to ourselves for part of the week as the other suite was vacant, but it would be plenty big enough to share with other guests.

All in all, the most relaxing week of my life..

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Had to leave!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Nicolas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Suites

Address: Calle Torre Vigia 2, 18697 Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Almunecar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both suites are located in the tranquil setting of San Nicolas with spectacular views down to the bay, the village and beach are just a short 8 minute walk away. Each suite has its own private entrance and terrace, with exclusive use of the pool. The suites are equipped with climate control air conditioning and heating, and free wireless internet access is available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Nicolas Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.