We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon to your Saves list
Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Barriada San Torcuato, 18500 Guadix, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

A fantastic place to stay to experience the cave dwellings! Reception staff were friendly, and the restaurant itself serves delicious local food. Try the leg of lamb!
We only stayed for a night, and it was perfect - the caves are close to a motorway, but when you are inside this is not a problem, so don't let it put you off a place I'd recommend to others and stay at again myself!

  • Liked — experiencing living in a cave!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

My wife and I were already planning on going to Spain for our honeymoon and she was searching the internet one night and discovered this cave hotel. The cave itself (we rented the one with a jacuzzi in it) was really great and unique. It was atop a hill and had a great view of the Sierra Nevada. When we made arrangements originally we opted for the breakfast to be included for five euros each per day, but quickly opted back out after two days of toast, jam and coffee (not worth ten euros for two). The front desk staff were great as well and made arrangements for us to visit local attractions and taxis etc. We stayed for quite a while and as the days went on the cave become very "homey". It comes with a kitchen so we soon started grocery shopping and having dinner at home. The restaurant there is good for dinner; however there is an even better one near the entrance to the neighbourhood that the cave hotel is in. The one drawback was that we didn't have a rental car, so we walked the five km or so into town every day. We would usually take a reasonable taxi ride home after an afternoon of cafe hopping or day trips out of town. The cave was clean, comfortable and really fun to stay in. We made friends with the British ladies from the cave next door. We went in May so it wasn't really busy and for most of our almost two week stay, we rarely had neighbours on both sides. The tv in the cave had one English channel that played "Movies for Men" which consisted of a war movie followed by a western movie and so on and so on. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to everyone looking for a unique place to stay in southern Spain.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

We had no booking for this establishment but saw a sign as we were driving into Gaudix and investigated. It was great. We had a 2 bedroom unit high above the highway (no noise). It was spacious and spotless and very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and had really great meals at a reasonable price. We were only ever going to be using Gaudix as a place to break our journey on our way to Granada so only gave the town a cursory look. We'll always remember Gaudix for the unique accommodation.

  • Liked — Spacious accommodation
  • Disliked — A little remote from the city centre
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

This is a great experience and something completely different, it is not the easiest place to find but on arrival the reception staff are very good and make you welcome, this hotel is based on former homes of cave dwellers so all the caves are different, the interiors are comfortable and unique , the temperature is constant all the year round, if you are looking for a five star hotel this is not for you, rooms fairly clean and beds good, once you have done all the Dino; Wilma jokes head for the restaurant, we had dinner there and found the staff very helpful, the four of us had eight gin tonics (very large) a bottle wine, starter and steak dinner each ,coffee, very good quality and bill was 95 euros, very good. We visited the town but not a lot there but did find the cave museum interesting, this is on the other side of town but the reception gave us a map and indicated where we should go. There is a swimming pool on site which seemed popular but we did not use it. All in all if you are looking for something different for an overnight stop this is it. Some of the caves had there own barbacues outside which could have been useful , there did not seem too many other bars or restaurants in the area, not the sort of place where you would want to walk around at night.

  • Liked — Restaurant, staying in cave is very unusual.
  • Disliked — Area not too good.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

Our first stay in a cave hotel was a memorable experience - and for all the right reasons. We were quoted a very good rate and chose to take half-board. The food was good but predictably not as good as that which the a la carte diners chose.

First impressions were good (once we finally found the hotel - it's not well signposted) and reception was efficient and friendly. We were absolutely delighted with our cave, as were our travelling companions in the cave next door. We hardly saw them until dinner since they were so busy taking photographs of the cave interior. We slept like logs in a perfect temperature and in blissful silence. The caves were fascinating and had we been staying more than one night we would have tried cooking on the wood-burning stove (wood can be bought for €8 per bag) which had an opening top section for baking.
The caves are in a perfect centre for touring. We were en route from Cazorla National Park to Granada and did not have time to explore the city, but couldn't miss the troglodyte area where there is a cave heritage area. All in all a fascinating and wonderful experience.

  • Liked — The caves, the views of Sierra Nevada, the location on outskirts of town.
  • Disliked — Slightly whiffy plumbing which I suppose is to be expected.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

They have caves apartments for 2, 3, 5 and more people,but the special one was the suite one with yacuzzi

Guadix is a nice place to stay if you want to know the countryside we did a few days excursions around the mountains and the severla natural parks around, and of course do not miss the LaCalahorra castle, specially when the almond trees are on flower...

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2004

We stayed there in September 2004 for 5 nights. We had the suite with jacuzzi, the latter one was really nice. The Cuevas are a great place if you would like to cook yourself, as they are fully equipped and you can even have BBQ outside. If you get one of the caves on top of the hill, you also have a nice view. Despite the highway being close, it is really quiet, both inside and outside the caves. We tried the restaurant only for breakfast. The choice was not great (as usual in Spain, where breakfast is not an important meal), but the little they offered was really good (good bread and try the serrano ham and cheese ... delicious!). Disadvantage about going to Guadix: there is not a lot to see there, so only go there if you are either looking for silence or don´t mind driving 30 - 60 minutes to get to a bigger city. Also keep in mind that this is not a hotel - i.e. they only change your towels and sheets every 3 days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon

Address: Barriada San Torcuato, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Guadix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuevas Pedro Antonio De Alarcon Hotel Guadix

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuevas Pedro Antonio de Alarcon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.