We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel GIT Abentofail

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel GIT Abentofail to your Saves list
Hotel GIT Abentofail
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Abentofail 8, 18500 Guadix, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Guadix
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stylish, small hotel in the centre of an interesting, historic town. Room was well equipped, very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful receptionist spoke good English. Good quality breakfast with excellent coffee. Good value.
Parking could be tricky - research on Google maps before you go (it was well worth it). No English channels on TV.

Room Tip: Lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikethetyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Abentofail is a beautiful quaint hotel in a hidden back street just off a beautiful historic square in Guadix, we were directed to a parking spot at the side of the hotel by a kind member of staff. We left the car there until we left as we were only there a night and everything was in walking distance. (this is the only downside, limited parking)
The room was beautiful, very simple but chic and modern, the huge bed very comfortable, the shower room was amazing! A huge walk in shower, also very modern.
The tv in the room was 32inch not the usual small screen and we had a little balcony overlooking the quaint rooftops.
The hotel also has a roof terrace which was very nice and what looked like a hot tub although it was covered up.
We would stay there again without hesitation if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Parking very limited, but not impossible nearby, however access from the square is via steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a night spent at the Hotel Abentofail . We stopped here on are way from Valencia to Marbella and how delighted we were that we did. I would also like to thank the contributor who advised how to find the hotel because it so much easier to find. We booked the 2 suites at the top of the hotel which share a terrace with 2 large settees and a hot tub and it was absolutely fabulous.We shared this with another couple of friends and this was wonderful for sitting in the evening sun. The rooms are beautifully appointed with huge mosaic baths and showers. We had 2 older children with us and they were booked in a standard double room and this was also very well appointed with a modern shower room .
Downstairs is a restaurant which I believe is really good but it was closed on the sunday evening
We had breakfast the following morning which was fine and the staff were very pleasant.
What surprised us was that Guadix is an undiscovered jewel. We walked from the hotel in to the square where there were a selection of spanish bars and then to the cathedral where there is a gorgeous bar called the cathedral bar . There are plenty of restaurants around and a horse and carriage available for a tour around. The following day we took the local tourist train up to to the cave museum which is fascinating, You get to visit the locals in their cave homes and the museum is brand new and very impressive. Altogether it was a great stopover and I would definitely recommend you try it.

Room Tip: For value for money a standard room is absolutely great. For a treat book a suite but it could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in Abentofail hotel in Sep 2011.
This is a beautiful, butique hotel in a small town, about an hour drive from Granada.
We actually found it by chance, and it was a great find.
The rooms were very nice and modern, and we were served with nice breakfast in the morning.
In fact, the place was so nice that we planned to stay only for 1 night, but eventually stayed for 2.
very much recommended !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Thanks so much for the previous contributors for their instructions on how to find the hotel - they are spot on! Even with Sat-Nav & a map I'd have never found the place. Once (if!?..) you get here, the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are clean and well looked after - memory foam bed was good too. Would get 5 stars but the breakfast selection is poor and the location so bad it's funny! Right bang in the centre of Guadix, would make an ideal base for exploring the town or a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed one night in January as we were in south Spain and wanted to visit the cavehouse area - which was interesting. As other reviewers have highlighted it is very difficult to find and the streets are very narrow but once found were impressed with the quality. Hotel itself was of a good quality recently redeveloped in a town which we felt was rather rundown. Room was nice with double bed and ample space for an extra single. Shower room was very modern and nicely fitted. Breakfast was nice. Disappointed with the evening meal which we thought was rather overpriced for what we received. Waiter insisted on removing the wine bottle from the table between pours which we found irritating and on the last pour did not empty it but left a small amount which he took away and threw out as there was only 'a little left'. Rating is for the hotel rather than for the restaurant

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnet
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We enjoyed a most enjoyable stay at this hotel in November en route from Valencia to Malaga. The hotel is quite difficult to find - best to park near to the central square and take the steps up from there. It is very close to the lovely cathedral opposite which you can take the little "land train" to the area of the cave dwellers. Don't miss seeing this and you may also enter one of the homes to see what they are like inside. The views from the mirador are also very good of the surrounding mountain landscape.

The hotel itself is quite small but had a very nice courtyard effect sitting area next to the restaurant, which is also very nicely laid out. We didn't have an evening meal there but the breakfast was of good quality although slightly limited in choice. Our room on the 2nd floor (lift available) was a good size with a four poster bed and a good shower room. There was a flat screen TV with an English news channel. The view from our room was over the city and out towards the mountains. The night we stayed though we were woken by fireworks and church bells at 7.30am as there was a fiesta!!

The staff were helpful and pleasant and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Altogether a very good find for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - it may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnetBeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guadix
1.8 mi away
Hotel Abades Guadix
Hotel Abades Guadix
#7 of 10 in Guadix
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Onate
Hotel Palacio de Onate
#5 of 10 in Guadix
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cuevas Abuelo Jose
Cuevas Abuelo Jose
#3 of 10 in Guadix
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mari Carmen
Hotel Mari Carmen
#6 of 10 in Guadix
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cuevas Almagruz
Cuevas Almagruz
#2 of 10 in Guadix
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mulhacen
Hotel Mulhacen
#10 of 10 in Guadix
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GIT Abentofail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GIT Abentofail

Address: Calle Abentofail 8, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Guadix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GIT Abentofail 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abentofail is named after Ibn Tufail, the great Andalusian philosopher, doctor, mathematician, poet and author of the first novel ever, "The Self-Taught Philosopher”. It is located in the heart of Guadix, one of the earliest human settlements in the Iberian Peninsula, few meters from its cathedral. The historical and natural surroundings of the hotel are unparalleled – we are less than an hour from The Alhambra and Granada and very close to the Nature Park Cabo de Gata – Nijar and the Almeria beaches. The hotel has 30 renovated, comfortable rooms distributed on 2 floors and decorated in different styles, giving our facilities a unique and defined personality. In each room, recycled woods from Indonesia, the best wrought-iron work and noble materials have been used. Of course, the typical central patio crowned with its characteristic fountain could not be missing in our hotel; the perfect place to relax accompanied by quiet music and a perfect atmosphere. The strategic location of the region of Guadix makes it an ideal place for excursions to many spectacular nearby areas. The city of Granada is only 60 km away and in less than an hour the monumental city of The Alhambra can be reached either by public or private means of transport, frequent train and bus service is available at all times. At 30 km distance from Granada is the well-known skiing resort of Sierra Nevada, among those most important in Spain. The beaches of Almeria and the Nature Park Sierra de Gata - Nijar are only 120 km away with easy motorway access (public and private transport) as well as by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel GIT Abentofail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing