We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is certainly a friendly place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abentofail Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abentofail Hotel to your Saves list
Abentofail Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Abentofail, 18500 Guadix, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Guadix
Algarve
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is certainly a friendly place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on trip advisory and so decided to stay as it was so well recommended .
It was certainly VERY difficult to find so after a few very narrow streets we called the hotel and one of the party walked to find it.
The service was very good and it is a great place.sadly the restaurant of the hotel. was not open so we were advised to go to one at the bottom of the steps.do not go there it was very expensive and very poor no prices on the menu should have told us but there was nothing else nearby open
The breakfast was good and certainly the coffee was great.
The superior room 2of us had contained a fridge which would be great in the summer.
A very good hotel but very difficult to find.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stylish, small hotel in the centre of an interesting, historic town. Room was well equipped, very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful receptionist spoke good English. Good quality breakfast with excellent coffee. Good value.
Parking could be tricky - research on Google maps before you go (it was well worth it). No English channels on TV.

Room Tip: Lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Abentofail is a beautiful quaint hotel in a hidden back street just off a beautiful historic square in Guadix, we were directed to a parking spot at the side of the hotel by a kind member of staff. We left the car there until we left as we were only there a night and everything was in walking distance. (this is the only downside, limited parking)
The room was beautiful, very simple but chic and modern, the huge bed very comfortable, the shower room was amazing! A huge walk in shower, also very modern.
The tv in the room was 32inch not the usual small screen and we had a little balcony overlooking the quaint rooftops.
The hotel also has a roof terrace which was very nice and what looked like a hot tub although it was covered up.
We would stay there again without hesitation if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Parking very limited, but not impossible nearby, however access from the square is via steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a night spent at the Hotel Abentofail . We stopped here on are way from Valencia to Marbella and how delighted we were that we did. I would also like to thank the contributor who advised how to find the hotel because it so much easier to find. We booked the 2 suites at the top of the hotel which share a terrace with 2 large settees and a hot tub and it was absolutely fabulous.We shared this with another couple of friends and this was wonderful for sitting in the evening sun. The rooms are beautifully appointed with huge mosaic baths and showers. We had 2 older children with us and they were booked in a standard double room and this was also very well appointed with a modern shower room .
Downstairs is a restaurant which I believe is really good but it was closed on the sunday evening
We had breakfast the following morning which was fine and the staff were very pleasant.
What surprised us was that Guadix is an undiscovered jewel. We walked from the hotel in to the square where there were a selection of spanish bars and then to the cathedral where there is a gorgeous bar called the cathedral bar . There are plenty of restaurants around and a horse and carriage available for a tour around. The following day we took the local tourist train up to to the cave museum which is fascinating, You get to visit the locals in their cave homes and the museum is brand new and very impressive. Altogether it was a great stopover and I would definitely recommend you try it.

Room Tip: For value for money a standard room is absolutely great. For a treat book a suite but it could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in Abentofail hotel in Sep 2011.
This is a beautiful, butique hotel in a small town, about an hour drive from Granada.
We actually found it by chance, and it was a great find.
The rooms were very nice and modern, and we were served with nice breakfast in the morning.
In fact, the place was so nice that we planned to stay only for 1 night, but eventually stayed for 2.
very much recommended !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Thanks so much for the previous contributors for their instructions on how to find the hotel - they are spot on! Even with Sat-Nav & a map I'd have never found the place. Once (if!?..) you get here, the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are clean and well looked after - memory foam bed was good too. Would get 5 stars but the breakfast selection is poor and the location so bad it's funny! Right bang in the centre of Guadix, would make an ideal base for exploring the town or a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed one night in January as we were in south Spain and wanted to visit the cavehouse area - which was interesting. As other reviewers have highlighted it is very difficult to find and the streets are very narrow but once found were impressed with the quality. Hotel itself was of a good quality recently redeveloped in a town which we felt was rather rundown. Room was nice with double bed and ample space for an extra single. Shower room was very modern and nicely fitted. Breakfast was nice. Disappointed with the evening meal which we thought was rather overpriced for what we received. Waiter insisted on removing the wine bottle from the table between pours which we found irritating and on the last pour did not empty it but left a small amount which he took away and threw out as there was only 'a little left'. Rating is for the hotel rather than for the restaurant

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abentofail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abentofail Hotel

Address: C/ Abentofail, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Guadix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abentofail Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abentofail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abentofail Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.