We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abentofail Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abentofail Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Abentofail Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Abentofail, 18500 Guadix, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Guadix
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stylish, small hotel in the centre of an interesting, historic town. Room was well equipped, very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful receptionist spoke good English. Good quality breakfast with excellent coffee. Good value.
Parking could be tricky - research on Google maps before you go (it was well worth it). No English channels on TV.

Room Tip: Lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Abentofail is a beautiful quaint hotel in a hidden back street just off a beautiful historic square in Guadix, we were directed to a parking spot at the side of the hotel by a kind member of staff. We left the car there until we left as we were only there a night and everything was in walking distance. (this is the only downside, limited parking)
The room was beautiful, very simple but chic and modern, the huge bed very comfortable, the shower room was amazing! A huge walk in shower, also very modern.
The tv in the room was 32inch not the usual small screen and we had a little balcony overlooking the quaint rooftops.
The hotel also has a roof terrace which was very nice and what looked like a hot tub although it was covered up.
We would stay there again without hesitation if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Parking very limited, but not impossible nearby, however access from the square is via steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a night spent at the Hotel Abentofail . We stopped here on are way from Valencia to Marbella and how delighted we were that we did. I would also like to thank the contributor who advised how to find the hotel because it so much easier to find. We booked the 2 suites at the top of the hotel which share a terrace with 2 large settees and a hot tub and it was absolutely fabulous.We shared this with another couple of friends and this was wonderful for sitting in the evening sun. The rooms are beautifully appointed with huge mosaic baths and showers. We had 2 older children with us and they were booked in a standard double room and this was also very well appointed with a modern shower room .
Downstairs is a restaurant which I believe is really good but it was closed on the sunday evening
We had breakfast the following morning which was fine and the staff were very pleasant.
What surprised us was that Guadix is an undiscovered jewel. We walked from the hotel in to the square where there were a selection of spanish bars and then to the cathedral where there is a gorgeous bar called the cathedral bar . There are plenty of restaurants around and a horse and carriage available for a tour around. The following day we took the local tourist train up to to the cave museum which is fascinating, You get to visit the locals in their cave homes and the museum is brand new and very impressive. Altogether it was a great stopover and I would definitely recommend you try it.

Room Tip: For value for money a standard room is absolutely great. For a treat book a suite but it could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in Abentofail hotel in Sep 2011.
This is a beautiful, butique hotel in a small town, about an hour drive from Granada.
We actually found it by chance, and it was a great find.
The rooms were very nice and modern, and we were served with nice breakfast in the morning.
In fact, the place was so nice that we planned to stay only for 1 night, but eventually stayed for 2.
very much recommended !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Thanks so much for the previous contributors for their instructions on how to find the hotel - they are spot on! Even with Sat-Nav & a map I'd have never found the place. Once (if!?..) you get here, the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are clean and well looked after - memory foam bed was good too. Would get 5 stars but the breakfast selection is poor and the location so bad it's funny! Right bang in the centre of Guadix, would make an ideal base for exploring the town or a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed one night in January as we were in south Spain and wanted to visit the cavehouse area - which was interesting. As other reviewers have highlighted it is very difficult to find and the streets are very narrow but once found were impressed with the quality. Hotel itself was of a good quality recently redeveloped in a town which we felt was rather rundown. Room was nice with double bed and ample space for an extra single. Shower room was very modern and nicely fitted. Breakfast was nice. Disappointed with the evening meal which we thought was rather overpriced for what we received. Waiter insisted on removing the wine bottle from the table between pours which we found irritating and on the last pour did not empty it but left a small amount which he took away and threw out as there was only 'a little left'. Rating is for the hotel rather than for the restaurant

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnet
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We enjoyed a most enjoyable stay at this hotel in November en route from Valencia to Malaga. The hotel is quite difficult to find - best to park near to the central square and take the steps up from there. It is very close to the lovely cathedral opposite which you can take the little "land train" to the area of the cave dwellers. Don't miss seeing this and you may also enter one of the homes to see what they are like inside. The views from the mirador are also very good of the surrounding mountain landscape.

The hotel itself is quite small but had a very nice courtyard effect sitting area next to the restaurant, which is also very nicely laid out. We didn't have an evening meal there but the breakfast was of good quality although slightly limited in choice. Our room on the 2nd floor (lift available) was a good size with a four poster bed and a good shower room. There was a flat screen TV with an English news channel. The view from our room was over the city and out towards the mountains. The night we stayed though we were woken by fireworks and church bells at 7.30am as there was a fiesta!!

The staff were helpful and pleasant and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Altogether a very good find for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - it may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abentofail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abentofail Hotel

Address: C/ Abentofail, 18500 Guadix, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guadix
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Guadix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abentofail Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Abentofail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abentofail Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.