We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fragua II

La Fragua II
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Fragua II to your Saves list
La Fragua II
C/ Posadas, s/n, 18417 Trevelez, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trevelez
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

What a wonderfully situated hotel. Quietly located on the edge of the village but just a few minutes from several bars, shops and restaurants. The views from the balconies at the front of the hotel are breathtaking. The Hotel owners also have a restaurant very close to the hotel which is not to be missed, great food and excellent service.
We have stayed here several times and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floor for the very best views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

With another couple, we booked for two nights in early September (55euros/room/night) . The booking was made direct via Internet and email. There were no snags on arrival. The rooms were spacious and clean and the en-suite was spotless. Both rooms had terraces overlooking the village and mountains. There appeared to be seven rooms on tthe upper floor, all with terraces and a small communal swimming pool at the side. Reception was always manned, at least every time we needed it. They were prepared to assist with any enquiries re excursions etc.

La Fragua II is some 150 metres from the Fragua restuarant and original hotel. We ate in the restuarant both nights. The food was good and service excellent. No smoking, but we just moved downstairs to the bar to enjoy a smoke with our coffee. The menu was typical of the area and a three course with wine averaged out at about 20 euros/person. The restuarant can get busy so worth reserving a table in earlier in the day.

We left our food and drinks bill running for the weekend but checked its accuracy midway through our stay. On the button, with no little mistakes.

Previous reviewers have commented on access by car. There is parking at the Fragua II, but the lane between the restuarant and the hotel is very narrow. However, our friends took their Land Rover up to the hotel as we did with our Fiesta. A competent driver can pass through with care but it is definitely recommended that you walk the track first and have a companion (or someone from the lower hotel) to position themselves at the far end of the track to ensure that no-one tries to leave the higher car park at the same time. Reversing is best avoided!

Should we wish to return we would have no hesitation in re-booking at the La Fragus II. The facilities and calm service certainly added to the enjoyment of our brief stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

There's something about Andalucia's Alpuharran region that makes foreigners just want to settle in. Having read Gerald Brennan's and Chris Stewart's experiences I wanted a piece of the action, and the highest hotel in the highest village in Spain seemed like a good starting point. The resulting stay at La Fragua II was indeed a highlight. Maybe it was the mountain and valley view from our terrace, or the sound of the river lulling us to sleep. It might have been the wonderful fresh food prepared and served by a family who know how to provide low key Spanish hospitality. Perhaps it was the pool with the one of the best views I have ever had to swim in, or the excellent value for money that had me totting up just how long I could afford to stay if I did a Brennan and left the world behind me for a while. Whatever the reason, Trevelez (and La Fragua) was everything I had hoped for and more. On a practical note, concerns about access to the hotel are ridiculous unless you have a disability. People go to the Alpujarras to walk. Starting with a 300m walk from the carpark should not be a problem. If it is, you can ask the owner for a lift up or, if you're really brave, you can actually drive all the way with someone looking out for oncoming traffic. We did this on arrival but didn't bother on subsequent days because it really was very tricky. Do go to La Fragua if you are visiting this region. The only downside is that you really won't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Here is what you should know before booking at La Fragua II:
- the hotel is located in the Barrio Medio, which means almost in the upper part of the village, and the car park is really not easily accessible (the streets are very narrow). In other words, what looks like a lovely village becomes a nightmare when you have to carry your bags from the most accessible car park to the hotel, and at night when you have to walk back up to the hotel. In comparison, the "Pepe Alvarez" hotel is located on main street, with parking space just out the door.
- the hotel is very noisy: customers slam their door instead of using the key. You hear every noise from the other rooms (shower, toilet flush, voices).
- Double rooms only have 2 simple beds.
- The breakfast is not a buffet: if you ask for another cup of coffee, it with be charged.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Spent 3 nights at La Fragua 11 as part of a hiking holiday in the Alpujarras. Loved the position of the hotel, the size of the rooms - enormous - and the view of Mt Penabon from the balcony. Best nights sleep I had all week as it is so peaceful and the air so clean. Even the mountain storm on the last day could not detract from it's appeal - in fact watching it from the safety of the room was an adventure in itself!

  • Liked — The location and quality of the rooms
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fragua II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fragua II

Address: C/ Posadas, s/n, 18417 Trevelez, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Trevelez
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trevelez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Fragua II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fragua Ii Trevelez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fragua II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.